Mac OS X - Problem with SMB protocol after updating to Mac OS Maverick

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,644
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #61
@VonMagnum mind removing that howto? We have a sane howto in our wiki already. Just in case anything changes the wiki will get updates - your post won't and might result in further support because someone uses your "in that case" outdated instructions.

If your instructions differ in any way to what we have in the wiki - speak up or just change it your self in the wiki.

Thx.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
knaapjen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #62
Fixxed the problem using NFS Manager. I downloaded it from: http://www.bresink.com/osx/NFSManager.html

Tried the NFS guide, but it was to difficult to execute for me. (also with help from the wiki... i didn't understand)

Thanks guys for all the help and solutions!
find quote
VonMagnum Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #63
(2013-11-18 12:45)Memphiz Wrote:  @VonMagnum mind removing that howto? We have a sane howto in our wiki already. Just in case anything changes the wiki will get updates - your post won't and might result in further support because someone uses your "in that case" outdated instructions.

If your instructions differ in any way to what we have in the wiki - speak up or just change it your self in the wiki.

Thx.

I removed the section and placed a link to the Wiki, but the post right after yours indicates it's too complicated (i.e. I was just trying to simplify down to the actual three basic steps required and avoid all the explanations and "whys" that make people think it's overly complex when it's really just adding -N to a file required by XBMC and creating a text file (exports) with the list of drives and then starting the system up with a command.

But then maybe any text editing is too complicated for some these days. I thought NFS Manager was pretty obtuse in its terminology (they should look at Apple's easy setup for sharing to see how 'simple' should look), but the biggest problem there was it didn't work and there was nothing to indicate that "privileged ports" had to be turned off. If it has to be off, WTF is it enabled by NFS Manger by default? I'm glad I didn't pay for it because it didn't work and it took me a fraction of the time to just do the three steps to manually enable it and I've had zero issues since. NFS behaves much better than SMBUp did with no time-outs as my media drive wakes from sleep. Overall, it's just better. And now I can leave Apple's SMB2 alone for use with other Macs and Windows machines.
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-19 18:56 by VonMagnum.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,644
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #64
Then we need to make the wiki more easy somehow. (i know its hard to read about stuff you don't have a clue about - but it makes perfectly sense to write it that way once you know what you are talking about Wink ).

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
majorsl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #65
I really wish Apple would get their act together on the SMB offerings.

Just want to add that I was back up and running using NFS manager in less than 20 minutes. The warnings on the NFS Manager site don't really apply for our purposes here.

For sharing, really all it does is write the /etc/exports file for you.

Also, I'm using OS X server and if you do this, and use NetBoot sets, those are also NFS shares. Don't delete or edit the ones you find because you'll probably break your server's netboot service. You can add shares either manually or with NFS Manager and they'll happily co-exist.
find quote
VonMagnum Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #66
(2013-11-24 03:47)majorsl Wrote:  I really wish Apple would get their act together on the SMB offerings.

Frodo 12.3 works fine with Apple's SMB2 now as far I've used it (My gen1 AppleTVs still use Eden, though since I don't want to boot off a thumb drive right now). I still prefer NFS but Mavericks ignores NFS for going to sleep and so you either have to disable sleep or not use NFS. I have sleep disabled for now except for manual sleep. I've sent Apple feedback about this, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
find quote
cavamora Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #67
Heeeelp!

I was happily using NFS to share my files from my macmini to my atv2 with xbmc.
After upgrading to 10.9.2, its not working anymore.

In zeroconf, xbmc can see there is a NFS share in my mac, but when i chose the option, xbmc cant show the shares.

Tried with Frodo and an alpha from gothan (2 different atvs).

Also, I used timemachine to go back to 10.9.1, but NFS is still not working...
This, I really did not expected...
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 860
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #68
(2014-03-08 12:44)cavamora Wrote:  Heeeelp!

I was happily using NFS to share my files from my macmini to my atv2 with xbmc.
After upgrading to 10.9.2, its not working anymore.

In zeroconf, xbmc can see there is a NFS share in my mac, but when i chose the option, xbmc cant show the shares.

Tried with Frodo and an alpha from gothan (2 different atvs).

Also, I used timemachine to go back to 10.9.1, but NFS is still not working...
This, I really did not expected...

Have you tried SMB?

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.0/Aeon Nox 5.0/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
cavamora Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #69
Trying a work around with macpprts and samba3. Its working, but need some more testing...
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 860
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #70
(2014-03-08 17:00)cavamora Wrote:  Trying a work around with macpprts and samba3. Its working, but need some more testing...

Ok. Just an FYI though, SMB is working fine with Mavericks using Frodo 12.3 or Gotham beta1. You may need to manually enter the ip of the source though.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.0/Aeon Nox 5.0/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
cavamora Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #71
Thanks for the info. I was trying with the name with no success...
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 860
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #72
(2014-03-08 17:08)cavamora Wrote:  Thanks for the info. I was trying with the name with no success...

The only problem I had getting it to work was that I had to use my full user name rather than the short name.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.0/Aeon Nox 5.0/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
Post Reply