Runtime error on startup

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Lacertus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Sad  Runtime error on startup, XBMC doesn't load at all.
Post: #1
Effects: When I run XBMC, I first get this dialog

[Image: Screenshot_1.jpg]

then this

[Image: Screenshot_2.jpg]

I can't see the XBMC window or full screen overlay in any way, it simply crashes.

I googled for the error and found some runtime files (msvcr71.dll) which I placed in my system32 folder. Didn't help. Tried different video drivers. Didn't help.

Version: 8.10 (just downloaded it)
OS: Vista Ultimate SP1, fully updated, 32bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7200
RAM: 2 GB
Video: Nvidia Geforce 8600M. Newest drivers.
Sound: Integrated. Newest drivers.
Other devices.: None.

How to reproduce: Just starting XBMC. Also as Administrator.

Debug log: http://pastebin.com/f5913ce0a
(This post was last modified: 2009-02-15 22:11 by Lacertus.)
find quote
hookman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Your debug log finishes at the same point as mine loading the language file. If I find out what is wrong I'll let you know in case it helps for you as well.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=45472
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,733
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #3
Please use the search!
The advice is to use the latest third party build from the sticky as it includes all needed dlls.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Lacertus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
WiSo Wrote:Please use the search!
The advice is to use the latest third party build from the sticky as it includes all needed dlls.

Thanks.

I just uninstalled 8.10 and installed the (hopefully latest) XBMCSetup-Rev17767.exe from ikons.

I now see a small glimpse of the window before it crashes. Same error message Log will follow.
find quote
hookman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Try installing the latest graphics card drivers from the nvidia site if you're not running the latest. That was what fixed my problem.
find quote
macardi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #6
Have you tried to delete the <calibration> blocks in guisettings.xml as described in this thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=44386
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #7
and try my builds, they include the .dlls ikons doesn't.....

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
Lacertus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
macardi Wrote:Have you tried to delete the <calibration> blocks in guisettings.xml as described in this thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=44386

Tried that, didn't work Sad

I'm running the newest drivers from my laptop manufacturer.
find quote
dlmh Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 5
Post: #9
Try deleting the XBMC folder in "[user]/AppData/Roaming". (in Vista anyway).

I get that error frequently and it has something to do with changing videocards/displays/displaysettings. Delete afore mentioned folder and XBMC will start with default settings.
find quote
Lacertus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
dlmh, tried deleting the folder. It still crashes. Thank you for the suggestion.
find quote
hookman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
You could try renaming (or deleting) the main guisettings.xml file within the main application folder.

It seems to fix my issues, I'm not enitrely sure how XBMC decides whether to use the xml files from the user settings folder or the local application folder.
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,733
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #12
xbmc.exe -> $APPDATA
xbmc.exe -p -> installation folder

clean profile.xml when switching between with -p and without

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote