[RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 21 Votes - 4.81 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,263
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Lightbulb  [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC
Post: #1
Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | FAQ/Forums | Tutorial Videos | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

Current Version : 2.5.3 (Gotham, Frodo, Eden & Dharma) from Angelscry's Repository 1.2.2 or Direct Download

Advanced Launcher allows you to start any Linux, Windows and OS X external applications (with command line support or not) directly from the XBMC GUI.
Advanced Launcher also allows you to modify and reorganize all your XBMC favourites stuff as you want.
Finally, Advanced Launcher gives you the possibility to edit, download (from Internet resources) and manage all the meta-data (informations and images) related to these applications and favourites.

[Image: screenshot002.jpg] [Image: screenshot006.jpg]
screenshot 1 : Advanced Launcher's items information display with Cirus Extended v3 skin.
screenshot 2 : Nintendo DS launcher using DeSmuME emulator (Windows) with Metropolis skin.

Addon Features :
  • Run Windows, Metro, Linux, Android and OSX applications with auto-suggested arguments.
  • Start any file from specified directory using selected application.
  • Collect informations of applications and images and using internal module scrapers
  • Folder recursive scan option for new added items (with images and data collect options).
  • 3 collect options : manual, semi-automatic and automatic.
  • Add, remove and edit options of applications directly from XBMC GUI
  • Thumbnails and Fanarts images support.
  • Sort launcher into custom categories.
  • Search applications and items by name, genre, studio, platform and release date.
  • Create launchers from Advanced Launcher search engine results. NEW!
  • Create launchers from XBMC favourites and modify, reorganize or regroup them as you want. NEW!
  • XBMC built in functions support for launchers (for example : directly start media files or RetroPlayer).
  • Multi-disc selection support.
  • Automatic and Manual data Import/export with .nfo files (compatible with RCB addon).
  • JSON control support.
Included scrapers : Additional scrapers :
[Image: screenshot000.jpg] [Image: screenshot001.jpg]
screenshot 3 : Pc games launcher using .lnk files support (Windows) of Advanced Launcher with Cirrus Extended skin.
screenshot 4 : Comics reader launcher using qcomicbook application (Linux) with .cbr files with Aeon Nox skin.

Advanced Launcher Updates :

Version 2.5.3
  • Disable "%rom%" default argument for stand alone launcher.
Version 2.5.2
  • Fix XBMC Gotham compatibility.
Version 2.5.1
  • Fix GameFAQs scrapers.
  • Fix empty query launcher bug.
  • Code cleaning.
Version 2.5.0
  • Add feature to mark categories as finished/unfinished.
  • Modify settings to show/hide finished categories/launcher/items.
  • Improve launchers.xml file parsing.
  • Fix compatibility with launchers.xml files created from 2.0.0 prior versions.
Version 2.4.5
  • Fix default thumbs and fanarts paths for query and favourite launchers.
Bugs report and support :
If you obtain a script error message when using Advanced Launcher, please post here (using pastebin service) the content of the xbmc.log file just after the error occurred. This file contain the information concerning the script error, that will help to quickly identify the problem. If Advanced Launcher is not able to start correctly an application, when reporting your problem, please post here (using pastebin service) the content of the launchers.xml file. This file contain the information concerning your launcher configuration, that will help to quickly identify the problem.

[Image: screenshot012%25282%2529.png] [Image: screenshot002.png]
screenshot 5 : Games genre categories sorting using XBMC built-in functions + Advanced Launcher search engine results, with Xperience1080 skin.
screenshot 6 : Magazine reader using Acrobat Reader application (Windows/Linux) with .pdf files, with Cirrus Extended v3 skin.

Skins supporting Advanced Launcher :

Basically, all the skins are working and are compatible with Advanced Launcher. But not all the skin are supporting all Advanced Launcher features (aka. display of all the metadata managed by Advanced Launcher). You will found here a table with the list of skins supporting (or not) Advanced Launcher : http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Com...n_features.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

(This post was last modified: 2014-07-02 02:15 by Angelscry.)
find quote
olafvs Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Looks nice. I will try it this weekend Nod
find quote
joeranjensen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Norway
Post: #3
Yes, it looks realy nice. Only tested it for about an hour. tested with SNES9x and nestopia. I realy like the scraping function, but is there a way to scrape all games in one operation instead of one at the time? Allso I wish it could launch the emulators more seamles.
Nice job and keep up the good workBig GrinBig Grin
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,263
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #4
joeranjensen Wrote:I realy like the scraping function, but is there a way to scrape all games in one operation instead of one at the time?
Not yet. But it is planned for the next versions. I actually need more feedback concerning the manual scrapping. So, when the manual scrapping will be "stable" I will add the automatic scrapping.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

find quote
Robert de Clair Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
angelscry

i wrote a bat file in main folder of winuae

content
winuae.exe -f "Lotus III The Ultimate Challenge.uae" -statefile="Savestates\Lotus III The Ultimate Challenge.uss"

in config file are putted disc two of game. and save state is after changing disc screen
this is working commandline from this bat so config files are automatically searched at configurations folder. savestate files must be inputet with folder just as i wrote.

