Linux - AudioEngine testers - Linux only

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
erhnam Offline
Team-XBMC Live Developer
Posts: 671
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #46
(2012-04-18 07:48)gnif Wrote:  AE is now able to detect the correct HDMI output device if you have ALSA 1.0.25 or later, or a 3.3 kernel. Custom output device has been removed as AE can accurately determine what devices you now have and their capability, here is the log output from my HTPC for example:

This is really awesome. Thanks for your hard work!
find quote
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #47
(2012-04-18 07:48)gnif Wrote:  AE is now able to detect the correct HDMI output device if you have ALSA 1.0.25 or later, or a 3.3 kernel. Custom output device has been removed as AE can accurately determine what devices you now have and their capability, here is the log output from my HTPC for example:

@wingrunr21 - DTSHD and TrueHD have been working in mplayer with AE for quite some time now, but the code there is a little unstable and breaks from system to system, we are still trying to sort this out.

Nice. And yes I realize that about mplayer, I want people to make sure ALSA works properly in mplayer before declaring AE is at fault. Those HDMI updates should help matters.

@joethefox: try building gnif's latest commits and see if that helps

@everyone: gnif's changes are working well on my system. Make sure you go in and update your audio settings when you relaunch XBMC (they will still say "custom").

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-18 14:53 by wingrunr21.)
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #48
@wingrunr21: sorry, I read that mplayer as dvdplayer as in, dvdplayer in XBMC Smile

@joethefox: can you please provide a stack-trace, your crash log doesn't have one, be sure you have debug enabled

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 22
Post: #49
thank you guys for your support. I will do a stack-trace as soon as possible (this evening).
find quote
P-I H Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
Compiled today.
My audiocards was detected.
The Nvidia Geforce GT520 was set to HDA Nvidia, HGC *Harman_Avr* on HDMI
both in Audio Output device and Passthrough output device.
According to the log the hdmi card is identified as
Device name is :hdmi:CARD=Nvidia,DEV=3
Code:
11:19:03 T:140127018854272   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Skipping HDMI device hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0 as it has no ELD data
11:19:03 T:140127018854272   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Skipping HDMI device hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1 as it has no ELD data
11:19:03 T:140127018854272   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Skipping HDMI device hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2 as it has no ELD data
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO: Enumerated ALSA devices:
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:     Device 1
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_deviceName      : hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_displayName     : HDA NVidia
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_displayNameExtra: HCG *Harman_AVR* on HDMI
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_HDMI
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_channels        : FL,FR,LFE,FC,BL,BR,SL,SR
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_sampleRates     : 32000,44100,48000,88200,96000,176400,192000
11:19:03 T:140127018854272    INFO:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_AC3,AE_FMT_DTS,AE_FMT_EAC3,AE_FMT_TRUEHD,AE_FMT_DTSHD,AE_FMT_S16NE


Still some problems when playing.
In the log below I played a video with 2 audio streams PCM 2.0 and Dolby Digital 5.1.
The PCM stream just played a noice in high volume. The Dolby Digital stream played OK.
In other cases the PCM stream is played with distortion.
http://pastebin.com/QPsLtAMG

In the log below I first played a video with DTS HD Master Audio. The reciever showed DTS HD MA, but there was no sound. Then I played a video with DTS HD High Resolution and this one played OK except for I think one dropout.
http://pastebin.com/dEVX0QNU
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 22
Post: #51
(2012-04-18 15:58)gnif Wrote:  @joethefox: can you please provide a stack-trace, your crash log doesn't have one, be sure you have debug enabled
here is the log running from within gdb
Code:
(gdb)
xbmc.bin: Utils/AEChannelInfo.cpp:191: void CAEChannelInfo::operator+=(AEChannel): Assertion `(rhs > AE_CH_NULL && rhs < AE_CH_MAX)' failed.

Program received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.

and the output of the command "thread apply all bt" http://pastebin.com/YBdBBzkU
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #52
@joethefox - please compile with debug and optimizations disabled, the trace doesn't contain enough info. Also I only need a back-trace of the current thread in this instance.

