Kodi Community Forum
[AppleTV2] Disable Auto Updates - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Off-Topic (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=113)
+--- Thread: [AppleTV2] Disable Auto Updates (/showthread.php?tid=93604)

[AppleTV2] Disable Auto Updates - bnazza - 2011-02-08

Total newbie here.

Bought the ATV2 (4.2.1) yesterday

Backed up the SHSH blobs with Tiny Umbrella
Jailbroke using seas0npass
Installed XBMC

Everything works. Hurrah and Huzzah Nod

Now. How do I prevent the ATV2 from auto updating next week when Apple releases 4.3?

I realise thats an Apple question as opposed to an XBMC question but I thought maybe there is a setting in XBMC somewhere that would allow me to do it, or perhaps an add on to install?

Thanks for any help....

- amet - 2011-02-08

bnazza Wrote:Total newbie here.

Bought the ATV2 (4.2.1) yesterday

Backed up the SHSH blobs with Tiny Umbrella
Jailbroke using seas0npass
Installed XBMC

Everything works. Hurrah and Huzzah Nod

Now. How do I prevent the ATV2 from auto updating next week when Apple releases 4.3?

I realise thats an Apple question as opposed to an XBMC question but I thought maybe there is a setting in XBMC somewhere that would allow me to do it, or perhaps an add on to install?

Thanks for any help....

Code:
apt-get install nano
nano /etc/hosts

add below code to the end of the file and reboot
Code:
127.0.0.1 appldnld.apple.com
127.0.0.1 mesu.apple.com
127.0.0.1 appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net
127.0.0.1 itunes.apple.com.edgesuite.net

- bnazza - 2011-02-08

Thanks Amet..

just to make sure I understand correctly..

to run the update I can use Terminal to get to the root of the ATV and run that command.

how then do I add the lines to the hosts file?

and when you say reboot, I'm assuming the tethered reboot with seas0npass?

Thanks again.

- amet - 2011-02-08

bnazza Wrote:Thanks Amet..