The "A6-Pack" Build

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Sdpbc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'll let you guess who's build inspired this one ... Wink

AMD A6-3500 - $59.99 (Tiger Direct.ca rebate offer)
Asrock A75-MITX - $115 shipped
Antec ISK300-65 - $61 shipped
Crucial Ballistix 1866 2 x 4gb - $36 shipped
- Edit: If you are not using the stock cpu cooler, this RAM BARELY fits under the Shuriken SCSK-1100. I had to remove the Shuriken to get the RAM on the board.
OCZ Agility 3 60gb SSD - $54.99 after rebate (hard to beat the price on this one and, knock on wood, I have a 120gb Vertex drive on my laptop for the last year without issues).

Subtotal: $337

Unisen iPazzPort KP-810-10A ~ $30 shipped
Windows 7 license will run me $30 or so (wife's a teacher so she gets an awesome discount rate on it).

$397.

Still debating on the CPU cooler. May actually try the stock one just for fun, though at 70mm it will likely be loud as a freight train, and they don't look like fun to install?

Leaning towards the Scythe Shuriken Rev. B (SCSK1100) as I understand it fits without cutting, and is available locally. Though the 120mm fan of the 2100 is tempting.

First time PC build. I've opened up and torn apart PC's in the way distant past, but never build one from scratch myself. So any assistance or pointers to good online guides would be most welcome!

After seeing Beer40oz's video of his lightening fast UI that puts my ATV2 to shame, I'm looking forward to this.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-01 03:09 by Sdpbc.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,261
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #2
You'll enjoy your A6 HTPC.....as for CPU cooler, the 1000 or 1100 are the best coolers for 300-65 case. It'll keep the 65W CPU cool with ease, and there is no need to cut anything......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #3
JAJA A6 PACK...... that is funny man! Smile I like.....

yes get the SCSK1100 if you don't want to cut the bracket..... (go get it) lol.... do it right from the start!

Or if you wan't test out the stock vs. SCSK1100 .... (Cpt Hook is using his stock cooler and he is not liking it)

You are always welcomed to call me for pointers!

mmmm should we rename this from the The Messiah to A6-PACK ....lol man I think we should.... CODE NAME: "The A6-PACK"??? mmm
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-24 16:25 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
acegis Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
@Sdpbc - forget about 65W power supply - it is not enough for A6 processor
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #5
(2012-04-24 17:36)acegis Wrote:  @Sdpbc - forget about 65W power supply - it is not enough for A6 processor

Yes it is! take a look at my build again! I updated.....

you can use the 65w power brick! I been using it now!

Watching a 1080P video only goes to 32W

Just been testing .... Wink


Yes I did buy a 90w brick..... but now that one I am going to use it on my next build..... because that one will get stressed when fixing PAR files....
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-24 17:45 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
acegis Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I have been also testing 60W PSU + 60W brick - no way, wathing movies it is only 30W but during the boot process you have a pick to over 100W
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #7
(2012-04-24 18:00)acegis Wrote:  I have been also testing 60W PSU + 60W brick - no way, wathing movies it is only 30W but during the boot process you have a pick to over 100W

So you mean a 60W CPU?

Yes during boot it spikes .... but thats it.... no problems here at my end with the 65W power brick..... I been watching a 50 gig MKV that a test with ..... 1080P
But usually my mkv's are 4 - 12 gigs big...
find quote
acegis Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
OK, slowly :-)
I have a Gigabyte MIB T5140 case and this case has build in power supply 60W (external part + internal part).
And this PSU is not enough to run the A6 3500 CPU - at least in my case.
In my case I need to use an PICO PSU 120W + external brick 12V/100W - then it works.
It is just for you info that 60-65W PSU may work or may not
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #9
65W power brick of the ISK300-65 is enough to handle the A6-3500 under XBMC use...
if your a PRime95 + FurMArk lover,
and run those everyday together for some unkown reasons,
then, 65W wont cut it.

just do like i suggested to Beer40 and get a $8 90w Power Brick Off of EbAy

Sdpbc
: do it right from the start, i know its more money but, a new cooler is worth it and a must!!
OCZ? uh oh,,, Run!!!!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-24 20:44 by eskro.)
find quote
waver123 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #10
Hmm your spike seems higher than mine, I don't think it ever goes more than 80 during boot process for me.

I think we need some A6-Pack fanclub stickers Smile
find quote
acegis Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
anyway... I bricked already my universal 60W brick trying to supply to much amperes to mentioned PICO PSU (and A6 CPU);-)
I was just psssst BOOOM Wink funny
find quote
Seppuku Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
Hey I got the same OCZ, so we'll be in the same club of sadness if they don't work! Smile
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,261
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #13
(2012-04-24 21:20)Seppuku Wrote:  Hey I got the same OCZ, so we'll be in the same club of sadness if they don't work! Smile
Don't worry man.....I installed one of those for more than a year now.....it works flawless so far.....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
waver123 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #14
(2012-04-24 20:45)acegis Wrote:  anyway... I bricked already my universal 60W brick trying to supply to much amperes to mentioned PICO PSU (and A6 CPU);-)
I was just psssst BOOOM Wink funny

wow were you stress testing? prime95?

A 90W replacement would be enough....I opt for the 120W just so I might have more choices when upgrading Wink
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-24 22:10 by waver123.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #15
So trough out the day.... 1080p movies..... all the way with the 65w brick...... no problems what so ever..... so it's ok to use the 65w brick with the a6-3500.... with xbmc ..... and probably some other stuff...
find quote
Post Reply