New to ATV2

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
23diablo23 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'm trying to set a ATV2 up for a friend that does not have a network at home. I know you cannot hook a USB HDD to the ATV2, but can you hook a NAS up to it with a crossover cable? Anyone try this? The other option is to put a router between them but don't want to waste the money if we don't need to.

Thanks!
23Diablo23
find quote
Nefarious1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I have not personally tried it, but logic says it would work.
find quote
amet Offline
How do ya like them apples?
Posts: 3,943
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 37
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #3
yeah, provided you set static IP on both


Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
find quote
SandmanCL Offline
Multi-platform XBMC fan
Posts: 594
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 1
Location: San Francisco, CA
Post: #4
If you have a NAS with an auto-uplink network port you don't even need a crossover cable. A regular straight-through cat5 would do.

However, I would assume that you'd pay more for a NAS than you would for an external hard drive and a router with a USB port to connect the hard drive to. I've seen 2TB external drives for less than $100 and I picked up my Wireless G router a year ago for $40 so I'm sure you can find them much cheaper today.
find quote
xbs08 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,555
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Portugal
Post: #5
@SandmanCL
What's your router model?

I'm using one from my ISP but only supports FAT32 and it's damn slow (write).

TIA

Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH | Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB | SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD | Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
find quote
SandmanCL Offline
Multi-platform XBMC fan
Posts: 594
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 1
Location: San Francisco, CA
Post: #6
Not at home right now so I'm not positive of the router model but it is a Netgear router that I have flashed with dd-wrt. This may be outside the scope of what the OP wants but I know several routers provide access to a USB mounted drive.
find quote