XBMC Community Forum
[RELEASE] XBMC Flicks - Netflix Movies / TV Shows (Video) experimental Addon for XBMC - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Video Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=154)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] XBMC Flicks - Netflix Movies / TV Shows (Video) experimental Addon for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=87552)



- fekker - 2011-08-02 19:10

How to use XBMC Flix with the nightly builds (tested with 20110802 build - XBMCSetup-20110802-a8d22f6-master.exe)

Find your addons folder
Hold the Windows key and press R (this will bring up the run prompt)
type in the following and then hit enter
%appdata%\XBMC\addons

Download Simple Json and extract it to your addons folder
http://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/xbmc/addons/eden-pre/script.module.simplejson/script.module.simplejson-2.0.10.zip

Download the latest version of XBMC Flix from github and extract it to your addons folder
https://github.com/spudsdude/XBMC-Flicks/zipball/master


- sparafucile17 - 2011-08-02 21:39

Chimera2345 Wrote:I use EventGhost to detect when an IE window starts, and then configured it to send the appropriate keypresses to the Netflix gui when the remote buttons are pressed. Then I have the exit button on my remote bound to Alt-F4 to kill the IE session and return to XBMC.

Here are the Netflix keyboard shortcuts for anyone that needs them : http://markwarren.wordpress.com/2010/03/24/netflix-movie-player-keyboard-shortcuts/

Thanks Chimera.

I saw references to EventGhost in other posts and I am very interested in this program. Is it easy to get up and running or will it take some learning? Would you mind if I sent a PM with questions? I don't want to clutter this thread anymore with my issues.

- Jeff


- Fantasysage - 2011-08-03 22:14

I am not getting any joy with this plugin. Says the script fails every time I try. Can anyone point me in the right direction. It is a fresh Build.


How can I do this? - Wiilike2mod - 2011-08-04 05:38

I'm wanting to customize the xbmcflicks and remove all of the movie selections except for the instant que. What changes do I need to make to the python scripts for this work?


- jklol - 2011-08-04 14:02

Fantasysage Wrote:I am not getting any joy with this plugin. Says the script fails every time I try. Can anyone point me in the right direction. It is a fresh Build.

Same here, it never asks to link to my Netflix account. I just get a script failure every time I try to go to my queue.

EDIT: Just saw this post, gonna give it a try:

I'm having trouble with the plugin. I get a script error if I try to access any lists (Instant Queue, etc). I've checked the advancedsettings.xml and playercorefactory.xml files and they seem to be set up correctly. I'm running Win7 Ultimate x64 with the latest stable release of XBMC.

Here's my log: http://pastebin.com/MkxuMYYE


Now I just feel dumb. I managed to get it to work by setting IE to my default browser and it finally brought up the page to authorize my computer instead of giving me a script error. Once I authorized it, I was able to set Firefox back to my default browser. Kind of an odd way to have to do it, but it works. Thanks for the awesome plugin. I can't believe I've been using XBMC for like 8 years.


EDIT: Well, that didn't work. I'm running a fresh install of Win7 32-bit, if anyone has any ideas.


- Chimera2345 - 2011-08-04 16:20

sparafucile17 Wrote:Thanks Chimera.

I saw references to EventGhost in other posts and I am very interested in this program. Is it easy to get up and running or will it take some learning? Would you mind if I sent a PM with questions? I don't want to clutter this thread anymore with my issues.

- Jeff

Eventghost is very easy, mostly drag and drop. I'll give whatever help I can Smile


- fekker - 2011-08-05 18:33

jklol Wrote:Same here, it never asks to link to my Netflix account. I just get a script failure every time I try to go to my queue.

EDIT: Just saw this post, gonna give it a try:

I'm having trouble with the plugin. I get a script error if I try to access any lists (Instant Queue, etc). I've checked the advancedsettings.xml and playercorefactory.xml files and they seem to be set up correctly. I'm running Win7 Ultimate x64 with the latest stable release of XBMC.

Here's my log: http://pastebin.com/MkxuMYYE


Now I just feel dumb. I managed to get it to work by setting IE to my default browser and it finally brought up the page to authorize my computer instead of giving me a script error. Once I authorized it, I was able to set Firefox back to my default browser. Kind of an odd way to have to do it, but it works. Thanks for the awesome plugin. I can't believe I've been using XBMC for like 8 years.


EDIT: Well, that didn't work. I'm running a fresh install of Win7 32-bit, if anyone has any ideas.
23:55:30 T:2744 M:2711728128 NOTICE: Token result was: Timestamp Is Invalid
23:55:30 T:2744 M:2711728128 NOTICE: If the timestamp shows invalid, your computers date/time is off, sync it to an NTP server or fix it by setting the correct values

in short, your computers time is wrong and needs to be sync'd up or set manually to the correct date/time (and timezone)


- elmerohueso - 2011-08-08 17:35

Sorry if this has been answered, but I keep getting a parse error using the forum search.
Is it possible to make XBMC Flicks start movies in Full Screen automatically? I'm using a remote and don't want to have to find the keyboard to hist "F" whenever I start a movie.


- sparafucile17 - 2011-08-09 00:16

elmerohueso Wrote:Sorry if this has been answered, but I keep getting a parse error using the forum search.
Is it possible to make XBMC Flicks start movies in Full Screen automatically? I'm using a remote and don't want to have to find the keyboard to hist "F" whenever I start a movie.

I agree, this would be a very nice feature. Maybe even a configurable option? But I think the answer is going to be that you cannot do this because IE is essentially doing most of the work. So you really need to find a way to "tell" IE to always type the "F" after Netflix has booted up (could be 5 - 10 seconds)

This might be possible through a separate script, but I dunno.


- Chimera2345 - 2011-08-10 21:15

For the full screen problem I just bound a remote button (I think I used Guide or something on my Harmony) to the letter "F" and I just hit that once the Netflix streaming has started. I tried doing it automatically timing how long after the IE window opened and having Eventghost send "F" but it was hit and miss, so manually going full screen was fine.


- elmerohueso - 2011-08-11 16:02

I tried that but it didn't work. Problem is when the IE window comes up for Netflix it doesn't have focus, so keypresses are directed elsewhere.
Is there a way to get this to launch the same player MCE uses for Netflix? That player is a lot better.


- Chimera2345 - 2011-08-11 19:57

I remember having that issue, I think I had to grab focus with Eventghost when it detected an IE window opening. I'm not at home but will check later exactly what I did.


- Wizard_One - 2011-08-12 02:39

I'm on an OS X machine, the URL for Netflix association never opened in Safari.
I changed my system default browser from Safari to Firefox, it worked perfectly.
I'm guessing that Safari is mangling a passed URL.


- risner - 2011-08-18 19:57

Wizard_One Wrote:I'm on an OS X machine, the URL for Netflix association never opened in Safari.
I changed my system default browser from Safari to Firefox, it worked perfectly.
I'm guessing that Safari is mangling a passed URL.

Can you help me get mine working?

I'm on a Mac Mini and XBMC Flicks hasn't worked since December last year.
I've asked on this thread several times, and got no help since the devs don't use Macs.

I hear it working in the background and If I kill off the XBMC UI I can see a window playing the video (not in full screen mode.)

Can you send me your iqueue.py file?
Or any other settings I need?


- elmerohueso - 2011-08-18 20:55

In case anyone's in the same boat, I gave up on XBMC Flicks because having it open in IE wasn't cutting it for me. Instead, I set up an easy way to get from XBMC directly to the Netflix app in WMC. I wrote up how in this thread. It'll only work in Windows, but something similar might be possible on a Mac.