[REQUEST] BBC iPlayer (Video) Plugin or Script?

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
lewis Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #991
dink Wrote:You could try the mplayer GUI or VLC which should work as well and provide a GUI
Cheers
Dink

I do use mplayer GUI but control XBMC using a remote and cant / dont want to setup the remote for mplayer, not a problem just hope it plays natively in XBMC when i get the latest SVN

Many thanks again
find
totalhysteria Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #992
Hi,

I have been experimenting with this brilliant plugin, and have managed to get the hd content to load. But once I change the default stream type, the video gets played at about 3 x the speed, although the audio remains normal.

I will admit that I have very little python knowledge, so I've probably cocked up somewhere!
find
strut Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #993
Rocky5 Wrote:Am getting a new error now
Code:
Failed to fetch URL
http://feeds.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/bbc_one/list

does this for all of them.

ok its bbc iplayers website it seems to be down.

Has anyone else who is getting this managed to solve this?
I'm using IPlayer-2009-04-29 and XBMC-SVN_2009-04-23_rev19585-T3CH-9.04-BETA1 and I get this every time I click on any BBC channel (TV or Radio)?
However, if I paste the link (http://feeds.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/bbc_one/list) into my browser I get the full list of programmes for e.g. BBC one.
(This post was last modified: 2009-04-30 00:16 by strut.)
find
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #994
totalhysteria Wrote:Hi,

I have been experimenting with this brilliant plugin, and have managed to get the hd content to load. But once I change the default stream type, the video gets played at about 3 x the speed, although the audio remains normal.

I will admit that I have very little python knowledge, so I've probably cocked up somewhere!

It's not a python issue rather XBMC itself isn't capable of playing the BBC Iplayer H.264 streams yet. Hopefully soon, just not yet

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #995
strut Wrote:Has anyone else who is getting this managed to solve this?
I'm using IPlayer-2009-04-29 and XBMC-SVN_2009-04-23_rev19585-T3CH-9.04-BETA1 and I get this every time I click on any BBC channel (TV or Radio)?
However, if I paste the link (http://feeds.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/bbc_one/list) into my browser I get the full list of programmes for e.g. BBC one.

Really need a log file to help answer this (preferably a debug log)

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find
lewis Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #996
dink Wrote:You didn't think there would be a third option, but there is. It is working for some streams e.g. BBC 1 , 2, 3 ... The national radio streams use wmv which XBMC at least on Windows SVN19783 can play. The regional stations almost all use Real (rtsp://) which XBMC on Windows and Linux can't handle.

So going forward. I suggest that if you can't listen to Radio 1 -> 7 then get a build SVN19783 or newer. On the problem with the rest of the stations I'm looking to see if using an external player is a viable solution/hack (with the current version of the plugin it isn't as the list of live stations use urls which point back to the plugin). Watch this space.

Cheers
Dink

Hi
I upgraded to SVN19820 and have the latest version of the plugin (with the option to play externally) when I try to listen live to radio 1 not using the external player I see a message saying opening stream about 3 times and then get and playback error and the stream doesnt play. I am presuming that this should work as I am using a later version of XBMC than 19783?
Let me know if you can help fix this?

Thanks
find
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #997
lewis Wrote:Hi
I upgraded to SVN19820 and have the latest version of the plugin (with the option to play externally) when I try to listen live to radio 1 not using the external player I see a message saying opening stream about 3 times and then get and playback error and the stream doesnt play. I am presuming that this should work as I am using a later version of XBMC than 19783?
Let me know if you can help fix this?

Thanks

Ok I'm unable to explain that one. Can you try the windows build at http://drop.io/xbmcwindowsbuildthatworkswithmms It's SVN:19846, I've just built it, and it works fine for me on a couple of different machines. If it doesn't work can you post a debug log using http://pastebin.com/

Quick poll is this working for anyone else? or indeed not work on a Windows or Linux build post SVN19783

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find
lewis Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #998
dink Wrote:Ok I'm unable to explain that one. Can you try the windows build at http://drop.io/xbmcwindowsbuildthatworkswithmms It's SVN:19846, I've just built it, and it works fine for me on a couple of different machines. If it doesn't work can you post a debug log using http://pastebin.com/

Quick poll is this working for anyone else? or indeed not work on a Windows or Linux build post SVN19783

Cheers
Dink

Brilliant! That SVN works fine, will stick with that for a bit! Thanks so much for all your help Dink
find
zag Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,685
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Location: UK
Post: #999
Just trying to install this, I've read the wiki page but there don't seem to be specific instructions on how to install it.

