Introducing my HP Microserver N36L / N40L / N54L using WHS2011 + XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Tozmo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #211
I'm resurrecting old threads, but I started a wiki for the Proliant Microservers. Although it's mostly geared toward N40L, any help adding and arranging data even for the n36l would be appreciated. That way the microserver community doesn't have information splintered across the internet in multi-page threads.

http://n40l.wikia.com/wiki/HP_MicroServer_N40L_Wiki
find quote
QLink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #212
good idea tozmo !

but i would change the name to N36L/N40L wiki, because these 2 servers are pretty the same pieces of hardware, even the bios is the same...

the only difference is the 1,3Ghz CPU vs. the 1,5Ghz CPU.


this way you would talk to a much bigger audience with your wiki Wink
find quote
eeyore Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #213
(2011-09-07 11:05)QLink Wrote:  found a post of a nice way of easily extending hdd space with a Sharkoon Sata Quickport Internal 6-Bay 2.5" hard disk, 5.25" Bay

i like ! Cool

[Image: hpproliantmicroserverwith6baysharkoonhotplugsata.jpg]


Is there a guide available for how to do this? Been searching and can't find one.
find quote
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #214
Has anyone got multiple XBMC's syncing with MySQL on their Proliant with WHS 2011? From the installation of MySQL onwards? I've not been able to get it working and am looking for an idiots guide if anyone can help!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-06 14:45 by Finchy.)
find quote
littlepooch21 Offline
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #215
would this run everything good, or would it be better to just build one? i'm going to be watching just about everything i.e.: sd, 720, 1080, 3d, etc
find quote
cable_guy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #216
(2012-04-10 21:36)littlepooch21 Wrote:  would this run everything good, or would it be better to just build one? i'm going to be watching just about everything i.e.: sd, 720, 1080, 3d, etc

it's good for everything mate. You just need to choose your graphics card which can handle the things you say. I play everything with my ATI graphics card inside it (Linux build) but not tried 3D as have no 3DTV.

Bedroom rig: HP N40L Microserver - 6GB DDR3, 250GB internal boot drive, 2TB external USB storage drive with XBMC 12.3 XBMCbuntu & TVheadend

Lounge rig: Acer Aspire Revo R3610 - 2GB DDR2, 250GB internal boot drive XBMC OpenElec
find quote
littlepooch21 Offline
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #217
i was thinking about getting one instead of building one but wasn't really sure what to get for a graphics card.
find quote
Death-Axe Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 754
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #218
Saw these for sale with £100 cash back, making this unit about £150. I have my htpc and media on the same unit at the moment, but was considering a server. This unit looks ideal. Tell me: this has 4 bays for hard drives right? so does one of those have to be for the OS or is there another bay for that? or can I just fir a loose 2.5 in at the top like some people are doing? and is that safe doing that?

Also while we are here, regarding windows home server: can things be installed on that as normal? like sickbeard, utorrent, serviio etc? and can this use SMB shares so I can transfer stuff across easly?

[Image: widget]
HTPC: Motherboard: Asus F2A85-V, CPU: AMD A10 6800K, RAM: Kingston XMP BEAST 16GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, LG CH12NS30 Blu-Ray drive, Samsung, and WD various 2 and 3TB for storage, Windows 8.1, one for all remote/FLIRC, Logitech z906 surround system.
find quote
cable_guy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #219
(2012-04-11 16:35)Death-Axe Wrote:  Tell me: this has 4 bays for hard drives right?
yes but some people ram more in with 2.5" converters, etc like in that pic above.

(2012-04-11 16:35)Death-Axe Wrote:  so does one of those have to be for the OS or is there another bay for that? or can I just fir a loose 2.5 in at the top like some people are doing? and is that safe doing that?
none of the internal drives are my boot drive, I only use external boot drives on it like USB Sticks or an external USB hdd.

Bedroom rig: HP N40L Microserver - 6GB DDR3, 250GB internal boot drive, 2TB external USB storage drive with XBMC 12.3 XBMCbuntu & TVheadend

Lounge rig: Acer Aspire Revo R3610 - 2GB DDR2, 250GB internal boot drive XBMC OpenElec
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-12 22:39 by cable_guy.)
find quote
NickSoapdish Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #220
I'm getting an error when trying to launch XBMC on a WHS 2011 machine - I don't recall the exact text but I think basically it can't access a log (or location for a log) to write to. I can get the exact text later when I get home but I'm hoping my brief and somewhat terrible description may give people a general idea of what the issue is. I did a quick check and there is no userdata directory for XBMC in the AppData directory in Windows.

Any ideas on how I can clear this up?
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-19 20:02 by NickSoapdish.)
find quote
QLink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #221
i did nothing special to get xbmc running on whs2011.

just downloaded the .exe file and installed it...
there was nothing more to do...

maybe try to install it with rightclick -> run as administrator
find quote
turbodude Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #222
(2011-06-27 16:14)QLink Wrote:  power consumption:
under idle my N36L with above mentioned config is using ~36W and under heavy load a maximum of 45-50W.
idle results should als lower down with the whs2011 AddIn "Lights Out" but i haven't measured this yet.
update: idle with spun down drives: 24,3W

The above is a quote from the first post. I have an N40L running WHS2011 and everything else as it comes out of the box (no extra drives or graphics card). Mine uses 16watts when shutdown fully and 46watts when running idle. I haven't even added my storage drives and graphics card yet and the power use is so high.

I have seen other reports of N40L's with 4 green drives and no graphics card idling at 15watts but this seems impossible for mine.Does anyone know why it is using so much power?
find quote
_James_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #223
What are you using to measure the draw? Can you test something with a given wattage? (lamp?)
find quote
turbodude Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #224
(2012-04-24 22:44)_James_ Wrote:  What are you using to measure the draw? Can you test something with a given wattage? (lamp?)

I am using this power meter:
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp...rm=KEYWORD
I have used it heaps and has always read as expected. I just tested it on a 40Watt light bulb and it read 39Watts so i am happy with its accuracy
find quote
TRaSH Offline
Fan
Posts: 534
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Holland, The Netherlands
Question  RE: Introducing my HP Microserver N36L using WHS2011 + XBMC
Post: #225
i'm thinking of getting my self a HP Proliant MicroServer N40L or a 36L
i want to use is as media storage (to stream to my main HTPC mainly 1080p material blu-ray's remux)
run sabnzbd+sickbeard on it.
and use it perhaps for a bedroom HTPC with xbmc.
install WHS2011 or 2k8

my questions for owners:

is it capable to stream 1080p 20-40 GB Blu-Ray remux's without a problem (wired on a 1Gbps network+cables) ?
can it handle downloading(100Mbps+) and unrar/par2 repair at the same time ?

Windows 7, 64-bit | XBMC Frodo | Aeon Nox | MONEUAL 320B | Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 661 | Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3
Onkyo TX-SR875 | Teufel System 5 THX Cinema 5.1
HP Microserver N40L WHS 2011 8TB
[Image: all-banner@2x.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-06 11:55 by TRaSH.)
find quote
Post Reply