HDHomeRun TVB-T tuner on XBMC, without add-on

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Jean-Max Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: France
Smile  HDHomeRun TVB-T tuner on XBMC, without add-on
Post: #1
Hello,

Some screen shots with the brilliant HD tuner HDHomeRun network

For a simple consultation of TVB-T SD & HD channels, no need to install XBMC PVR or OPENELEC PVR or a frontal like TvHeadend:

Install the networked tuner from a Windows PC:
It's creates a C:\User \<your user name>\ HDHomeRun XBMC TV\ folder on the PC
Then,
From Windows XBMC, just choose this directory as a source of VIDEOS
On OPENELEC installed on media player (like ZBOX), just copy this directory over the network on /TV Show/ folder and make this folder as a source

Some Screen shots:

Networked TVB-T HD SiliconDust HDHomerun Dual DVB-T (HDHR3-DT)
XBMC pre-11 Windows on Sony VAIO laptop (W7)
Openelec eden fusion 32 on ZBOX AD10

[Image: 1.jpg]

[Image: 3.jpg]

[Image: 5.jpg]

TF1 SD
[Image: TF1%20SD.jpg]

TF1 HD
[Image: TF1%20HD.jpg]


BR from France & Happy new year !


[Image: Bougie.gif]

Jean-Max
- Openelec Eden Ion 2.0 X86-64 on ZBOX HD-ID11
- Openelec Eden Fusion 2.0 X86-64 on ZBOX Nano AD10
- XBMC Windows 14.0 Alpha on 3 PC W7 + 1 PC W8 64
- Skin: Confluence-MOD Vol. 3
- XBMC Android X86 13a on Galaxy Tab 3 10.1
- XBMC data on NAS Thecus N7700Pro (7*2To, Raid 5)
- HDHomerun DVB-T network tuner
find quote
Ebatte Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Can you tell us how you configured the icons for the strm files?

Thanks
find quote
Canadaka Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Ebatte Wrote:Can you tell us how you configured the icons for the strm files?

Thanks

second that question
find quote
boulogne75 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Caesar Augusta
Post: #4
I think that if you put a .tbn/.jpeg with the same name as each .strm it should show up as the icon for this stream.
find quote
bradn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks for this, it's a great alternative for users of OpenELEC who are pulling their hair out trying to get TVHeadEnd to recognize their HDHomerun.

I can verify that .tbn of the same name as the .strm files files do provide icons.

Question - I have this set up as a source in the Video menu, favorited and with a custom menu item (using Transparency!) for Live TV. This gives me a nice clean folder of icons, but requires me to select a tuner (0 or 1 - on the HDHomerun) before playing the stream. Because of that I can't use the next track button to navigate between channels. When I navigate to the folder of .strm files using the File Manager, I do not have to select the tuner, I can simply click on the .strm file and it plays. I can favorite this view, but then I have a second panel on the right and no option for thumbnails.

Is there a way to flatten/stack this so I don't have to choose a tuner from my thumbnail view? The Flatten and Stack options in the view menu do not accomplish this.

Thanks!
find quote
puulima Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
(2012-02-08 18:58)bradn Wrote:  Is there a way to flatten/stack this so I don't have to choose a tuner from my thumbnail view? The Flatten and Stack options in the view menu do not accomplish this.

Second that question - I'd like to set XBMC to default to one tuner or the other - easier/less steps and to make sure the kids use one tuner and I can use the other upstairs.
find quote