XBMC PVR Client and MCE Remote

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Dojrude Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I've been a long term user of XBMC for media along with 7MC for Live TV, but thought I would give the latest Eden release a go coupled with 4therecord TV Server to get access to the advanced record scheduling that 4therecord supports.

While everything appears to work, I'm having a few issues with the remote that make it almost unusable at the moment.

Are the following buttons on an MCE remote currently mappable in XBMC or is this still work in progress due to the beta nature of Eden?

TV Guide Button
Live TV Button
Record TV Button
Recored Button
Green Home Button

I've tried applying the MCE Remote addon, but this hasn't helped, even though there appears to be mappings for some of these buttons in the XML. I guess they are mapped, but just don't send anything useful that XBMC understands. I see a notification on the screen that I've pressed the 'recorded TV' button, but it doesn't then open the recorded TV page. Also the green button doesn't open the home page as I would expect it to like 7MC and Mediaportal do.

Is there an easy way to do this? New map or different remote?
Is anyone currently able to do this or is it a case of waiting for it to be natively supported?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
find quote
CWestin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #2
Use MCE remote and map those buttons the the characters Dushmaniac setup recently.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=844667&postcount=5


Quote:e = activate EPG = XBMC.ActivateWindowAndFocus(MyPVR, 31,0, 10,0)
h = activate TV = XBMC.ActivateWindowAndFocus(MyPVR, 32,0, 11,0)
j = activate Radio = XBMC.ActivateWindowAndFocus(MyPVR, 33,0, 12,0)
k = activate Recordings = XBMC.ActivateWindowAndFocus(MyPVR, 34,0, 13,0)
b = activate Search = XBMC.ActivateWindowAndFocus(MyPVR, 35,0, 14,0)
It won’t fix all your issues, but it sure helps.
find quote
Dojrude Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks, I'll give these a go.
find quote
sprucas Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
i extended my configuration by adding the following settings to the keyboard mapping. it seems to get all the play contol buttons working in the pvr window

<!--record a program now-->
<r mod="ctrl">PlayerControl(Record)</r>
<p mod="ctrl,shift">PlayerControl(Play)</p>
<b mod="ctrl">PlayerControl(Repeat)</b>
<f mod="ctrl">PlayerControl(Next)</f>
<f mod="ctrl,shift">PlayerControl(Forward)</f>
<b mod="ctrl,shift">PlayerControl(Rewind)</b>
<p mod="ctrl">PlayerControl(Play)</p>

any thoughts?

sprucas
find quote
macardi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #5
Thanks a lot sprucas, it works very well! Finaly I can use my remote to pause and rew/fwd live TV! Well done figuring this out.

/Marcus
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,082
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #6
@sprucas - thanks!!! that works - finally easy live tv pause...kids will be happy!
find quote
Jönke Offline
Fan
Posts: 499
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
Ok?! But where to paste this in my config ?
find quote
KRA77 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I made a keyboard.xml file in my userdata\keymap folder and pasted in this info, but unfortunatly did not work for me.
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,082
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #9
Needs to be in the fullscreenvideo section
find quote
KRA77 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I didn't have a keyboard.xml there, can someone provide a default one ?
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,082
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #11
Grab the default one from xbmc git...sorry on phone so can't upload one right now
find quote
XBMCManni Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Hello,

i don't know if this is the right thread for my question:
I am using xbmc 12 frodo alpha 4 (pvr edition from lars) with the cirrus extended v2 skin.
When watching live-tv, i can pause (timeshift) with the mouse by klicking "||" (pause) from the top navigation bar (VideoOSD), but when i press the pause-key on my ir-remote, nothings happens. When watching a movie, the pause-key on the ir-remote is working.

Now the question: How can i do pause in live-tv also with my ir-remote by pressing "Pause" key ? Is this skin-specific or where i can configure it (i cannot find anywhere something about mapping a key to the "pause" function in live-tv).

Thanks, XBMCManni
find quote
sprucas Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Guys,

Just some more info.

I found the MCERemote plugin did most of the configuration i needed, but the remote buttons did not work when watching Live TV in full screen video

MCRRemote plugin has a tool for creating user keyboard.xml and then editing it. Add in my config and the remote buttons should work in full screen video

I also adjusted the "i" button on the remote to show the context menu - this is much more useful than the details menu that is displayed with Ctrl-D

In MCERemote i just changed the mappings and moved Ctrl-D to one of the colour buttons on the remote....but honestly i dont use this cause the context menu has the option to display details anyway

sprucas
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,082
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #14
(2012-07-15 17:12)XBMCManni Wrote:  Hello,

i don't know if this is the right thread for my question:
I am using xbmc 12 frodo alpha 4 (pvr edition from lars) with the cirrus extended v2 skin.
When watching live-tv, i can pause (timeshift) with the mouse by klicking "||" (pause) from the top navigation bar (VideoOSD), but when i press the pause-key on my ir-remote, nothings happens. When watching a movie, the pause-key on the ir-remote is working.

Now the question: How can i do pause in live-tv also with my ir-remote by pressing "Pause" key ? Is this skin-specific or where i can configure it (i cannot find anywhere something about mapping a key to the "pause" function in live-tv).

Thanks, XBMCManni

It's not skin specific I think, and the answer is immediately above your post really - just put those extra mapping in the fullscreenvideo section of your keymap.xml. I will post a sample when i get home tonight...
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,082
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #15
Here's my keyboard.xml with pvr additions - http://code.google.com/p/bossanova808-xb...yboard.xml

It's a modified one from the system here:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=78179

NB I use a harmony 650 with an eHome IR receiver
find quote
Post Reply