Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Canada On Demand (Successor to CTV Properties) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Video Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=154)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Canada On Demand (Successor to CTV Properties) (/showthread.php?tid=97262)



- teefer22 - 2011-10-05

jedix Wrote:I just tested my fix against NCIS, and it now works. I think this is good for all global and hgtv programs.

here's my git repo:
https://github.com/howlett/plugin.video.canada.on.demand

Please give it a try and see if it works for you.

Thanks.

Good work! Global is working for me.


- jedix - 2011-10-08

Trying to debug CityTV streams, but they don't even work in my browser right now.. I get the following from RTMP which may be why they fail:

Code:
23:10:50 T:140648701228800    INFO: RTMP_ClientPacket, unknown packet type received: 0x29
23:10:50 T:140648701228800    INFO: RTMP_ClientPacket, unknown packet type received: 0x28

Anyone have any ideas?

Anyways, the failure is when trying to play:
Code:
WARNING: could not find codec parameters for rtmpe://cp80642.edgefcs.net/ondemand/?ovpfv=2.1.4 playpath=mp4:citytv/1632712407/1632712407_1186121814001_citytv-30rock-S05E10anc-20101204.mp4 swfurl=http://admin.brightcove.com/viewer/us20110929.2031/connection/ExternalConnection_2.swf swfvfy=true


It seems that it's either sending a stream that doesn't make sense to the video player because it's some unsupported codec, or it's still encrypted, or it's sending totally bogus data regardless of the url. I tried another url and it outright failed.

Note the extra info in these messages that are discarded
Code:
23:10:49 T:140648835004160   ERROR: DEBUG:root:SWFURL: isSlim=true&wmode=opaque&debuggerID=&optimizedContentLoad=true&bgcolor=%23000000&playerID=911449494001&flashID=myExperience45047864001&height=480&width=640&autoStart=&publisherID=1632712407&%40videoPlayer=794196652001
23:10:49 T:140648835004160  NOTICE: .
23:10:49 T:140648835004160  NOTICE: {'app': u'ondemand/', 'scheme': u'rtmpe', 'querystring': None, 'playpath': u'mp4:citytv/1632712407/1632712407_1186121814001_citytv-30rock-S05E10anc-20101204.mp4', 'netloc': u'cp80642.edgefcs.net'}
23:10:49 T:140648835004160   ERROR: DEBUG:root:STREAM_URL: rtmpe://cp80642.edgefcs.net/ondemand/?ovpfv=2.1.4 playpath=mp4:citytv/1632712407/1632712407_1186121814001_citytv-30rock-S05E10anc-20101204.mp4 swfurl=http://admin.brightcove.com/viewer/us20110929.2031/connection/ExternalConnection_2.swf swfvfy=true
23:10:49 T:140648835004160  NOTICE: .
23:10:49 T:140649180489696   DEBUG: WaitOnScriptResult- plugin returned successfully

I managed to dump ~14% of a stream using rtmpdump but no video player could play the resulting stream. I think it might not be sending the header info of the stream..

Code:
[flv @ 0x22342d0]Could not find codec parameters (Video: h264)
[flv @ 0x22342d0]Could not find codec parameters (Audio: aac, 44100 Hz, 2 channels)                                                                                    
[flv @ 0x22342d0]Estimating duration from bitrate, this may be inaccurate

Is this related? http://forum.xbmc.org/archive/index.php/t-42027.html
Ideas?


- CRAIG6928 - 2011-10-11

thank you for the plug in

showcase with kenny and spenny season are missing shows jpeg photo
but no video
can you direct to the website by pc and you see the shows there to watch.

this might had happened as they added adverts

anychance this could be fix

thank you


- richardgiroux - 2011-10-12

Hey guys,

Since the latest patch, I am able to play GlobalTV shows but they stop after one minute. This is true on both my Windows 7 and XP machines.

Has anyone else solved this issue?


- jedix - 2011-10-12

Okay, so bad news on the CityTV front.. they use the new DRM in Adobe, so there's no way I can fix this until librtmp/rtmpdump adds this feature. Man these media people make it really hard to use their media legally. This is why I can't play the shows in Linux either - flash x86_64 doesn't support the new DRM.


- teefer22 - 2011-10-12

richardgiroux Wrote:Hey guys,

Since the latest patch, I am able to play GlobalTV shows but they stop after one minute. This is true on both my Windows 7 and XP machines.

Has anyone else solved this issue?

Yes, I noticed the same thing. I jumped the gun saying that it was working. Jedix, have you noticed the same thing on globaltv?

I have 2 guesses:
1) the script either isn't passing the exact right parameters for playing back the clip
2) some kind of new drm that librtmp can't play back yet, or I need a newer version of my librtmp.

Jedix, if you don't have any problem playing back globaltv (for more than 1 minute), could you please post where you got your librtmp and what version it is?

