XBMC Community Forum
[RELEASE] ESPN3.com Addon - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Video Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=154)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] ESPN3.com Addon (/showthread.php?tid=95053)



- paveksam - 2011-09-17 23:58

So... there is no hope for the rest of the world? Confused


- Livin - 2011-09-18 00:09

dsxbmc Wrote:I live in US, verizon FIOS user and it stoped to work to me since some days ago, I just reviewed the plugin settings and put the quality of recorded stream and quality of live stream to highest and started working again as usual.

what code did you change?


- rudawgr - 2011-09-18 00:23

come on people you guys need to be specificity about what and how you made the plugin work!!!! that's what we here for...damn stop being selfish


- Livin - 2011-09-18 00:56

rudawgr Wrote:come on people you guys need to be specificity about what and how you made the plugin work!!!! that's what we here for...damn stop being selfish

that is the way to kill'm with kindness!


- peebs - 2011-09-18 01:43

I've sent out a couple of PMs to help people, but I don't think there's going to be a public fix for a while.


- antonis1989 - 2011-09-18 01:47

peebs Wrote:I've sent out a couple of PMs to help people, but I don't think there's going to be a public fix for a while.

Hey Peebs, can you please help me out too? Thanks!


- peebs - 2011-09-18 01:56

antonis1989 Wrote:Hey Peebs, can you please help me out too? Thanks!

I can only help people out who can already watch it in their browser.

I don't want to litter this thread up with people asking me for help, so people can just PM me if you fit the above qualifications and I'll do what I can to help.


Temp fix for SWID - bigd - 2011-09-18 03:01

OK, I don't know why in the world people are being so coy about the fix here. It was stated earlier that "the man" doesn't have a problem with the plugin, you just need to use your own credentials. So, I've just gotten mine working with a scant 45 minutes to spare before the big local rivalry game that I HAVE to watch Smile

(disclaimer: This is NOT user friendly! Don't try this unless you like to tinker around and know at least a little bit and computers and the internet)

Here's what I did:
Go to watchespn.com and login with your credentials and confirm that you can watch streams online.
Once you've logged in, go to this link:
http://broadband.espn.go.com/espn3/auth/userData

That should bring up an xml file that you can view. Find your affiliate, it should look something like this (I have comcast)
<affiliate>
<name>comcast_sso</name>
Then down below, you need to find your swid, it'll look like something formatted like this:
'SWID= "{xxxxxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx}"


I used my modified default.py that had stopped working recently. (from post 329)

I changed the following 2 lines:
from:
Code:
affiliateid = soup('name')[0].string
        swid = soup('personalization')[0]['swid']
to:
Code:
affiliateid = 'comcast_sso'
        swid = 'xxxxxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx'
(use your own affiliateid and swid instead of comcast_sso and the x's. Don't include the {}. Use the single quotes as shown, not double quotes)

And then this line as well farther down:


Code:
req.add_header('Cookie',
                           'SWID=xxxxxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx')
(once again, use your own SWID)


After doing this, my appletv2 with xbmc was able to load live streams. I haven't tested it much, I just BARELY got it working. I make no guarantees, I'm simply sharing the method how I got it to work.

No one should have any copyright problems with this because you have to use your own valid credentials to make this work.


- cfg9000 - 2011-09-18 03:54

Tried the above fix, didn't work. I'm on Cox, btw. I can't even get to the list of streams, the plugin fails when I initially click on it.


- WildBill - 2011-09-18 04:00

cfg9000 Wrote:Tried the above fix, didn't work. I'm on Cox, btw. I can't even get to the list of streams, the plugin fails when I initially click on it.

worked for me

Did you change both of swid?

EDIT

I had to uninstall and then reinstall cause my default.py was all messed up


- paveksam - 2011-09-18 04:19

I`m outside US, but still.. I found proxy on comcast provider - its pretty slow, but let me play video in browser. Fine, I`m set all up by bigd advice at #428 , but plugin getting error. Probably this means it can work only from apropriate IP adress. Sad.

May be other ppl outside US can try the same to confirm?

bigd, what version of default.py you using?


- WildBill - 2011-09-18 04:39

paveksam Wrote:I`m outside US, but still.. I found proxy on comcast provider - its pretty slow, but let me play video in browser. Fine, I`m set all up by bigd advice at #428 , but plugin getting error. Probably this means it can work only from apropriate IP adress. Sad.

May be other ppl outside US can try the same to confirm?

bigd, what version of default.py you using?
If I send you a default.py will you check to see if it work outside of US


- paveksam - 2011-09-18 04:42

shure thing, thats why I`m here)
filter0@mail.ru


- pup975 - 2011-09-18 04:50

WildBill Wrote:worked for me

Did you change both of swid?

EDIT

I had to uninstall and then reinstall cause my default.py was all messed up

I wasn't able to get this to work after changing both the SWIDs. I'm on AT&T. Did you just uninstall/reinstall the ESPN3 addon or the whole repository?


- WildBill - 2011-09-18 04:53

pup975 Wrote:I wasn't able to get this to work after changing both the SWIDs. I'm on AT&T. Did you just uninstall/reinstall the ESPN3 addon or the whole repository?
Just the addon. if you pm me http://broadband.espn.go.com/espn3/auth/userData I will send you a default.py for you