HOW-TO synchronize your XBMC Media Center between every room in the house: Lifehacker

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #406
Yeah, the ATV2 has been great to be able to play stuff back cheaply, but roll on an untethered JB for the ATV3! Big Grin

I'll give that a go with Confluence, see if it does the thumbs, etc.

How do you use NFS for thumbs?
find
noner Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #407
(2012-04-08 18:50)Finchy Wrote:  How do you use NFS for thumbs?

You will have to install unix services on your whs, and then enable nfs sharing for the thumbs folder and assign the appropriate permissions, for thumbs they need to be read/write btw. Then in your advanced settings for the path substitution, instead of smb, replace it with nfs

Setting up nfs is pretty simple in linux (which is where I have my familiarity) unfortunately I am not a Windoz person Smile

Code:
<pathsubstitution>
                <substitute>
                        <from>special://profile/Thumbnails</from>
                        <to>nfs://IP/PATHTO/Thumbnails</to>
                </substitute>
        </pathsubstitution>
find
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #408
It's pretty easy to set up NFS in WHS 2011 (it's build on Server 2008), just add the role to the server manager adn you then can add NFS sharing to any folder.

Ooh! I've just set the thumbs to NFS sharing, removed content and re-set the content and it looks like it's doing it! Woo! Finally might be getting there! This is what worked for me;

Quote:<pathsubstitution>
<substitute>
<from>special://profile/Thumbnails</from>
<to>nfs://192.168.1.4:/XBMCThumbs[/code]
</to>
</substitute>
</pathsubstitution>
[code]

Still very sluggish, but definately progress, and I can see by going into the MySQL DB with SQLyog that the movie, etc data is now in there and the new video and music tables have ben created.
find
PeterUK Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #409
One more question lads - does it make a difference which HTPC updates the library?

The DB is stored on the main living room HTPC, however XBMC is not running all the time so when Sickbeard finishes unless XBMC is running the library doesn't get updated until it does.

If my missus turned on the bedroom PC and had 'Update Library on Startup' checked this wouldn't cause any issues no?
find
noner Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #410
(2012-04-08 23:57)PeterUK Wrote:  One more question lads - does it make a difference which HTPC updates the library?

The DB is stored on the main living room HTPC, however XBMC is not running all the time so when Sickbeard finishes unless XBMC is running the library doesn't get updated until it does.

If my missus turned on the bedroom PC and had 'Update Library on Startup' checked this wouldn't cause any issues no?

nope
find
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,899
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 274
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #411
(2012-04-08 23:57)PeterUK Wrote:  One more question lads - does it make a difference which HTPC updates the library?

The DB is stored on the main living room HTPC, however XBMC is not running all the time so when Sickbeard finishes unless XBMC is running the library doesn't get updated until it does.

If my missus turned on the bedroom PC and had 'Update Library on Startup' checked this wouldn't cause any issues no?

Not as long as all your sources that have "set content" are the same.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #412
OK, so the ATV2 and the XBMCbuntu are both syncing up (woo!) but there are still a few issues to iron out.

After dropping the xml files into XBMCbuntu and rebooting, it booted into the Ubuntu environment instead of XBMC. Any ideas how to make sure it boots into XBMC?

Also, both ATV and XBMCbuntu are reaaaaaally sluggish. Are there any tweaks I can do to speed them up? MySQL is running on Windows Home Server which connects to the router via gigabit LAN, and it moves files around the home network at excellent speeds, so I doubt it's actual machine that running on that's slowing things down. Any ideas?
find
Bary Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #413
maybe I got something in there...
find
PeterUK Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #414
(2012-04-09 07:34)Ned Scott Wrote:  
(2012-04-08 23:57)PeterUK Wrote:  One more question lads - does it make a difference which HTPC updates the library?

The DB is stored on the main living room HTPC, however XBMC is not running all the time so when Sickbeard finishes unless XBMC is running the library doesn't get updated until it does.

