Help setting up remote XBMCLIVE 10.1
Hi been reading through the forums for a while now getting my acer revo all set up and running and most is done but really struggling to get my head around setting up my remote

I have a HP media centre remote this one but for the life of me i cant get it running

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to linux but am ok with most other things

Here is what i have done so far firstly installed xbmclive10.1 and tried everything i read up on to get it going then a friend suggested i try xbmcfreak so i gave that ago and joy it worked exactly how i wanted it to with out having to change any settings.

But the problem i had then was that there is a bug with this release and on the revo 3700 you cant get any sound so i set off reading everything to get that going but failed again Sad

So i ftp'd everything from my freak set up to my pc then reinstalled xbmclive10.1 and i've been trying to compare for any differences to do with lirc but everything is the same but i changed the files for the freak ones onto my current 10.1 set up but still no go

I have now been searching and found it could be to with mceusb files so searching for them i have found one in the following location

\lib\modules\2.6.38-7-generic\kernel\drivers\media\rc

trouble is i dont have this folder on my current set up so i'm guessing something else needs to be installed

but haven't got a clue No

I'm sure and hoping it's me being really stupid and it's something that i've missed out on but just don't know what
Hi fanni

I have had quite a lot of problems with getting the remote to work with XBMC Live too. I always managed to get it to work, but every time a reinstall or install another package it's back to square one...

I used 2 methods to get my remote to work. BTW i have the white Philips Remote so i don't know if my advise helps you, but it may at least point you in a specific direction.