[RELEASE] xbmclyrics script - automatically grabs lyrics online

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #286
detroitdr Wrote:No it did not auto scroll before.

thanks!

anyone interested to have it scrolling?what skins are supporting the lyrics button?

I am new to lyrics script and so far I only saw Transparency and PM3.HD have a lyrics button.

Zeljko

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
find
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,158
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #287
great! thanx a bunch for fixing this!!

Amet Wrote:anyone interested to have it scrolling?

would it make sense? there's no way to sync the scrollspeed to the song, so for some songs it'll scroll too fast and for others it will scroll too slow.

just a thought. ;-)

Amet Wrote:I am new to lyrics script and so far I only saw Transparency and PM3.HD have a lyrics button.

one question, the old lyrics script was using a textbox (id=100) to display the lyrics but your new script seems to be using a list (id=110)?

the benefit of using a textbox control is that long lines of text will automatically continue on the next line when they exceed the <width> value.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find
ArtVandalay7 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #288
Awesome work Zeljko...thanks very much!
find
detroitdr Offline
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #289
Also the lyrics don't seem to be saving to the HD. every time you start the same song it pulls the lyrics from online. Can you get it to save to the directory the settings have setup for it?

A SIDE OPTION: Can you make it scrape all songs and pull all lyrics one time!?!?!
THAT would be amazing!
find
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #290
New, fixed version http://opensubtitles-osd.googlecode.com/..._1.7.4.zip

@Ronie

using ID 100 now and no scroling Smile

OT, why cant we select the script path under skin settings --> scripts? It seems to be the problem in the latest builds.

@detroitdr

saving to file now, please test and let me know

I am not sure who is maintaining this on SVN repo but it wouldnt be a bad idea to update it there. I can commit there but I wouldnt want to piss off the original developers Smile

EDIT: I just looked and this is not in SVN repo Sad , it is hosted at http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-scripting/

Zeljko

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
(This post was last modified: 2009-10-24 17:43 by amet.)
find
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #291
ArtVandalay7 Wrote:Awesome work Zeljko...thanks very much!

NP Smile

I just fixed it up ... All credit to original authors

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
find
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,158
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #292
Amet Wrote:New, fixed version http://opensubtitles-osd.googlecode.com/..._1.7.4.zip

@Ronie

using ID 100 now and no scroling Smile

nice, thanx!

Amet Wrote:OT, why cant we select the script path under skin settings --> scripts? It seems to be the problem in the latest builds.

no problem on my end using r23802, i'll update xbmc in a bit to see if it's an issue in newer builds.

Amet Wrote:@detroitdr

saving to file now, please test and let me know

working fine again on my end. :-)

Amet Wrote:I am not sure who is maintaining this on SVN repo but it wouldnt be a bad idea to update it there. I can commit there but I wouldnt want to piss off the original developers Smile

EDIT: I just looked and this is not in SVN repo Sad , it is hosted at http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-scripting/

would that be an issue? the svn repo installer will also download scripts from xbmc-scripting. i guess you could contact one of the maintainers for commit access?

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #293
ronie Wrote:nice, thanx!
no problem on my end using r23802, i'll update xbmc in a bit to see if it's an issue in newer builds.

the problem on my end is that I dont see the root folder, Macintosh drive on Mac, so I cant select Home/scripts folder to get to it.

I edited guisettings.xml to add the path to script.


ronie Wrote:working fine again on my end. :-)
Thanks for the confirmation


ronie Wrote:would that be an issue? the svn repo installer will also download scripts from xbmc-scripting. i guess you could contact one of the maintainers for commit access?

I know, I could always add it to "xbmc-addons" but it was nuka's project on xbmc-scripting and I wouldnt want to piss him off.I will send him a PM and find out.

Cheers
Zeljko

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
find
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,158
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #294
Amet Wrote:the problem on my end is that I dont see the root folder, Macintosh drive on Mac, so I cant select Home/scripts folder to get to it.

i'm not having any issues with 23975 either.
it might be an apple only thing.

i've seen a similar report here.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find
detroitdr Offline
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #295
Amet: Yes saving is working again. Thank-you

Amet and All: Does anyone know of an application (or Amet can you do the following) that will scrap ALL my music and get the lyrics for it in one session. Going into every song on 200 albums in and out and in and out is a LOT of time....

Anyone??
find
fr0zt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #296
XBMC Lyrics isn't working for me on an Xbox. I start to play a song; I select xbmclyrics; and the lyrics bubble pops up where the text should be, but doesn't display the text. It shows how many pages there are and the song name but that's it. Any ideas?
find
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #297
detroitdr Wrote:Amet: Yes saving is working again. Thank-you

NP Smile , Thanks for the confirmation

detroitdr Wrote:Amet and All: Does anyone know of an application (or Amet can you do the following) that will scrap ALL my music and get the lyrics for it in one session.

It would need to be a different script, I am just helping with this ATM , I wouldnt want to start adding features. besides it heavily relies on info tags for a name of the song and the artist, I will look into this...

detroitdr Wrote:Going into every song on 200 albums in and out and in and out is a LOT of time....

Anyone??

when you play a song just push the button and it will download, I dont understand what you mean by "in and out and in and out".

The only thing you are going to archive with batch download is that you dont need the internet connection later to display the lyrics.

or maybe I am not understanding what you want to achieve Sad

Zeljko

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
(This post was last modified: 2009-10-25 08:37 by amet.)
find
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #298
fr0zt Wrote:XBMC Lyrics isn't working for me on an Xbox. I start to play a song; I select xbmclyrics; and the lyrics bubble pops up where the text should be, but doesn't display the text. It shows how many pages there are and the song name but that's it. Any ideas?

does it save the file? is there anything in the file?
what skin are you on, maybe its just not displaying correctly.

Zeljko

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
find
fr0zt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #299
Amet Wrote:does it save the file? is there anything in the file?
what skin are you on, maybe its just not displaying correctly.

Zeljko

It saves the file, but there's no text within the file. I'm using PM3, but if it's not even saving the lyrics properly, that would imply a script problem. Any other ideas?
find
amet Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,113
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 41
Location: Novi Sad / Dubai
Post: #300
fr0zt Wrote:It saves the file, but there's no text within the file. I'm using PM3, but if it's not even saving the lyrics properly, that would imply a script problem. Any other ideas?

Post the log, let me see if it crashes somewhere.

is that happening with all the songs or just that one? what is the song?

Always read the XBMC_Online_Manual,Frequently_Asked_Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log_file.
find
Thread Closed