Frodo or Eden on atv2?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
zinneken Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have eden on atv 4.X - can't remember the exact version of iOS, I didn't keep the os updated, but eden is in its latest version.

I wonder what enhancements there are in upgrading to iOS 5 & Frodo. Is it handling more formats? Does it render better?

How does the hardware handle the new (and I suspect more processor and memory hungry?) OS and frodo? Especially interested on large 720p mkv files?

Does the combo atv2, ios5 and frodo output 1080p or is it still limited to outputting 720p?

Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-13 00:35 by zinneken.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,208
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #2
720p output is a hardware limitation and will never change for the atv2.

Well judging from the complaints i would say - stay on eden if you find it usable.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
nsviper Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
Running Frodo RC3 on my ATV 2's and no issue with it at all, if anything it resolved a couple of buffering issues I was having, and I think (my opinion) the GUI is a lot more responsive as well.

720p MKV with 5.1 surround sound streaming beautifully.

Its a simple upgrade to Frodo - I would recommend it.

2xPi 512mb[XBian][Amber Skin]
QNAP TS410 NAS - 4x2TB Raided with NFS Support & Central MySQL DB
Samsung 46" ES7000 Smart TV & HT-E5550 3D BD Sound System
Solwise 200Mb Powerline adapters

Blog coming soon : XBian/Hyperion/LED Ambient Lights
find quote
hovnarr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I also like frodo better even if it shuts down sometimes. Quicker gui and nice with keysound.

Never got any shut downs while watching movies but when navigating in gui or downloading subtitle.
find quote
kobyboy Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
May I ask you what is the fastest skin? Ive tried many but can not narrow down the best GUI and features.
Cirrius 3 and default confluence skin work well with no crashes.What skin are you currently using?
find quote
stubbed Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: New Zealand
Post: #6
(2013-01-14 13:55)nsviper Wrote:  Its a simple upgrade to Frodo - I would recommend it.

Totally agree with all points. Frodo is an improvement over Eden on ATV2.
find quote
logan_x50 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2013-01-15 21:45)stubbed Wrote:  
(2013-01-14 13:55)nsviper Wrote:  Its a simple upgrade to Frodo - I would recommend it.

Totally agree with all points. Frodo is an improvement over Eden on ATV2.

Eden is more stable imho. I get frequent crashes when browsing through my library with Frodo and occasionally while playing movie.

However, as simple as they are the features I I love in Frodo are the sound when navigating and the key press fix. I wouldn't want to go back to Eden so I'm hoping Frodo stable release will fix my issues...if not I'll dig deeper with the help of the forum to see work out what's going on.
find quote
nsviper Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #8
logan_x50 - it may be skin related.

I know from experience that if you're using a "heavier" skin on the ATV 2's (i.e. Aeon Nox) then trying to skip thru the library too quickly (i.e. lots of screen updates) can crash it.

May be worth a try?

2xPi 512mb[XBian][Amber Skin]
QNAP TS410 NAS - 4x2TB Raided with NFS Support & Central MySQL DB
Samsung 46" ES7000 Smart TV & HT-E5550 3D BD Sound System
Solwise 200Mb Powerline adapters

Blog coming soon : XBian/Hyperion/LED Ambient Lights
find quote
dieselboy27 Offline
Fan
Posts: 364
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #9
Maybe try complete uninstall of xbmc and reinstall frodo fresh.
find quote
homerjs Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I was hesitant until reading this, I am still on Eden and ios 4.3Confused old version. So I think I will the ios version the same and update to Frodo...anybody try Metropolis with Frodo? it is the skin I am currently using and don't want to change from it. Thanks
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,171
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #11
I think the only major issues Frodo has on ATV2 is when it comes to music (no gapless playback) and if you only have AC3 audio tracks and don't have a TV or receiver that can handle them (requiring XBMC to transcode AC3, which is currently broken). Overall, I think most people will either be able to work around this or it won't come up as an issue in their situations.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-16 06:01 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
nsviper Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #12
(2013-01-16 03:07)homerjs Wrote:  I was hesitant until reading this, I am still on Eden and ios 4.3Confused old version. So I think I will the ios version the same and update to Frodo...anybody try Metropolis with Frodo? it is the skin I am currently using and don't want to change from it. Thanks

Yes Metropolis works fine with Frodo - I used it as my main skin before I moved over to Hybrid.

Really annoys the wife with me swapping between skins all the time testing them out Wink

2xPi 512mb[XBian][Amber Skin]
QNAP TS410 NAS - 4x2TB Raided with NFS Support & Central MySQL DB
Samsung 46" ES7000 Smart TV & HT-E5550 3D BD Sound System
Solwise 200Mb Powerline adapters

Blog coming soon : XBian/Hyperion/LED Ambient Lights
find quote
Manuel_W Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Leipzig
Post: #13
(2013-01-16 11:22)nsviper Wrote:  Metropolis works fine with Frodo
no it dosn't yet. I used Metropolis for a while with Frodo on my ATV2. XBMC is crashing after 1-2 Day running with Metropolis. I switched back to Confluence (Moded) and XMBC is running over 2 weeks now without crashing. I thing Metropolis have a Memleak or something else, so it can't run more then 1-2 Days on ATV2 without a restart.

I have to say, i love Metropolis really and when it is back to stable on Frodo i'll use it again.
find quote
nsviper Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #14
(2013-01-16 12:38)Manuel_W Wrote:  
(2013-01-16 11:22)nsviper Wrote:  Metropolis works fine with Frodo
no it dosn't yet. I used Metropolis for a while with Frodo on my ATV2. XBMC is crashing after 1-2 Day running with Metropolis. I switched back to Confluence (Moded) and XMBC is running over 2 weeks now without crashing. I thing Metropolis have a Memleak or something else, so it can't run more then 1-2 Days on ATV2 without a restart.

I have to say, i love Metropolis really and when it is back to stable on Frodo i'll use it again.

Thats weird - I didn't have any issues on my ATV'2 with Metropolis. Bouncing around the menus, in and out of movies/tv shows and switching view types all seemed ok to me.

2xPi 512mb[XBian][Amber Skin]
QNAP TS410 NAS - 4x2TB Raided with NFS Support & Central MySQL DB
Samsung 46" ES7000 Smart TV & HT-E5550 3D BD Sound System
Solwise 200Mb Powerline adapters

Blog coming soon : XBian/Hyperion/LED Ambient Lights
find quote
homerjs Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
hmm. torn now...maybe I'll wait
find quote
Post Reply