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
nirmv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
(2012-04-18 12:04)erhnam Wrote:  
(2012-04-18 07:48)gnif Wrote:  AE is now able to detect the correct HDMI output device if you have ALSA 1.0.25 or later, or a 3.3 kernel. Custom output device has been removed as AE can accurately determine what devices you now have and their capability, here is the log output from my HTPC for example:

This is really awesome. Thanks for your hard work!

Just noticed it. Really awesome indeed!
My own problem is that this feature broke my other Eden xbmc version that I run in parallel for pvr (because probably the same configuration is used by both), but I will manage.
Great feature, I was waiting for it for long time. I think hdmi audio configuration was something that never worked for me out of the box before.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-18 23:51 by nirmv.)
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 22
Post: #54
@gnif, configure line
Code:
./configure --disable-vaapi --disable-crystalhd --with-cpu=x86_64 --enable-airplay --disable-pulse --enable-debug --disable-optimizations

but even with this options I haven't still back trace in the crashlog http://pastebin.com/Frh7RHn1
gdb backtrace http://pastebin.com/uFwN8j00

If can help in investigation, if left untouched this audio device previously selected from eden stable configuration (default alsa)
Code:
# cat /etc/asoundrc.conf
pcm.!default {
type hw
card Audigy2
}

ctl.!default {
type hw
card Audigy2
}

the audio is distorted and slowed down when playing both music and videos.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-19 00:20 by joethefox.)
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #55
@joethefox - I just pushed in a fix that should correct the behaviour, your p16v device has 16 channels available to it and AE was only designed to handle 8, since up till now we have never seen anything capable of more. ALSA have not defined the mapping of these extra 8 channels so we unfortunately cant use them, but you should no longer get a crash due to this.

Also, you dont need any asoundrc.conf for ALSA with AE, it handles everything now.

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 22
Post: #56
that a great news, you rock! This evening I will try the fix.

I had always thought that the Audigy 2 ZS platinum pro was a future proof card Big Grin
Sounds strange to me too that my device has 16 channels, reading the device specifications, http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/multime...-zs_2.html , it should support up to eight channels.
Can be something related to the Sigmatel 4-Speaker Stereo chip?

Also, just for curious and if it's related, from some time with xbmc mainline I had to manage the "list of thirty" device with my environment http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=122797

regards
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 22
Post: #57
bad news Sad Still no working AE here.
From last eden mainline configuration, at first start AE still output distorted high level noise.
While changing the audio device from system>system>audio output>audio output device seems that xbmc enter into an infinite loop, xbmc.log http://pastebin.com/wC1u5ctt

I've cutted the last lines because the last two are always the same and I've killed xbmc when xbmc.log size was growing up to 10MB. Same kind of error when trying to start a playback.
find quote
OkvOkv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
(2012-04-18 06:19)wingrunr21 Wrote:  Do the TrueHD/DTSMA tracks work in mplayer or equivalent?

When selecting the proper codec in mplayer, it works similar to xbmc.
No success in getting true hd sound from any player on this linux install;
Ubuntu 12.04 and Alsa 1.0.25.

What works, on hdmi:
PCM 2-ch, PCM 5.1, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1, DTS-HR 5.1 (96/24).

Does not work:
Dolby True HD 7.1, DTS-MA 7.1.
Receiver detects PCM 192K 7.1 signal, but is not able do decode.
Sound is noise only.

Video seems to work fine, as far as I can see.

My latest build is from yesterday, with the apr 19 commit.
Build after apr 18. now detects audio device correctly, as DENON on hdmi.
find quote
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #59
Alright, then this is either an FFMPEG issue (unlikely) or an ALSA issue. My guess is your ALSA driver module needs some configuration parameters set on modprobe to properly output the HD audio.

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 22
Post: #60
about p16v device, could be useful this code? http://www.cs.fsu.edu/~baker/devices/lxr...0k1/p16v.c
find quote
Post Reply