A6-PACK ☆ ISK 300-90 picoPSU HTPC A6-3500 Very Silent!

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Votes - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #541
(2012-05-10 21:53)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:49)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 19:48)MrKay Wrote:  blu i just got a reply from the link i posted for the 160w pico psu and he said

"Hello,

I don't have any that are ideal for it (160w) as they just don't seem to be available. The only one that I have that will drive it to full capacity is 192w and is listed in my store."


should i go for it

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12-Volt-192W-1...802wt_1132
They replied very quick. It seems to be a very good seller. That should be the correct power brick.......

That part on the BACK to hook up.... looks to big.... you might not be able to use it on the STOCK hole on the case....

You can't. I have mine hanging through the old Power Supply AC connector slot...
(2012-05-10 22:14)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:53)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:49)bluray Wrote:  They replied very quick. It seems to be a very good seller. That should be the correct power brick.......

That part on the BACK to hook up.... looks to big.... you might not be able to use it on the STOCK hole on the case....
I pointed out the bracket for it in post #512......

That bracket will not work with the brick he is looking to get.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-10 22:20 by KraziJoe.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #542
Hey blu..... this one from amazon here is the one from ebay huh?


HERE


I rather buy from Amazon if it comes to it.....

easy returns if anything.....
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #543
(2012-05-10 22:14)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:53)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:49)bluray Wrote:  They replied very quick. It seems to be a very good seller. That should be the correct power brick.......

That part on the BACK to hook up.... looks to big.... you might not be able to use it on the STOCK hole on the case....
I pointed out the bracket for it in post #512......

awesome blu just what i needed for that brick. Now i need to find one in uk or ebay and it has the right cut out hole that will fit that brick
This should do the trick

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PCI-Bracket-fo...309wt_1139
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-10 22:22 by MrKay.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #544
(2012-05-10 18:05)bluray Wrote:  For A6-3500, this one "picoPSU-150-XT + 102W Adapter Power Kit" might be all you need.....and it have the standard adapter....

be careful here,
some power bricks from minibox come with a fan inside
that kicks in when the system is under stress...
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #545
Ok just realized that the antec isk 300 has a half size pcie back plate tho will that fit there witout any mod
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #546
(2012-05-10 22:17)KraziJoe Wrote:  You can't. I have mine hanging through the old Power Supply AC connector slot...
You can easily drill a screw hole and mount it with a wire clamp below. It should be very clean in the back.......

[Image: 24vqz4i.jpg]

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #547
(2012-05-10 22:24)MrKay Wrote:  Ok just realized that the antec isk 300 has a half size pcie back plate tho will that fit there witout any mod

No it won't. They only have the full size plates. But if you are going with the 102 or 120 brick the back hole on the case will fit with the barrel connector.

[Image: 7153042973_5f0f67fbdd.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-10 22:30 by KraziJoe.)
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #548
(2012-05-10 22:25)KraziJoe Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 22:24)MrKay Wrote:  Ok just realized that the antec isk 300 has a half size pcie back plate tho will that fit there witout any mod

No it won't. They only have the full size plates.

Damn it
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #549
(2012-05-10 22:17)KraziJoe Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:53)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:49)bluray Wrote:  They replied very quick. It seems to be a very good seller. That should be the correct power brick.......

That part on the BACK to hook up.... looks to big.... you might not be able to use it on the STOCK hole on the case....

You can't. I have mine hanging through the old Power Supply AC connector slot...

What case model is that on?

As I have an ISK300-150 with a PicoPSU and I was able to secure the power cable (that runs inside the case terminating in the connector that you plug the lead from the brick into) to the back of the case using the small stock hole and the washer on the end of the PicoPSU cable.

No drilling or dangling required!
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #550
(2012-05-10 22:28)jack0w Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 22:17)KraziJoe Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 21:53)Beer40oz Wrote:  That part on the BACK to hook up.... looks to big.... you might not be able to use it on the STOCK hole on the case....

You can't. I have mine hanging through the old Power Supply AC connector slot...

What case model is that on?

As I have an ISK300-150 with a PicoPSU and I was able to secure the power cable (that runs inside the case terminating in the connector that you plug the lead from the brick into) to the back of the case using the small stock hole and the washer on the end of the PicoPSU cable.

No drilling or dangling required!

Upgraded to a 150 and this does not fit.

[Image: ACDC-12V-16A-192W-b1.jpg]
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #551
(2012-05-10 22:24)eskro Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 18:05)bluray Wrote:  For A6-3500, this one "picoPSU-150-XT + 102W Adapter Power Kit" might be all you need.....and it have the standard adapter....

be careful here,
some power bricks from minibox come with a fan inside
that kicks in when the system is under stress...
Some do, but it make very little to no noise.......I have one power brick with fan for my laptop at work.....and I cannot hear the fan from it....

If you get this "192w AC-DC Power Adapter, 12v 16A" for the pico 160, it is fanless......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #552
That's strange.. mine looks nothing like that! Is this a US version or something? Here is a picture of mine
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-10 22:47 by jack0w.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #553
(2012-05-10 22:25)KraziJoe Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 22:24)MrKay Wrote:  Ok just realized that the antec isk 300 has a half size pcie back plate tho will that fit there witout any mod

No it won't. They only have the full size plates. But if you are going with the 102 or 120 brick the back hole on the case will fit with the barrel connector.

[Image: 7153042973_5f0f67fbdd.jpg]

That is what I am talking about... that is clean and you can use the stock hole.

So now I am thinking to get this 120 PICO

HERE EBAY 120 PICO

Just need to find a Brick that I can change the power cord on the back so I can use it in the UK....

Or should I get something higher?

Hope it all works so I can update my POST...
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #554
(2012-05-10 22:38)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 22:25)KraziJoe Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 22:24)MrKay Wrote:  Ok just realized that the antec isk 300 has a half size pcie back plate tho will that fit there witout any mod

No it won't. They only have the full size plates. But if you are going with the 102 or 120 brick the back hole on the case will fit with the barrel connector.

[Image: 7153042973_5f0f67fbdd.jpg]

That is what I am talking about... that is clean and you can use the stock hole.

So now I am thinking to get this 120 PICO

HERE EBAY 120 PICO

Just need to find a Brick that I can change the power cord on the back so I can use it in the UK....

Or should I get something higher?

Hope it all works so I can update my POST...
I am anal about some things, so I went back and got the 150. And now it hangs out of the back and is not nice and neat...
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #555
PICO 120

So this http://www.amazon.com/Mini-Box-picoPSU-1...392&sr=8-2

and

this

BRICK

http://www.amazon.com/Switching-Supply-1...392&sr=8-5
find quote
Post Reply