so im glad to separate thread with new better launcher.
Thank you.
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,263
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #6
Robert de Clair Wrote:winuae.exe -f "Lotus III The Ultimate Challenge.uae" -statefile="Savestates\Lotus III The Ultimate Challenge.uss"
Ok, so no full path. I will try to see to wrote you a small Autoit script that will launch the game with this command line. I think it will be better than adding some conditional codes into the launcher add-on. Some users may want to use another emulators than WinUAE to launch their games or want to use WinUAE with different arguments or parameters.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,263
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #7
@Robert de Clair: This if an AutoIt script that may works to launch Winuae with the saves states. Name it for example winuae-lancher.au3 then compile it into winuae-lancher.exe using the AutoIt free software.
Code:
if $CmdLine[0] = 1 Then
    $path = StringSplit($CmdLine[1], "\")
    $romname = $path[$path[0]]
    $savename = StringReplace($romname, ".uae", ".uss")
    Run ( 'winuae.exe -f "' & $romname & '" -statefile="Savestates\' & $savename & '"' )
EndIf
Then modify your launchers.xml file and replace winuae.exe by winuae-lancher.exe for the application tag and remove all the content of the arguments tag. The AutoIt script works like this : When you start for example the command line :
Code:
winuae-lancher.exe "c:\program files\winuae\roms\romname.uae"
the script will extract the name and start winuae with the right command line:
Code:
winuae.exe -f "romname.uae" -statefile="Savestates\romname.uss"
I'm not sure that my autoit script will works at 100% but it is the idea.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

(This post was last modified: 2010-11-19 23:18 by Angelscry.)
find quote
Rob Loach Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Toronto, ON
Post: #8
I absolutely love what you did with this, and the direction you're taking it.

Thoughts:
  • Assignable key in the Addon Settings to quit the running application... Would probably need the Subprocess management to check if the key is pressed. Would be extra cool if you could quit and choose a new game using the controller, no need for the keyboard.
  • Automatically fill in the file arguments dialog for a given set of emulators... Maximus Arcade has a few arguments setup for some emulators.
(This post was last modified: 2010-11-20 03:59 by Rob Loach.)
find quote
scalpel Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Hi angelscry.
Could you check this skin why launcher or rom info is not displayed? Its have this option in skin. Maybe you find solution and nate will correct this.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=82065

Regards
find quote
Robert de Clair Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I think idea is perfect, but something is wrong

background:
emulator files are E:\Emulatory\WinUAE\
there are folders like a:
Configurations (with config uae files)
Savestates (with saved states) Wink

a romfolder for Advanced Launcher Application (ALA) Big Grin - is Savestates (E:\Emulatory\WinUAE\Savestates)

compiled autoit script launched by ALA just run winuae and doesnt load uss or uae file so may there is missing or too much " ' or other signs whos meaning i dont understand :>
additionally after launch autoit script ALA take back XBMC to foreground :/ (in background are still staying winaue)
(This post was last modified: 2010-11-20 13:00 by Robert de Clair.)
find quote
Robert de Clair Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
additionally there is something strange in windows 7 i can't run anything with winuae when if using bat or from commandline Smile
same commands as in xp and doesnt work with 7 32 bit.
Im happy cause my primary xbmc machine basing on xp os but a problem occours

EDIT: found a reason, newest winuae solve crash from commandline with windows 7
EDIT2: now im confused from compiled script under windows 7 working. same script with xp loaded winuae and do nothing more.
Thank you angelscry for help.
(This post was last modified: 2010-11-20 15:03 by Robert de Clair.)
find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,263
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #12
Rob Loach Wrote:Assignable key in the Addon Settings to quit the running application... Would probably need the Subprocess management to check if the key is pressed. Would be extra cool if you could quit and choose a new game using the controller, no need for the keyboard.
I'm not really sure that it will be possible. Actually how the XBMC/launcher add-on works is that when you start an application, XBMC go directly into background and it is the application which take the control (and also the keys control). It must be like this because we do not want to control the application and XBMC at the same time with the same keys. When the application is closed (by itself), XBMC take the control back. It may be possible to use a third-party script to check if key are pressed or not... but I'm not sure it will works directly form XBMC or from the launcher add-on. I will think about this.

Rob Loach Wrote:Automatically fill in the file arguments dialog for a given set of emulators... Maximus Arcade has a few arguments setup for some emulators.
There's too many emulator applications, OS systems and also too many users (with their proper manner of using emulators) to add this kind of option into the launcher. The first goal of the launcher is to start applications... most applications possible. The automatically arguments fill appears like a limited function. And it exists on Maximus Arcade only because a limited selection of emulators are include in it.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

find quote
Angelscry Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,263
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 52
Location: MTL, Canada
Post: #13
scalpel Wrote:Could you check this skin why launcher or rom info is not displayed? Its have this option in skin. Maybe you find solution and nate will correct this. http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=82065
The launcher and roms info are not displayed on this skin just because the skin do not support it. The skin supports the infos display only for movies, series and musics, but not for programs.

Advanced Launcher | Manual | WiKi | Forums | Tutorials | Gallery | GitHub | Archives | Donate

find quote
jolid Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Post: #14
I have a strange problem when using this addon.

When prompted to choose the location of the emulator there is only one folder existing (D:/livetv, where i keep my recorded shows). I can´t go back/up in the folderstructure to where my emulators is (D:/games)

Is anyone experiencing this aswell or even better has a solution? I´m at work right now so no debug at this moment.
find quote
Robert de Clair Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Jolid

well i think a problem could be similiar to my problem Smile
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=642...tcount=940

there was a few ideas to solve
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=645...tcount=973

but for me reason and solution was simpliest
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=646...tcount=990
find quote
Post Reply