[dev] CetonTV+HDHomeRun - Watch TV on XBMC (WIN/OSX)

  Thread Rating:
  • 9 Votes - 4.22 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mcheng89 Offline
Fan
Posts: 408
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #571
(2012-04-04 13:51)uspino Wrote:  
(2012-04-04 02:45)LehighBri Wrote:  I am having the same issue where the video shows the loading prompt and then a black screen with no video (previous versions worked fine for me). I haven't seen much chatter in this thread lately... is this still in progress?

I'm guessing the author is either moving to Palo Alto or enjoying a well deserved spring break...

Just taking a break... Needed some time away from this. Smile
I'll take a look into the issue tomorrow and rewrite the vlc interface to copy the flash interface.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-05 05:28 by mcheng89.)
find quote
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #572
(2012-04-05 05:25)mcheng89 Wrote:  
(2012-04-04 13:51)uspino Wrote:  
(2012-04-04 02:45)LehighBri Wrote:  I am having the same issue where the video shows the loading prompt and then a black screen with no video (previous versions worked fine for me). I haven't seen much chatter in this thread lately... is this still in progress?

I'm guessing the author is either moving to Palo Alto or enjoying a well deserved spring break...

Just taking a break... Needed some time away from this. Smile
I'll take a look into the issue tomorrow and rewrite the vlc interface to copy the flash interface.

Welcome back! I can't remember if this is possible, but on the new ipad, is it possible to add a setting to do direct stream to see if the new ipad can decode? I'd love that as it would take the strain off my server (or until you add the support, is there a URL I can try that will "simulate" doing a direct stream on the ipad?
find quote
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #573
(2012-04-05 21:04)LehighBri Wrote:  ]
Welcome back! I can't remember if this is possible, but on the new ipad, is it possible to add a setting to do direct stream to see if the new ipad can decode? I'd love that as it would take the strain off my server (or until you add the support, is there a URL I can try that will "simulate" doing a direct stream on the ipad?

You can do direct streaming on the iPad if you use this address in any player with http streaming, like GoodPlayer or BuzzPlayer.

http://localhost:8555/play?channel=50&tuner=4&require=false&redirect=true

Regrettably, the iPad 3 is still not able to decode MPEG2 streams at full HD, though SD channels stream flawlessly. But compressed HD looks far better than direct streaming SD.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-06 14:05 by uspino.)
find quote
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #574
(2012-04-05 21:04)LehighBri Wrote:  ]
You can do direct streaming on the iPad if you use this address in any player with http streaming, like GoodPlayer or BuzzPlayer.

http://localhost:8555/play?channel=50&tuner=4&require=false&redirect=true

Regrettably, the iPad 3 is still not able to decode MPEG2 streams at full HD, though SD channels stream flawlessly. But compressed HD looks far better than direct streaming SD.

OK. I guess I'll give up on the direct streaming idea to the ipad. Thanks though! Keep us posted when you get a chance to look into the blank video issue uspino and I were having (I'm also using vlc 2.0.0.... do you suggest I upgrade to 2.0.2?)
find quote
mikeniccy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #575
Ok I have tried to get this working for awhile I think I have everything setup correctly it changes the channel but never streams any video. I've tried using vlc player and xbmc. no luck with either.

Remoteceton Says:
Setting stream program id using remoteVLC
Attempt 1 of 5 failed.

This repeats and finally gives up.
I appreciate any Help. Thanks Mike....
find quote
mcheng89 Offline
Fan
Posts: 408
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #576
(2012-04-06 14:51)LehighBri Wrote:  
(2012-04-05 21:04)LehighBri Wrote:  ]
You can do direct streaming on the iPad if you use this address in any player with http streaming, like GoodPlayer or BuzzPlayer.

http://localhost:8555/play?channel=50&tuner=4&require=false&redirect=true

Regrettably, the iPad 3 is still not able to decode MPEG2 streams at full HD, though SD channels stream flawlessly. But compressed HD looks far better than direct streaming SD.

OK. I guess I'll give up on the direct streaming idea to the ipad. Thanks though! Keep us posted when you get a chance to look into the blank video issue uspino and I were having (I'm also using vlc 2.0.0.... do you suggest I upgrade to 2.0.2?)

looking at it right now... 2.0.2 isnt out yet (i downloaded the nightly/experimental build).

edit: looks good on iphone.... ipad doesnt look correct. going to fix this
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-10 00:27 by mcheng89.)
find quote
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #577
(2012-04-10 00:13)mcheng89 Wrote:  edit: looks good on iphone.... ipad doesnt look correct. going to fix this
Great! Keep me posted... I'm home now and can quickly test whenever you have a new build ready.
find quote
mcheng89 Offline
Fan
Posts: 408
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #578
(2012-04-10 00:30)LehighBri Wrote:  
(2012-04-10 00:13)mcheng89 Wrote:  edit: looks good on iphone.... ipad doesnt look correct. going to fix this
Great! Keep me posted... I'm home now and can quickly test whenever you have a new build ready.

found it... turns out the ipad wont play unless is specifically add the controls="controls" option in the video tag.

