[SSD] Patriot Torqx2 win7 Boot Times?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #31
I am giving up on this patriot...... it was going at 15 sec boot.... and it went back to 50sec..... then xbmc freezes at boot from cold.... i have it in the startup folder with a 5 sec delay.... tried 10 sec.... 20 sec..... it's been giving me problems....
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #32
how can it go from 15 and then back to 50 ?
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #33
check with DHARMA, leave EDEN for a sec,
just to see if its a SSD thing or XBMC thing...

also, try this for me, it may sound weird,
but it worked for me,
i too, saw that my SSD wasnt booting as fast as before,
altho still faster then any regular drives,
i tried something and it worked.
sometimes, my SSD would take too much time on the welcome screen...
and this altho i set my htpc to boot directly into desktop no pass needed.

do this, take this 'show desktop' file i made here --> http://www4.zippyshare.com/v/95034692/file.html
and place it in your startup folder
then reboot and see if its any faster!
tell me the result, thx
find quote
CpTHOOK Offline
Fan
Posts: 500
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 6
Location: California
Post: #34
(2012-04-15 08:52)Beer40oz Wrote:  I am giving up on this patriot...... it was going at 15 sec boot.... and it went back to 50sec..... then xbmc freezes at boot from cold.... i have it in the startup folder with a 5 sec delay.... tried 10 sec.... 20 sec..... it's been giving me problems....

Hold on beer.... Slow down!

I'm sure your settings have something to do with your issue not your drive. Please tell me that you saved an image of your desktop shortly after your first 15sec boot. If so, those settings should be preserved in your image. Just wipe the disk clean and then re-flash image and then try to boot. If you didn't save an image then you may have to load W7 again fresh.
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #35
I FOUND THE PROBLEM!

look here

RoflRoflRoflRoflRofl
find quote
skippy Offline
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
(2012-04-15 18:54)Beer40oz Wrote:  I FOUND THE PROBLEM!

look here

RoflRoflRoflRoflRofl

+1

I tweaked the BIOS to switch the drive to AHCI mode, as well as the registry in windows ( per your and eskro's advice ).

At this point, I was booting in about 50s.

Changed the background from solid black to jpg.

Now, my htpc boots in about 20s.

Thank you so much Beer40oz and eskro for your help!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #37
skippy, u installed SP1??

cuz im just thinking if SP1 contains this fix already,.,...
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-15 20:33 by eskro.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #38
(2012-04-15 20:22)eskro Wrote:  skippy, u installed SP1??

cuz im just thinking if SP1 contains this fix already,.,...

How do you know? at least I figured out why!
find quote
skippy Offline
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
(2012-04-15 20:22)eskro Wrote:  skippy, u installed SP1??

cuz im just thinking if SP1 contains this fix already,.,...

Yeah, I had SP1 installed previously. I don't think it helped any...
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #40
ahhh, nice to know skippy,
well i guess i have no choice,
i have to put that tweak in my ssd guide.
thanks alot for the hint beer40!
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #41
(2012-04-15 20:43)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-04-15 20:22)eskro Wrote:  skippy, u installed SP1??

cuz im just thinking if SP1 contains this fix already,.,...

How do you know? at least I figured out why!
Beer....I think that it is....the latest Windows updates should take care of that issue. As you can see, the suggestions are a little outdated. To prove my point, I tried as what they suggested it. It didn't make any different in my HTPC. If the suggestion work for you, good for you.

For me, the quikest bootup time is with AsRock Intant boot option.....and it's very stable...!

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-15 22:03 by bluray.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #42
(2012-04-15 22:02)bluray Wrote:  For me, the quikest bootup time is with AsRock Intant boot option.....and it's very stable...!

this instant boot thing also requires continuous power from power supply so just use sleep..
it'll boot faster lol
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #43
Yes it does! I looked.... why not just SSD bluray?
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #44
(2012-04-16 05:00)eskro Wrote:  
(2012-04-15 22:02)bluray Wrote:  For me, the quikest bootup time is with AsRock Intant boot option.....and it's very stable...!

this instant boot thing also requires continuous power from power supply so just use sleep..
it'll boot faster lol
38 seconds from the push of the button with a slow E-350+GT430+3 USB hard drives+AsRock instant boot is not bad at all......if I remove GT430 and all 3 USB hard drive, I might be able to do 20's seconds with AsRock instant boot.....


(2012-04-16 05:02)Beer40oz Wrote:  Yes it does! I looked.... why not just SSD bluray?
I am using 32GB Torq SSD.....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-16 05:13 by bluray.)
find quote
Post Reply