[ALPHA RELEASE] Lightbox Skin

  Thread Rating:
  • 20 Votes - 4.05 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
SamHill Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Lacey, WA.
Post: #91
This is one of my new favorite skins. Very nice. Cant wait to see what you do to the finished skin.

[Image: widget]
find quote
tree_jammer Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 17
Post: #92
(2012-04-19 00:08)queeup Wrote:  Just I can say please respect UTF-8 fonts for multilanguage support Smile other then that very good. Thank you.

I may need some help with this one. If anyone knows a UTF 8 font which is similar to the one I've used and is open source please let me know.
find quote
DPickles Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Post: #93
Love the skin so far, runs nice and smooth.
I just noticed that there's no "exit" option under the shut down menu. Is there any possibility of adding this in the future? One of my machines runs windows and only runs XBMC when the missus is upstairs watching something. I can only imagine her not being able to exit without rebooting.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find quote
Myrddraal Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #94
(2012-04-19 10:46)tree_jammer Wrote:  
(2012-04-19 00:08)queeup Wrote:  Just I can say please respect UTF-8 fonts for multilanguage support Smile other then that very good. Thank you.

I may need some help with this one. If anyone knows a UTF 8 font which is similar to the one I've used and is open source please let me know.

There is a pretty good list of unicode fonts in here,
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=119404

It would be nice for us Asian users if the skin would be able to display unicode characters.
Maybe adding an option to choose Arial fonts could be an initial approach.
The skin would not be as nice as it is, but at least, we would be able to get our media properly displayed.
find quote
Chris! Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,012
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 16
Location: England
Post: #95
Roboto looks pretty similar


Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
find quote
Maxoo Offline
Fan
Posts: 385
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 12
Location: Paris, France
Post: #96
@pseudo7 : Not as beautiful though, look at the 'c', 't' and 's' for example.

Look at Museo Sans : http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Museo-Sans or QuickSand : http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Quicksand
Be sure to look at Quicksand Book, as Quicksand is too thin.

Admin @ Passion-XBMC
(official french community)
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-20 13:08 by Maxoo.)
find quote
the_ripper Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #97
how can i install this skin in openelec,

thanks in advance Huh
find quote
tree_jammer Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 17
Post: #98
(2012-04-19 22:30)Maxoo Wrote:  Not as beautiful though, look at the 'c', 't' and 's' for example.

Look at Museo Sans : http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Museo-Sans or QuickSand : http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Quicksand
Be sure to look at Quicksand Book, as Quicksand is too thin.

Thanks dude! those look really good. I'll give them a try and see how they fit. Big Grin
find quote
otcho Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #99
@tree_jammer: I've got a question regarding the home menu. Are there any scripts running while I scroll through the items? I have the feeling, that a lot of data is loaded everytime for e.g. new movies/episodes
find quote
Myrddraal Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #100
(2012-04-19 23:26)tree_jammer Wrote:  
(2012-04-19 22:30)Maxoo Wrote:  Not as beautiful though, look at the 'c', 't' and 's' for example.

Look at Museo Sans : http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Museo-Sans or QuickSand : http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Quicksand
Be sure to look at Quicksand Book, as Quicksand is too thin.

Thanks dude! those look really good. I'll give them a try and see how they fit. Big Grin

I have to agree.Those two fonts look really good.
find quote
Chris! Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,012
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 16
Location: England
Post: #101
@Maxoo - you are right now I look closer. Nice find!


Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
find quote
da-anda Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,170
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 39
Location: germany
Post: #102
@tree_jammer - I know it's a alpha release and you know about the most obvious bugs, but here are some things I noticed from sections that already look pretty finished. That's why I decided to report them:

season panel
I think it would be better to display the season posters in a continous strip instead of a 5col grid, so that you can browse all seasons from left to right and don't have to also scroll up/down (one doesn't expect this seeing only one line of posters).

movie panel, music panel
browsing the poster feels a bit awkward, having to navigate left/right and up and down. Would be cool if there would be a automated "line jump" once you reach the outermost poster of a line. So that when you continously press left/right you automatically browse the posters line by line. But I think this might be a limitation in the skinning engine and would probably lead to other navigational oddities (like how to get tot he left menu again)?

grids (home screen, genres)
On the home screen you use some grids, f.e. for the recent movies or the settings. There are some visual glitches with those:
  • dummy shapes disappear suddenly when they are in the last line and you scroll up (so that they move down). They already disapper before the grid moved them out of focus.
  • it's a bit odd in the settings grid that when you scroll down to the third line (while 2 are displayed at a time), that the grid scrolls up to the third row even if it's the last one. This leads to a empty row at the bottom which looks odd. So scrolling the rows should stop once there are no more rows "hidden"

Info panel
To simplify the UI a bit, I think you can remove the buttons for "refresh", "get thumb" and "get fanart" from the info panel view and "hide" them behind a "edit" button. Gui should only show frequently used options and "hide" the advanced features from average joe. But that's just my personal taste - feel free to ignore it Smile
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-20 14:45 by da-anda.)
find quote
eckstheory Offline
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #103
(2012-04-19 11:36)DPickles Wrote:  Love the skin so far, runs nice and smooth.
I just noticed that there's no "exit" option under the shut down menu. Is there any possibility of adding this in the future? One of my machines runs windows and only runs XBMC when the missus is upstairs watching something. I can only imagine her not being able to exit without rebooting.


Open up the DialogButtonMenu.xml in notepad++. Then look for

Quote:<control type="button" id="3115">
<description>Shutdown</description>
<width>320</width>
<label>13005</label>
<onclick>ShutDown()</onclick>
<align>right</align>
<textcolor>black</textcolor>
<focusedcolor>white</focusedcolor>
</control>

Change the
Quote:<onclick>ShutDown()</onclick>
to
Quote:<onclick>XBMC.Quit()</onclick>
and then save. Reload the skin and the shutdown button will now only exit out of xbmc instead of shutting down windows.

Hope that helps

What I lack in talent, I make up for in my pants!
find quote
jpatrick Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #104
Hey Tree,

Just as a heads up the login.xml doesn't work, so you are stuck at a blank screen with no means to log in or change the skin to be able to log in.

I had to replace the login.xml another skin to get xbmc to be functional.
find quote
tree_jammer Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 17
Post: #105
(2012-04-20 22:59)jpatrick Wrote:  Hey Tree,

Just as a heads up the login.xml doesn't work, so you are stuck at a blank screen with no means to log in or change the skin to be able to log in.

I had to replace the login.xml another skin to get xbmc to be functional.

thanks. I haven't looked at the login stuff yet, will add to the list.
find quote
Post Reply