Mac OS X - XBMC Unexpectedly Quitting - Turning Second Monitor on / off

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
plastic9mm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Ever since I installed Eden, XBMC crashes when I turn my external monitor on or off.

I have XBMC set to run on an external display (Vizio 42" LCD HDTV) via thunderbolt port. If XBMC is running in the background and I either turn the display on or off, during the screen refresh when OS X is detecting displays, XBMC unexpectedly quits. Anyone seen this behavior or know a fix?

I can post the crash log if it helps, it's just too large to post here.
find quote
davilla Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,389
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #2
known issue, when you turn off the display, you take it out from under xbmc and bang.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
plastic9mm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
This wasn't the case with 10, worked fine there.
find quote
davilla Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,389
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #4
Let me quess, you have adjust refresh rate turned on.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #5
naahhh come on ...that code is bugfree! *runs*

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #6
Could you try this version and see if the issue is fixed there:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30371861/XBMC-os...shtest.dmg

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
plastic9mm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2012-03-31 05:51)davilla Wrote:  Let me quess, you have adjust refresh rate turned on.

Nope, don't have refresh rate set to match video.
(2012-03-31 16:46)Memphiz Wrote:  Could you try this version and see if the issue is fixed there:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30371861/XBMC-os...shtest.dmg

Tried to download this version, but your links ave been disabled due to excessive traffic :/
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-01 20:21 by plastic9mm.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #8
Yeah sorry for that ... will work in 3 days again :/

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
plastic9mm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Tried the version you posted, if i power down the monitor, it doesn't crash, however the xbmc main window basically disappears. If I choose to hide at that point, then another blank white window will show up on the primary monitor, not the secondary that xbmc is set to display on. It's small too, I'm guessing 640x480 but im not 100% sure. If I choose to hide again, it simply goes away. I have to quit and relaunch xbmc.

Also to note, with this version, if I use xbmc remote on my iphone, xbmc will crash. I open xbmc remote, it connects, then xbmc on my computer crashes.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-03 04:01 by plastic9mm.)
find quote
pleeman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2012-03-31 16:46)Memphiz Wrote:  Could you try this version and see if the issue is fixed there:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30371861/XBMC-os...shtest.dmg

I tried this and it did not fix the error.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #11
The crash with the remote is fixed in mainline already. This testversion is only for the crashing issue you described here. I see if i can reproduce the issue with my equipment (not much hope though).

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #12
After re reading your post multiple times i still don't get it. Please clarify

(2012-04-03 03:48)plastic9mm Wrote:  Tried the version you posted, if i power down the monitor, it doesn't crash, however the xbmc main window basically disappears.

Well this is basically happening because you switch of the screen where the main window was right? So "disappearing" is expected for me. Wink

(2012-04-03 03:48)plastic9mm Wrote:  If I choose to hide at that point, then another blank white window will show up on the primary monitor, not the secondary that xbmc is set to display on.

You decide to hide? What? XBMC will find you everywhere!. No sorry what do you mean by that?

(2012-04-03 03:48)plastic9mm Wrote:  It's small too, I'm guessing 640x480 but im not 100% sure. If I choose to hide again, it simply goes away.

Well i just don't get that hide thingy.

So far i tried to reproduce. Started xbmc on my main screen. Moved it to my 2nd screen fullscreen. Then i plugged out the cable. No nothing happens. XBMC is still "running" on that pulled off monitor.

What was the dharma behaviour now? Should XBMC go to the 1 left screen in fullscreen? Should XBMC got to the 1 left screen as windowed?

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
plastic9mm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I'm not unplugging the monitor. I'm just powering it off.

Hopefully I can clarify.

I have the secondary monitor on and XBMC is displaying on it.

Next I power the secondary monitor off. My primary display remains on, but the secondary monitor is now off. XBMC does not crash.

When I power the secondary monitor back on, XBMC is not being displayed, just the background image for the secondary monitor. XBMC However is still running.

If I then right click on the dock icon, and choose "Hide" (I use this with other apps that have windows that auto hide and the like, generally it will bring the particular apps window back up) a small white window will popup on the primary monitor and the titlebar on the window states "XBMC". Note that the secondary monitor is on now, but the little white box is displayed only on the primary.

If I choose to "Hide" again the little white window goes away, but XBMC never comes back up, on the secondary monitor or the primary.

At this point I have to quit XBMC and then relaunch it.

Once relaunched it works fine on the secondary monitor again, that is, until I power that monitor down again.

I hope that helps to clarify. If it's still hard to imagine, I can provide screen shots.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #14
Got ya now. Thats something i can't reproduce and therefore can't fix. You could post a xbmc.log for us to have a look into it (don't forget to turn debugging on before doing the log...)

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
plastic9mm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Ok I have submitted the log via pastebin. Hopefully it will help out. I am still using the version you requested me to test earlier in this thread.

http://pastebin.com/L9K9BSWK
find quote
Post Reply