Resolution changes when switching TV on/off

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jopie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #31
What is the problem with the Harmony? I once had a similar issue with respect to delays with my projector and just lengthened the delay between projector start up and the Denon coming on (it would switch input before the projector was ready). The Harmony delays are set in the devices menu for each device. I cannot remember if there is a maximum.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-21 00:16 by jopie.)
find quote
brom Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
(2012-04-20 10:14)jopie Wrote:  What is the problem with the Harmony? I once had a similar issue with respect to delays with my projector and just lengthened the delay between projector start up and the Denon coming on (it would send switch input before the projector was ready). The Harmony delays are set in the devices menu for each device. I cannot remember if there is a maximum.

I played with all of the delays at great length extending each out to 2 seconds. I just couldn't get the startup sequence to work. (And have the remote usable for normal access)

Thinking about it... I could be tricky..
1) Add in another "set top box type" device to the harmony (Make sure I don't actually have this device and it wont interfere with the rest of my equipment)
2) Set the inter device delay of this new box to 3 seconds.
3) Put this device in between the TV and Mac mini startup sequence.

The harmony will then try to turn this "set top box type" device on during the startup. As the device has a large inter device delay it will slow down the startup of the other devices.

Might be sometime to try in the next few days.
find quote
Aonoa Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
A bit of further testing reveals that I can avoid the issue by turning the receiver off before the screen, and by turning the screen on before the receiver. This is while the Mini is on the entire time with XBMC running. A little annoying, since the screen has a bigger startup delay than the receiver.

I left the Mini on, but without XBMC running and the resolution changing issue is still there unless I follow my aforementioned sequence. Perhaps it is related to an OS X update along the line?
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-20 11:19 by Aonoa.)
find quote
mjreilly Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
I have been having this problem and I think it may be related to the new HiDPI mode (960 x 540) in OS X Lion. For some reason my Mac Mini seems to prefer that resolution and will default to it at times, especially when turning the display back on while XBMC is running. I think this is due to the display being an HDTV and the OS assuming you want UI elements that are readable from across the room (they are very readable, the screen real estate is just too small).

I have disabled HiDPI mode and it seems to be working probably now, I'll update the thread if that changes.

You can disable the HiDPI mode using Quartz Debug, which is part of Xcode but now a separate download. You'll need to sign up for a free Apple Developer account to download Quartz Debug, Xcode can be downloaded from the App Store.

Matt
find quote
brom Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Good news...
I managed to figure it out and fix it on my system.

In my case the issue was caused by the hdmi port on the tv not being "ready" when the Mac mini wakes up. If the Mac mini wakes up before the hdmi port is ready the Mac seems to default to a very low resolution.

My Samsung tv takes about 9 seconds between pressing the power button and the hdmi port being ready.

All I did was to contact Logitech support and get them to insert a power on delay for my media centre. (in my case 11 seconds)

Now. The tv powers up.. Changes to the hdmi.. Takes about 9-10 seconds to get here...
Then the Mac mini turns on.. The screen flickers slightly as it rehandshakes with hdmi and it all works perfectly.

In my case I have no amp.. But I would expect you would get similar problems if the amp was not presenting an active port all the way to the tv. (depends if you are doing pass through or hdmi amp termination)

Anyway... Its easy to test... Just do a slow turn on of all your components with the Mac being the last to power up.


My config...
Mac Mini (2011)
OS: Lion
TV: Samsung via HDMI 1 to Displayport. (PS50C6500)
Amp: Uses optical so not in the path
XBMC 11.0 (official)
Harmony One remote
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-08 02:39 by brom.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,064
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #36
This damn HDMI doesn't seem to be ready for the public *grrrr*.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Aonoa Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
(2012-05-07 16:14)mjreilly Wrote:  I have been having this problem and I think it may be related to the new HiDPI mode (960 x 540) in OS X Lion. For some reason my Mac Mini seems to prefer that resolution and will default to it at times, especially when turning the display back on while XBMC is running. I think this is due to the display being an HDTV and the OS assuming you want UI elements that are readable from across the room (they are very readable, the screen real estate is just too small).

I have disabled HiDPI mode and it seems to be working probably now, I'll update the thread if that changes.

You can disable the HiDPI mode using Quartz Debug, which is part of Xcode but now a separate download. You'll need to sign up for a free Apple Developer account to download Quartz Debug, Xcode can be downloaded from the App Store.

Matt


Disabling the HiDPI resolutions worked for me as well. Thank you. :-)
find quote
Post Reply