Where can I set the bottomline RSS feed?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
tripkip Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Location: Belgium
Thumbs Up  Where can I set the bottomline RSS feed?
Post: #1
As the title suggests,

where can I set the bottomline RSS feed for this awesome skin?

Synology DS413 | ASUS AT5IONT-I | Yamaha V673 | Dali Zensor 5 5.1 | LG 50PK950
CouchPotato client iOS
Twitter
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Thumbs Up   
Post: #2
tripkip Wrote:As the title suggests,

where can I set the bottomline RSS feed for this awesome skin?


You have to edit the /userdata/rssfeeds.xml file - I've posted mine below as an example. The items in set id="2" will display on the bottom feed.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<rssfeeds>
  <!--RSS feeds. To have multiple feeds, just add a feed to the set. You can also have multiple sets.-->
  <!--To use different sets in your skin, each must be called from skin with a unique id.-->
  <set id="1">
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://rss.cnn.com/rss/cnn_topstories.rss</feed>
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://feeds.feedburner.com/xbmc</feed>
  </set>
  <set id="2">
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://www.mpiii.com/scores/mlb.php</feed>
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://www.mpiii.com/scores/nfl.php</feed>
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://www.mpiii.com/scores/ncaa.php</feed>
  </set>
</rssfeeds>

Hope that helps.
find quote
rflores2323 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,918
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
My bottom rss line is not working on the latest stable build. has this been disabled?

I am trying to add my sharethe.tv rss feed and it doesnt work. I also tried to put it on the top rss feed and it doesnt work either. Does anyone have this feed working with neon?

ATV1 with crystalbuntu (12.2 frodo) as main theater. Theater remote URC MX-810, droidx with xbmc remote, or transformer tf101 with YATSE. 3 x ATV2 (V12.2 frodo).

(This post was last modified: 2011-06-18 23:21 by rflores2323.)
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #4
rflores2323 Wrote:My bottom rss line is not working on the latest stable build. has this been disabled?

I am trying to add my sharethe.tv rss feed and it doesnt work. I also tried to put it on the top rss feed and it doesnt work either. Does anyone have this feed working with neon?

Nothing has been changed on my end...
find quote
paak Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
My top line feed works, I've added feeds from several different sites. However, I've never tried to enable the bottom line feed.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #6
rflores2323 Wrote:My bottom rss line is not working on the latest stable build. has this been disabled?

I am trying to add my sharethe.tv rss feed and it doesnt work. I also tried to put it on the top rss feed and it doesnt work either. Does anyone have this feed working with neon?

It has something to do with Sharethe.tv - the rss feeds from other locations are working fine, top or bottom placement.
find quote
rflores2323 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,918
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
stoli Wrote:It has something to do with Sharethe.tv - the rss feeds from other locations are working fine, top or bottom placement.

thanks. I will contact them to see whats up. Also what size should the image be for the bottom feed?

ATV1 with crystalbuntu (12.2 frodo) as main theater. Theater remote URC MX-810, droidx with xbmc remote, or transformer tf101 with YATSE. 3 x ATV2 (V12.2 frodo).

find quote
vdrfan Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,837
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 8
Location: Germany
Post: #8
Why is this a "sticky" ?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #9
vdrfan Wrote:Why is this a "sticky" ?

Only because the "bottom line" rss feed is unique to this skin. There is the standard RSS feed on the top of the screen and then the option to have a second rss feed on the bottom of the screen, utilizing the <set id="2"> option in the rssfeeeds.xml file. Even with the rss editor there is not a way to use rss sets without manually editing the xml.

I use the top for the the standard xbmc feed and another from bbc news while the bottom one is strictly sports scores. That one is also available while watching videos with a simple press of a button...

Example:

[Image: screenshot026.png]
(This post was last modified: 2011-06-20 18:02 by stoli.)
find quote
rflores2323 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,918
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #10
Also what size should the image be for the bottom feed?

ATV1 with crystalbuntu (12.2 frodo) as main theater. Theater remote URC MX-810, droidx with xbmc remote, or transformer tf101 with YATSE. 3 x ATV2 (V12.2 frodo).

find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #11
The current one on is 217x25, but the only part the really matters visually is the height of 25, width can be whatever you wish.
find quote
MWRecords Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Iowa
Post: #12
Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am new to xbmc. Where would I go to edit this file? I am using XBMC live on an acer aspire revo.


stoli Wrote:You have to edit the /userdata/rssfeeds.xml file - I've posted mine below as an example. The items in set id="2" will display on the bottom feed.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<rssfeeds>
  <!--RSS feeds. To have multiple feeds, just add a feed to the set. You can also have multiple sets.-->
  <!--To use different sets in your skin, each must be called from skin with a unique id.-->
  <set id="1">
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://rss.cnn.com/rss/cnn_topstories.rss</feed>
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://feeds.feedburner.com/xbmc</feed>
  </set>
  <set id="2">
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://www.mpiii.com/scores/mlb.php</feed>
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://www.mpiii.com/scores/nfl.php</feed>
    <feed updateinterval="30">http://www.mpiii.com/scores/ncaa.php</feed>
  </set>
</rssfeeds>

Hope that helps.
find quote
bertybassett Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #13
sorry just noticed by question as already been answered in this thread
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-06 16:59 by bertybassett.)
find quote
megaskywarp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
"I use the top for the the standard xbmc feed and another from bbc news while the bottom one is strictly sports scores. That one is also available while watching videos with a simple press of a button..."


What button?
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-05 03:16 by megaskywarp.)
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #15
Would you believe I don't remember? I'll have to check it out this weekend as it's been a long time since I have used that feature. I believe I changed the key mapping.
find quote
Post Reply