I've copied the iplayer plugin into c:\program files\xbmc\plugins\programs

then added it to the videos source inside the GUI, now what?
find
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #1000
zag2me Wrote:Just trying to install this, I've read the wiki page but there don't seem to be specific instructions on how to install it.

I've copied the iplayer plugin into c:\program files\xbmc\plugins\programs

then added it to the videos source inside the GUI, now what?

Try copying it into c:\program files\xbmc\plugins\video . That way it will show up as a video plugin. When selecting a source scroll to the bottom of the list for "video plugins". Adding a directory location will not work.

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #1001
Hi Folks

Some really good news thanks to Frosty and Elupus XBMC since SVN:20015 can now handle H.264 content from the BBC IPlayer.

The IPlayer plugin now supports 4 video modes:
  • H.264 1280x720 3200kbps (720p)
  • H.264 832x468 1500kbps
  • H.264 640x360 796kbps
  • VP6 640x360 512 kbps (previous max)
At the moment the top end stream isn't available on most programmes. If this is the case the plugin will fallback to the next available. Stream selection is made via plugin settings.

To access these new streams you will need an XBMC build with SVN:20015 (7th May) and probably a plugin update. The plugin and a suitable XBMC Windows build can be found at http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-iplayerv2/downloads/list

One other bonus of the fix to XBMC is that high quality AAC is now supported for Radio Catchup. This is selectable via the plugin settings and will fallback to mp3 if not available for that stream.

I havn't yet tested this functionality with an XBox so can't give any guidance on any of these H.264 streams playing on that platform. I certainly don't expect the 1500kbps & 3200kbps to play.

Cheers
Dink

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
(This post was last modified: 2009-05-07 11:27 by dink.)
find
Avigrace Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1002
and last night I just got the new version of XBMC installed with iPlayer for the first time, time to upgrade Big Grin

iPlayer in HD will be awesome, can't wait to try it out.

Do you have any plans to create a similar plugin for Channel 4 and 5?
find
dink Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 265
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #1003
One of the few episodes currently in 720p HD is BBC1 : Robin Hood : Do You Love Me?

No plans, certainly Channel 4 unlike the BBC seem unfriendly to non official software.

Cheers
Dink

Avigrace Wrote:and last night I just got the new version of XBMC installed with iPlayer for the first time, time to upgrade Big Grin

iPlayer in HD will be awesome, can't wait to try it out.

Do you have any plans to create a similar plugin for Channel 4 and 5?

-----------------------------------------
BBC IPlayer[url=http://drop.io/xbmcdink][/url] Plugin
find
lewis.donofrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: -10
Post: #1004
Would be cool if someone knew a uk proxy setting that worked - I'm in the states and have yet to get proxy to work on my xbox/xbmc/iplayer )-:
find
PantsOnFire Offline
Fan
Posts: 599
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #1005
an interesting read about bbc iplayer HD here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/bbcinternet/2...highe.html

I just tried the Robin Hood video mentioned, yeah it looks pretty good. The highest quality setting made this video look like a 'very good' tv signal. Didn't really remind me of my experience with bbc hd on my tv but it's a lot better. The flash videos from before.. they were ok when things were still (like interviews), but as we know.. got a bit blocky when lots of motion happened. That's the bitrates fault I'm guessing..?

The numbers speak for themselves, this is the most popular vid plugin (at least in the UK). Great work Dink.

by the way, 'Auto' setting for video... how does that work, does it look at your internet speed and pick a setting accordingly? Or is more concerned with choosing whichever video quality setting the video is available for?

just checked the 'in the browser' version of the same video. Looks a *bit* nicer. The xbmc plugin definitely not to be sniffed at tho! Big Grin

great work!
(This post was last modified: 2009-05-07 22:46 by PantsOnFire.)
find
Thread Closed