Linux - XBMCbuntu install issues

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
BORIStheBLADE Offline
Fan
Posts: 733
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Post: #1
I downloaded the 11.0 image and burned to disc. When I get to the install screen there is so much over scan I cant see the bottom of the screen. So basically I cant get to continue. Any ideas on how to fix this??
[Image: 7IXK6.jpg]

I'm trying to install on a Acer Revo 1600 connected to a 32" LCD via HDMI.

Thanks


(This post was last modified: 2012-03-25 06:13 by BORIStheBLADE.)
find quote
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,463
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: Sweden
Post: #2
Yeah, it is a bit strange...you have to get to the right menu by pressing enter at the start up screen and then select install xbmc with fixed dpi.
(strange in the way that there is another menu without this option and you have to know what dpi is)
find quote
scootied Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I think the 120x120 install option sorts this out
However, I've got through this and installed but every video I fire up reboots the program... still a bit buggy me thinks... revo 3610 ION was working fine on all previous versions inc. openelec etc.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-25 11:27 by scootied.)
find quote
BORIStheBLADE Offline
Fan
Posts: 733
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Post: #4
I get the install or try Ubuntu screen before this. This screen I get after hitting install.

What is this 120x120 install option?


(This post was last modified: 2012-03-25 14:56 by BORIStheBLADE.)
find quote
alex84 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Sweden
Post: #5
Right click top left corner. Select move window. You should be able to drag the window upp and to the left just enought to click ok. I had the same issue on a hd ready tv 720P. Suprised it made it to the final build.

---------------------------------------------------
Intel NUC Haswell D34010WYK | ATV2 | Logitech Harmony One | Onkyo TX-NR808 Receiver | QNAP 809 | APC Back-UPS RS 550
find quote
jazha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I have a similar issue with the installer, the text is so small I cannot read it. It seems the installer doesn't scale well with my setup :/ Works fine with Dharma installer.

Here is a picture, bad quality but you can see my problem I guess.

http://galskap.org/xbmceden.jpg
find quote
Definol Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Same size problem here. I can barely read "try ubuntu" and "install ubuntu" but everything else is too small. Kinda hard to install it when I need to guess every bit of text...
Any idea to fix this?
Nevermind. Just fix it with 120x120 install option. Hit enter when 2 icons are shown at the bottom of the screen during the start up be able to select it.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-25 16:29 by Definol.)
find quote
jazha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2012-03-25 16:20)Definol Wrote:  Same size problem here. I can barely read "try ubuntu" and "install ubuntu" but everything else is too small. Kinda hard to install it when I need to guess every bit of text...
Any idea to fix this?
Nevermind. Just fix it with 120x120 install option. Hit enter when 2 icons are shown at the bottom of the screen during the start up be able to select it.

I'll try the 120x120 quickfix , thanks for the tip!
find quote
vikjon0 Offline
---
Posts: 2,463
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: Sweden
Post: #9
(2012-03-25 14:55)BORIStheBLADE Wrote:  I get the install or try Ubuntu screen before this. This screen I get after hitting install.

What is this 120x120 install option?

Yes, that is I mean with strange, there is two paths to get to the installation....I am not 100% sure but I think if you click anything else than enter at the first screen with a keyboard and a strawman you the wrong one. Try again and you should get a list with more options in.
This one is gona be a trainwreck in the forum for the coming year Confused
find quote
BORIStheBLADE Offline
Fan
Posts: 733
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Post: #10
(2012-03-25 17:50)vikjon0 Wrote:  
(2012-03-25 14:55)BORIStheBLADE Wrote:  I get the install or try Ubuntu screen before this. This screen I get after hitting install.

What is this 120x120 install option?

Yes, that is I mean with strange, there is two paths to get to the installation....I am not 100% sure but I think if you click anything else than enter at the first screen with a keyboard and a strawman you the wrong one. Try again and you should get a list with more options in.
This one is gona be a trainwreck in the forum for the coming year Confused

The 120 install method worked. Thanks guys!

Now I need to figure out how not to have the GRUB screen there every time I boot.


find quote
Anastrophe Offline
Donor
Posts: 256
Joined: Mar 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: Dubai, UAE
Post: #11
shame you cannot install without a mouse - the previous installer worked fine using only a keyboard and TAB to each field.
find quote
bmfrosty Offline
Fan
Posts: 305
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Would quite like a fully text based installer.

Subtitles - Serious Business
find quote
jazha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
(2012-03-25 17:50)vikjon0 Wrote:  
(2012-03-25 14:55)BORIStheBLADE Wrote:  I get the install or try Ubuntu screen before this. This screen I get after hitting install.

What is this 120x120 install option?

Yes, that is I mean with strange, there is two paths to get to the installation....I am not 100% sure but I think if you click anything else than enter at the first screen with a keyboard and a strawman you the wrong one. Try again and you should get a list with more options in.
This one is gona be a trainwreck in the forum for the coming year Confused

As said above, the 120x120 install option works flawlessly =)
find quote
digzz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
How can we sort this small text issue? I can't even install !!! With this small text....
find quote
jazha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
(2012-03-25 21:37)digzz Wrote:  How can we sort this small text issue? I can't even install !!! With this small text....

When booting, press enter when the two icons show up at the bottom of the screen, then choose 120x120pixel installation choice.
find quote
Post Reply