XBMC Community Forum
[LINUX] HOW-TO use VAAPI HW Acceleration on AMD Zacate (Fusion) platform - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [LINUX] HOW-TO use VAAPI HW Acceleration on AMD Zacate (Fusion) platform (/showthread.php?tid=99154)



- craigdabbs - 2011-08-11 14:58

seems a shame especially with the market share of ATI has. im sure this would please many many people to get this final issue solved Smile.


- Robotica - 2011-08-11 15:12

I have checked the ticket with 24p-bug and there seems to be a solution.


- craigdabbs - 2011-08-11 15:38

good spot, with i knew what they had changed exactly as its a little unclear for me lol


- FernetMenta - 2011-08-13 18:22

Quote:But ATI/AMD driver in Linux is limited to HP@L4.1.

toehser Wrote:Is the limiting factor the chip, the driver, the xvba, the vaapi, or what?

killa-sample plays perfectly smooth on my nvidia system which does also just support level 4.1. VDPAU just ignores this parameter whereas I get an error from xvba.
Maybe xvba plays it so badly just why it is told it can't Smile


- zbox_ad02 - 2011-08-13 20:06

FernetMenta Wrote:killa-sample plays perfectly smooth on my nvidia system which does also just support level 4.1. VDPAU just ignores this parameter whereas I get an error from xvba.
Maybe xvba plays it so badly just why it is told it can't Smile

See how it works on my xvba (Fusion E350), smooth but the pixels are a big mess ... video here

1080p runs ok, but stutters a little, like the other sample in the video above.


- FernetMenta - 2011-08-13 20:54

I have seen that but I would say it looks much better on my Zbox AD02. I have artifacts too but I can at least see that its birds flying there.
(no pixel errors on nvidia)
Hope I can get it work on ati as well.


- zbox_ad02 - 2011-08-13 21:59

FernetMenta Wrote:I have seen that but I would say it looks much better on my Zbox AD02. I have artifacts too but I can at least see that its birds flying there.
(no pixel errors on nvidia)
Hope I can get it work on ati as well.

Aha! do you have tutorial how to set up vaapi on AD02? I posted mine here, that is how I got this video quality.

Would you tell me what am I missing?
P.S. same video playback on XBMC, MPLAYER, VLC.


- FernetMenta - 2011-08-14 09:41

I use both libva and xvba from splitted-desktop. Not sure what you get when just installing packages.
Did you remove Unity or made sure not to start it? I still use Ubuntu 10.10


- Krautmaster - 2011-08-16 14:12

I'll test this fix on my Zacate later on Wink

if it works -> HowTo


- Robotica - 2011-08-16 14:36

Some patches Fernetmenta made are available in openelec. This: https://github.com/OpenELEC/OpenELEC.tv/commit/07869526b0fe8f20be59627868aa3b50fa5ece52

and this one: https://github.com/OpenELEC/OpenELEC.tv/commit/39e737dcb4fdd0081ad8a1bc06c84f4ce46ba013

Those patches make openelec the best option now for easy use of XBMC on Zacate. The last patch also is in XBMC trunk: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/ec1f1578e335b515a8670a7b636dc6869b14bea2

And the general discussion about VAAPI-related development: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/11576

So things are looking great for XBMC and AMD (zacate) thanks to fernetmenta and Sraue.


- mbah.pande - 2011-08-18 10:42

Hi all

AMD was release new catalyst 11.8


- Krautmaster - 2011-08-18 16:53

well, 24p with sync on is almost fixed with this git:

git://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc.git

to checkout use:

Quote:git clone git://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc.git

cd xbmc

git checkout vaapi

and then build it.

Thx to FernetMenta


- FernetMenta - 2011-08-18 20:11

Note that this is not a real fix since it does not correct the actual problem. I am still working on that.


- fritsch - 2011-08-18 22:49

@FernetMenta
I too compiled your tree today. I am quite happy with it. I am having another bug since month, but never could get a correct debug.log, because nothing was written to debug file after some time.

With your tree, this was changing, because of not using external libraries I think.

Where is the correct way to track bugs within your git tree?

Thx again for the great work


- FernetMenta - 2011-08-19 08:09

My vaapi branch is mainline with some preliminary patches addressing some problems with playback on Ati. Concerning the problem you are describing there shouldn't be any difference between mainline and my branch. Can you check again with mainline? What versions do you compare?

BTW: I will be on vacation for the next 2 weeks.