EDIT: k, i found the problem. Has nothing to do with the librtmp file. We need to append these 2 parameters to the end of all the global streams:
swfurl=http://www.globaltv.com/widgets/ThePlatformContentBrowser/swf/flvPlayer.swf swfvfy=true

I'll play around with the code and see what I can get figured out..

EDIT2: I haven't done extensive testing, but adding this code (swf_url line) seems to make globaltv.com work (clips play for longer than 1 minute):

class ThePlatformBaseChannel(BaseChannel):
is_abstract = True
base_url = None
PID = None
category_cache_timeout = 60 # value is in seconds. so 5 minutes.
swf_url = 'http://www.globaltv.com/widgets/ThePlatformContentBrowser/swf/flvPlayer.swf swfvfy=true'

My concern is that adding that line might break something else since all the different channels are so intertwined. Jedix, any help/comments? Is there a better place or better way to add this?


- bshh - 2011-10-13

getting a script error when I select Treehouse and YTV. ATV 2 4.3 xbmc oct 10 build.


- jedix - 2011-10-13

teefer22 Wrote:Jedix, if you don't have any problem playing back globaltv (for more than 1 minute), could you please post where you got your librtmp and what version it is?

EDIT: k, i found the problem. Has nothing to do with the librtmp file. We need to append these 2 parameters to the end of all the global streams:
swfurl=http://www.globaltv.com/widgets/ThePlatformContentBrowser/swf/flvPlayer.swf swfvfy=true

I'll play around with the code and see what I can get figured out..

EDIT2: I haven't done extensive testing, but adding this code (swf_url line) seems to make globaltv.com work (clips play for longer than 1 minute):

class ThePlatformBaseChannel(BaseChannel):
is_abstract = True
base_url = None
PID = None
category_cache_timeout = 60 # value is in seconds. so 5 minutes.
swf_url = 'http://www.globaltv.com/widgets/ThePlatformContentBrowser/swf/flvPlayer.swf swfvfy=true'

My concern is that adding that line might break something else since all the different channels are so intertwined. Jedix, any help/comments? Is there a better place or better way to add this?

Yes, I noticed this issue last night. I think we want your fix to go into the canwest.py file.. in the "class GlobalTV". GlobalNews doesn't seem to need the fix. This way we know Global is the only one affected.

Here's the diff:
Code:
diff --git a/channels/canwest.py b/channels/canwest.py
index 0f6feaa..5759855 100644
--- a/channels/canwest.py
+++ b/channels/canwest.py
@@ -71,8 +71,8 @@ class GlobalTV(CanwestBaseChannel):
     short_name = 'global'
     long_name = 'Global TV'
     PID = 'W_qa_mi18Zxv8T8yFwmc8FIOolo_tp_g'
+    swf_url = 'http://www.globaltv.com/widgets/ThePlatformContentBrowser/swf/flvPlayer.swf swfvfy=true'
     #swf_url = 'http://www.globaltv.com/video/swf/flvPlayer.swf'
-
    
     def get_categories_json(self,arg=None):
         url = CanwestBaseChannel.get_categories_json(self,arg) + '&query=CustomText|PlayerTag|z/Global%20Video%20Centre' #urlencode

This fix has been pushed to my github.

Good job on the fix!


- jedix - 2011-10-13

bshh Wrote:getting a script error when I select Treehouse and YTV. ATV 2 4.3 xbmc oct 10 build.

Treehouse and YTV look like they've moved to brightcove, I think this will need a lot of work to fix and I don't know how to do that yet.

What is ATV 2? Is it AUX.TV?


- DLeavy - 2011-10-13

jedix Wrote:Treehouse and YTV look like they've moved to brightcove, I think this will need a lot of work to fix and I don't know how to do that yet.

What is ATV 2? Is it AUX.TV?

Apple TV2 - can be jailbroken and run XBMC.


- bshh - 2011-10-13

i just noticed that it's missing CityTV, Family, G4, Muchmusic, OLN, and OMNI.
or maybe it's just me.

Image


- DLeavy - 2011-10-13

bshh Wrote:i just noticed that it's missing CityTV, Family, G4, Muchmusic, OLN, and OMNI.
or maybe it's just me.

Image

Same list here - perhaps the non-working channels are being pulled, which I would agree with.


- jedix - 2011-10-14

DLeavy Wrote:Same list here - perhaps the non-working channels are being pulled, which I would agree with.

You probably have to grab the latest librtmp and enable "my librtmp is awesome!" in the plugin setting.. then you'll see all the channels. Most of the ones you named are indeed broken thanks to the new DRM in the latest flash.


- micahg - 2011-10-16

Hello all,

I love this little app. I was wondering if you guys have seen the new CBC sports "live" broadcast schedule page:

http://www.cbc.ca/sports/broadcast

It looks easy to parse and has a nice list of what is live in real time.


- Dougedey - 2011-10-17

I'm running on Ubuntu, Using 10.1, and I've updated librtmp from git but I still get handshake failed from the logs when trying to view most streams.

I tried using rtmpdump from the command line and the issue appears to be from there, has anyone had any success with this plugin on Ubuntu?