My Pictures Database not indexing any pictures

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jhoude Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

A while ago, I used My Pictures Database (MyPicsDB) and I really liked it, but that was Pre-Dharma. However, now I can't use it because it doesn't find any pictures.

No matter what folder I configure for scan, it doesn't find anything. I tried on Linux and Macs, same result. Same plugin version on both OS, 0.5.1.

Not sure what information could be useful as this is pretty straight forward. I configured the Folder to scan in the Add-on settings, checked Perform scan now and Use the picture as fanart for pictures. Minimum required rate is set to all.

In the plugin itself I added a path to Paths for pictures folders. This is the same path I added in the Add-on settings.

Hints would be appreciated. Let me know if you need more info!

Thanks

J-P
find quote
Robotica Offline
Banned
Posts: 1,202
Joined: Aug 2010
Post: #2
Try this topic: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=80845
find quote
jhoude Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Robotica Wrote:Try this topic: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=80845

I saw it earlier and read a good part of it (didn't read it completely), but it seems more feature focus. Unless there is a specific post you want me to take a look at, I don't think it will help.

Thanks anyway.

J-P
find quote
gifton Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I have been trying to get this addon to work, without much success. When I ask it to scan my pictures (which are all on a network drive ) it comes up with nothing. I can view the photos and it is the same drive I use for music and movies which have no problems, but I just can't get "my pictures" to work. Anyone got it working? I Am running XBMC on Apple TV 1 but I have also tried it on PC
find quote
mgmartin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks for putting this addon together, it is filling a distinct hole in XBMC's capabilities.

I've noticed that the browse_folder function scanpath.py tends to bomb out at the stat functions if it encounters any files or folders without read permissions.
This is probably OS-specific and partially a user issue...
HOWEVER - In the name of bulletproofing, would it be possible to insert some exception trapping per-file or per-folder ?
I crudely hacked some try/except blocks around the code to enable it to scan my pics, but this might be handled more elegantly by the original authors.

Thanks again !
find quote
umanbean Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2011-09-18 01:22)gifton Wrote:  I have been trying to get this addon to work, without much success. When I ask it to scan my pictures (which are all on a network drive ) it comes up with nothing. I can view the photos and it is the same drive I use for music and movies which have no problems, but I just can't get "my pictures" to work. Anyone got it working? I Am running XBMC on Apple TV 1 but I have also tried it on PC


Same problem for me -very little help provided for setting this up. Why can't you just browse to the folder where your pictures are stored. This addon doesn't seem to do that!
find quote
doug Offline
Donor
Posts: 151
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #7
This is what I did to configure it:
  1. From your home screen select the Add-ons submenu under Pictures.
  2. Select My Pictures Database
  3. Select Paths of picture folders (2nd last item)
  4. Select Add a path to database
  5. Navigate into the picture folder you want to add
  6. Press OK
  7. Select Yes for the next three dialog boxes (or configure as you desire)
  8. Wait while it scans
  9. (repeat as needed for any additional folders you wish to add)

That's it. It should work for you now.
find quote
bernardo.fortes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Using the steps above in a Mac Mini.

Via SMB it didn`t work
Via Volume mapping it appears to be working (still scanning)
find quote
jopie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
I also could not get it to work on a Mac Mini using SMB. It would start scanning and immediately tell me 0 pictures were found. How do I set up the volume mapping?
find quote