will post the file up soon.
replace the iphone.html file in webfiles folder: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?3n2y83oyyqvq88o

let me know how airplay goes Smile... ill put this on the first post if this works

i think this should also fix android, but it doesnt have fullscreen yet
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-10 01:17 by mcheng89.)
find quote
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #579
Can you post the full package? I am using 2.1.1 as my starting point and I add the updated iphone.html on top of it, but I just get the loading icon on my ipad and no video plays (looks like the server then kills the stream after 90 seconds or so saying "Tuner is inactive. Shutting down stream"
find quote
mcheng89 Offline
Fan
Posts: 408
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #580
(2012-04-10 01:21)LehighBri Wrote:  Can you post the full package? I am using 2.1.1 as my starting point and I add the updated iphone.html on top of it, but I just get the loading icon on my ipad and no video plays (looks like the server then kills the stream after 90 seconds or so saying "Tuner is inactive. Shutting down stream"

Are you running as a web app or through safari?

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mj3x1v9jpy3rz7i
find quote
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #581
UPDATE: I restarted my computer as something felt off and thew newer version works on the ipad! Airplay also works as well and looks great! One thing though on the ipad. When I first go to play a channel, it shows "loading" for 10-15 seconds and then eventually it just shows a big "play" icon. I think have to click play to have it stream. Is there a way that it "autoplays" after I double tap the first time so I don't have to click play? Minor, but just curious.

On a side note, I have a quad core Q6600 and the video often times plays back jerky on the ipad. I can't tell what the bottleneck is. Is it the wireless G router? Is it the PC? What do you think the bottleneck would be? The CPU % doesn't go above 90% so I would lean towards the router being the issue, but not sure.
(2012-04-10 01:41)mcheng89 Wrote:  
(2012-04-10 01:21)LehighBri Wrote:  Can you post the full package? I am using 2.1.1 as my starting point and I add the updated iphone.html on top of it, but I just get the loading icon on my ipad and no video plays (looks like the server then kills the stream after 90 seconds or so saying "Tuner is inactive. Shutting down stream"

Are you running as a web app or through safari?

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mj3x1v9jpy3rz7i

Safari. See my updated post.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-10 01:44 by LehighBri.)
find quote
mcheng89 Offline
Fan
Posts: 408
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #582
(2012-04-10 01:43)LehighBri Wrote:  UPDATE: I restarted my computer as something felt off and thew newer version works on the ipad! Airplay also works as well and looks great! One thing though on the ipad. When I first go to play a channel, it shows "loading" for 10-15 seconds and then eventually it just shows a big "play" icon. I think have to click play to have it stream. Is there a way that it "autoplays" after I double tap the first time so I don't have to click play? Minor, but just curious.

On a side note, I have a quad core Q6600 and the video often times plays back jerky on the ipad. I can't tell what the bottleneck is. Is it the wireless G router? Is it the PC? What do you think the bottleneck would be? The CPU % doesn't go above 90% so I would lean towards the router being the issue, but not sure

I think its a limitation of a web app (airplay and autoplay).

What if you lower the video quality? Does that help the jerky video?
find quote
mikeniccy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #583
Ok I tried updating VLC 2.0.2. That didn't work still can't get this to work. any help is much appreciated.

In Remoteceton I'm seeing:
tuner[4]: rtsp://192.168.200.1:8554cetonmpeg3
tuner[4]: starting video stream
vlc[4]: starting vlc instance with remotevlc plugin
vlc[4]: streaming to http://localhost:8559
vlc[4]: setting stream program id using remotevlc
vlc[4]: attempt 5 of 5 failed...
vlc[4]: could not set program in 10 seconds
vlc[4]: closing vlc instance
tuner[4]: stopping video stream

I don't know what i'm doing wrong. I've disabled my firewall and antivirus. Still no go. I am able to get a channel listing, and change the channel on the tuner just doesn't stream.
Again TIA Mike....
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-10 06:39 by mikeniccy.)
find quote
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #584
Airplay works great on Apple TV. The only issue I find is the same I get with iPhone/iPad playback: small jumps on the video. It is very noticeable on channels with scrolling ticker, like sports. It happens also when you play the stream through GoodPlayer. It does not appear when you play the stream in a PC through VLC or XBMC, so it is probably related to some sort of frame-rate on iOS devices.
find quote
mcheng89 Offline
Fan
Posts: 408
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #585
(2012-04-10 05:35)mikeniccy Wrote:  Ok I tried updating VLC 2.0.2. That didn't work still can't get this to work. any help is much appreciated.

In Remoteceton I'm seeing:
tuner[4]: rtsp://192.168.200.1:8554cetonmpeg3
tuner[4]: starting video stream
vlc[4]: starting vlc instance with remotevlc plugin
vlc[4]: streaming to http://localhost:8559
vlc[4]: setting stream program id using remotevlc
vlc[4]: attempt 5 of 5 failed...
vlc[4]: could not set program in 10 seconds
vlc[4]: closing vlc instance
tuner[4]: stopping video stream

I don't know what i'm doing wrong. I've disabled my firewall and antivirus. Still no go. I am able to get a channel listing, and change the channel on the tuner just doesn't stream.
Again TIA Mike....

Is this a typo or does it really show this line:
rtsp://192.168.200.1:8554cetonmpeg3

it should be:
rtsp://192.168.200.1:8554/cetonmpeg3
find quote
Post Reply