Seeking Advice on Next Steps...
Hello all. I just got into HTPCs and I am really enjoying myself. It's great to find a community like this one with helpful/friendly participants. Like I said, I am new to the game and I am using a really old desktop which I will link below so you can get a feel for the specs.

My Beater

To that I have added an ATI Radeon HD 5670 and a WD green 2TB hard disk.

This old machine is taxed pretty hard because it not only is the storage and playback box in one, it is also the download box running couch potato, sickbeard, SABnzbd, EmberMedia, etc.

My problem is the video is choppy as hell if I am running 720p or above and the other apps are running. Or if uTorrent or SABnzbd are sucking down content at 1.5MBps. Now, if I reboot and prevent the above apps from running (via scheduling) then the video will play fine at 720p, but I hate having to reboot my machine each time I want to watch something beautiful.

I would really like to have a two piece setup where I have a dedicated HTPC and a separate NAS.

OK, for those of you that are still reading I would like to know how would you proceed if you were me and you had around 400-500 to spend on an upgrade. I think there are two options, but if you think there are more please let me know...

1. Keep my current rig as the HTPC, purchase a budget NAS and use the current WD Green 2TB as one of the NAS drives.

2. Purchase another WD Green 2TB and put it in my current rig and use it as a NAS and purchase one of the HTPC setups that Eskro and Poofy have recommended.

I certainly look forward to your honest feedback and thank you in advance.
You know your current PC can handle the downloading/sharing side of things but struggles with HD content so I would use that as a server and build a newer HTPC.