If my missus turned on the bedroom PC and had 'Update Library on Startup' checked this wouldn't cause any issues no?

Not as long as all your sources that have "set content" are the same.

Brilliant, thanks.
find
bayboynz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #415
Hi

I am also having problems with ATV 1. Its is very slow. All thumbs etc are store locally. Just created the athe following advancedsettings.xml file

<?xml version="1.0"?>
-<advancedsettings> -<videodatabase> <type>mysql</type> <host>192.168.1.10</host> <port>3306</port> <user>xbmc</user> <pass>xbmc</pass> </videodatabase> -<musicdatabase> <type>mysql</type> <host>192.168.1.10</host> <port>3306</port> <user>xbmc</user> <pass>xbmc</pass> </musicdatabase> </advancedsettings>

It can take up to 30 seconds to refresh a screen. It is working because the watched status of a program is changing on all my machines. But when I pause a program on one machine the others do not detect that it is paused and start from the beginning.

I followed the procedure outline on the XBMC site without th path substition because I heard that it slows things down even more.


Just tried a Mac mini as well same issue. My other PC hesitates but only for a second or two.
find
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #416
Well I'm definately getting there, but a few issues still.

Firstly, the speed when changing between screens, and also when first playing is much slower than when it's all local. Are there any MySQL optimisations that might speed that up? It's usable, but very frustrating.

Also, on TV shows where it's not picked up the correct info and I refresh the data, when I go to select different artwork it just has a load of blank polaroid type thumbnails and doesn't pick up any other artwork. It used to always pick it up, so any ideas why it's not doing that? I often get a 'failed to connect to remote server' error. Is that the local media server or the servers it's scraping from?
find
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 916
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #417
(2012-04-10 13:38)bayboynz Wrote:  Hi

I am also having problems with ATV 1. Its is very slow. All thumbs etc are store locally. Just created the athe following advancedsettings.xml file

<?xml version="1.0"?>
-<advancedsettings> -<videodatabase> <type>mysql</type> <host>192.168.1.10</host> <port>3306</port> <user>xbmc</user> <pass>xbmc</pass> </videodatabase> -<musicdatabase> <type>mysql</type> <host>192.168.1.10</host> <port>3306</port> <user>xbmc</user> <pass>xbmc</pass> </musicdatabase> </advancedsettings>

It can take up to 30 seconds to refresh a screen. It is working because the watched status of a program is changing on all my machines. But when I pause a program on one machine the others do not detect that it is paused and start from the beginning.

I followed the procedure outline on the XBMC site without th path substition because I heard that it slows things down even more.


Just tried a Mac mini as well same issue. My other PC hesitates but only for a second or two.

Did you do the optimizations suggested in the wiki?

Also if you want to pick up where you left off on a different machine, you have to STOP, not pause, because when a video is stopped, xbmc creates an auto-bookmark, which is read on the other machine. Pause does not generate that bookmark.
find
noner Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #418
also validate your my.cnf/my.ini settings..

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1065224
find
jcato Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #419
I currently have 2 PCs running 10.1 and sharing a library on my UnRaid server. Can I install Eden on a third PC and have it use the same MySQL without messing up the existing setup? It would create new databases without disturbing the existing ones, right? Should I setup a new user or any other precautions? I can then get to know Eden safely before updating the main TVs.

Thanks
find
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,899
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 274
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #420
(2012-04-13 02:11)jcato Wrote:  I currently have 2 PCs running 10.1 and sharing a library on my UnRaid server. Can I install Eden on a third PC and have it use the same MySQL without messing up the existing setup? It would create new databases without disturbing the existing ones, right? Should I setup a new user or any other precautions? I can then get to know Eden safely before updating the main TVs.

Thanks

I'd make a backup of the MySQL DBs, just in case, but it should work just as you said. It will make an upgrade copy, but leave the originals alone. This will mean that the v11 clients won't be in sync with the v10.1 clients, though.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find
Thread Closed