Kodi Community Forum
Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Skinning (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+---- Forum: Skin helper addons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=300)
+---- Thread: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips (/showthread.php?tid=94438)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - TheRed - 2013-03-01

(2013-02-27, 20:28)Hitcher Wrote: Have you put it in the other_textures folder?

I've put the file in other_textures (a 1920x1080 png, 1.3mb atm but will reduce filesize eventually) and I've added this to includes.xml:

PHP Code:
<!-- Home BACKGROUND -->
    <include 
name="Home_Background">
        <
control type="image" id="1">
          <
description>background image</description>
          <include>
Dimensions_Fullscreen</include>
          <
imagepath>other_textures</imagepath
          <
fadetime>2000</fadetime>
          <
aspectratio>stretch</aspectratio>
          <
texture>mybackground.png</texture>
        </
control>
    </include> 

then I've commented out the GlobalBackground include in Home.xml and stuck <include>Home_Background</include> underneath.

Still nada.. Undecided


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - mcborzu - 2013-03-01

PHP Code:
control type="image" id="1">
          <
description>background image</description>
          <include>
Dimensions_Fullscreen</include>
          <
imagepath>other_textures</imagepath
          <
fadetime>2000</fadetime>
          <
aspectratio>stretch</aspectratio>
          <
texture>mybackground.png</texture>
        </
control

control type="image" for single image
then use <texture>mybackground.png</texture>

control type="multiimage" for multiple images
then use <imagepath>myimagepath</imagepath>

You had both <texture> and <imagepath> ...

Also see This Link for more options like setting time image is displayed, whether to radomize, etc...


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - Hitcher - 2013-03-01

imagepath is used for multi image controls.

Try -

Code:
<texture>other_textures/mybackground.png</texture>



RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - TheRed - 2013-03-02

I was editing the 720 includes while xbmc was using the 1080 includes Big Grin Shocked

Thanks lads, appreciated.


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - nizar_g - 2013-05-04

okay, so a nooby question here, when I'm viewing the MyVideoNav screen (using View_50_List), I can use my mouse so select to activate the <onclick> fuction. But when I'm viewing Home.xml screen, I can only action the <onclick> by pressing enter. What am I missing?? Thanks in advance for any solution or pointers in the right direction Big Grin


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - improv - 2013-05-22

hi hitcher,

i was looking for a skin, mainly for using addons (online videos and live streams).

most of the skins are really nice, but for my purpose a bit too much.
the skin i had in mind, it's more like an iphone interface with icons and so.

i tried my selfand used confluence as a base and in the Home.xml i added <onload>ActivateWindow(Videos,Addons)</onload> (with thumbnail view) it showed all the addons installed only in the videos section.

my question:
- how can i tweak this window or its contents? show also other plugins from other sections, add a button to go to settings, remove level up option etc.

thanks,
improv


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - Hitcher - 2013-05-22

Basically, no.


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - Mark Norville - 2013-05-24

Can I delete this as wanted to ask a question but I am trying to work it out.


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - relyter - 2013-05-28

I wondering is it possible to use window built in controls in list <content></content>?


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - relyter - 2013-05-30

(2013-05-28, 00:00)relyter Wrote: I wondering is it possible to use window built in controls in list <content></content>?

Does the silence mean "no, you can't" or "your question doesn't have much sense".


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - Hitcher - 2013-05-30

Yes you can.


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - relyter - 2013-05-30

(2013-05-30, 17:56)Hitcher Wrote: Yes you can.

Thank you. However i don't get how. A window has built-in control "id: 4, type: togglebutton". I have a fixed list and i want that control to be one of the <item id="x">
The following obviously doesn't work.

PHP Code:
<item id="1">
    <
control type="togglebutton" id="4"



RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - `Black - 2013-05-30

No, that's not the way it works.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Container_Item_Layout
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Static_List_Content


RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - relyter - 2013-05-30

(2013-05-30, 19:55)`Black Wrote: No, that's not the way it works.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Container_Item_Layout
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Static_List_Content
I'm sorry, but i read both of those many times before asking here. As far as i understand in <content> instead of <control type="togglebutton" id="4"> i need to use appropriate infolabel in <label> and built-in function in <onclick>. And this code work
PHP Code:
<item id="2">
    <
description>View</description>
    <
label>View</label>
    <
label2>$INFO[Container.Viewmode]</label2>
         <
onclick>Container.NextViewMode</onclick>
</
item
But below won't work, it doesn't switch direction and doesn't show label2. So being desperate i wondering if i can use buttons in <content>
PHP Code:
<item id="4">
    <
description>Asc/Desc</description>
    <
label>Sort</label>
    <
label2>$INFO[Container.SortDirection]</label2>
    <
onclick>Container.SortDirection</onclick>
</
item



RE: Skinning for beginners - Foundation skin, skinning tools, and tips - Hitcher - 2013-05-30

Functions

Code:
Container.NextSortMethod

Info Labels

Code:
Container.SortMethod