[MOD] Cirrus Extended v2

  Thread Rating:
  • 13 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
TheHazel3yes Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2671
butchabay Wrote:Don't understand why we have to look at the paused screenshot btw.

I wouldn't care for it either if it would only concern paused state, but it is displayed when pressing the "info" button on the MCE too, where the movie isn't paused. As said before, this was a great way to look how long the movie is going to remain, because the info was big enough to be readable from a distance. With the new OSD one can only guess based on a progress bar.
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2672
j114 Wrote:Is there an archive of older versions somewhere? Or could someone post a link for the last version with the old OSD?

Butchabay, I am grateful for all the work you've done and it's certainly your right to go any direction you want with the skin. I understand how much time and energy you've put into this, and I also understand your frustration that not everyone is on the same page with you on a feature that is important to YOU. This has been the ONLY skin that I have liked in 3+ years of using XBMC, and I plan to keep using it, at least the older versions of it for as long as they work properly on my machines and no one else manages to create a skin that I like at least as much as this one (so far, seems impossible).

I think the new OSD screen LOOKS really nice, but I frequently pause movies to view details on the screen and that is no longer an option. To make it worse, it is now extremely difficult to skim through the movie to a specific scene/location because I can't see what's going on! I rarely use subtitles and NEVER have any reason to pause and read subtitles, but I ALWAYS need to see the picture, unfortunately.

It's an important enough issue for me at this point that I am willing to sacrifice all future updates/features in exchange for the basic ability to see the screen when I pause. I'm not going to hack away at the xml files every single time I upgrade on all of my machines, that's just plain inefficient.

I'll post the old xml's when i get time, as it's not only one file but more files i need to edit. else i'll post the 2.06 Download Link.
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2673
bthaxor Wrote:I'm having just two problems with this theme:

The first is that when using the ProjectM visualization, the entire skin seems to shift towards the bottom-left by quite a bit, and this is throughout the entire interface (home window, file lists, settings menus etc) - here are screenshots: http://cl.ly/D21i/screenshot002.png and http://cl.ly/D21C/screenshot003.png

BUT weirdly enough, the screenshot shows the opposite problem, i.e. extra detail along the left side. I've taken a photo so I can demonstrate what actually happens: http://cl.ly/D27g/IMG_0014.JPG and http://cl.ly/D2f0/IMG_0015.JPG

The second problem is that when going into 'Concerts' view, the text 'Music videos' overlaps with the time: http://cl.ly/D2fu/screenshot005.png

Thanks for a great skin!

EDIT: there was also another thing I wanted to ask, I currently have no use for the 'play' icon in the home window, so I wondered can I edit the XML anywhere so it takes me to 'Now Playing' instead? Also on the home window, I know you can press 'M' for playback controls, but could you add an option to have the slim playback controls below the Now Playing info and above the menu, like in Confluence? I realise it's a lot to ask, so it's more a matter of whether it's possible or not... Cheers!

EDIT2: sorry, just thought of something else; one of the ONLY features of another skin that I really like is how in reFocus, it shows when the currently-playing item will finish. If Cirrus Ex2 could have something like that, it'd be amazing...

Really can't imagine it's a skin issue.
Edit 1: Don't need player controls as i'm using a remote. We'll see.
Edit 2: Could you be more specific, i don't know what you mean with currently playing item will finish like in refocus. Maybe a screenshot would help.
find quote
Bawk Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2674
I have this same issue with shifting screen since going to Eden builds. However it is not skin specific, it happens on any skin and appears to be an XBMC issue.
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2675
Bawk Wrote:I have this same issue with shifting screen since going to Eden builds. However it is not skin specific, it happens on any skin and appears to be an XBMC issue.

Thanx.
find quote
el_Paraguayo Offline
Donor
Posts: 630
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: London, UK
Post: #2676
butchabay Wrote:Really can't imagine it's a skin issue.
Edit 1: Don't need player controls as i'm using a remote. We'll see.
Edit 2: Could you be more specific, i don't know what you mean with currently playing item will finish like in refocus. Maybe a screenshot would help.

#2 Sounds like the finish time that i put on the seek bar ages ago. i.e. if it's 14:00 now and the current item has 5 mins of playtime left, then the finish time would show 14.05.

it's the player.finishtime infolabel.

MythSuspendAlarm: Suspend and wake for next MythTV recording.
BBC Live Football Scores: Football scores notifications.
Random Movie Script: Play random movies from library.
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2677
el_Paraguayo Wrote:#2 Sounds like the finish time that i put on the seek bar ages ago. i.e. if it's 14:00 now and the current item has 5 mins of playtime left, then the finish time would show 14.05.

it's the player.finishtime infolabel.

Cheers mate, but finish time is still there in the seekbar.
I'm sure he means something else.
find quote
el_Paraguayo Offline
Donor
Posts: 630
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: London, UK
Post: #2678
butchabay Wrote:Cheers mate, but finish time is still there in the seekbar.
I'm sure he means something else.

Right, I'll be quiet again.

Carry on...

MythSuspendAlarm: Suspend and wake for next MythTV recording.
BBC Live Football Scores: Football scores notifications.
Random Movie Script: Play random movies from library.
find quote
henrava Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Italy
Post: #2679
Hi Butchabay, thank you for the update 2.07.
Is possible for you to upload the uncompressed media folder ? I tried with the one on the first page, but is for the old version (folder dated 10/10/2011).
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2680
henrava Wrote:Hi Butchabay, thank you for the update 2.07.
Is possible for you to upload the uncompressed media folder ? I tried with the one on the first page, but is for the old version (folder dated 10/10/2011).

Sure i think should be done this evening!
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2681
Please keep in mind you have to ignore the settings in extended Mod and that you will loose OLD OSD once the skin will be updated !

So no option to hide plot, or hide poster, the only setting you can enable if you like is slim osd by zombierobot.

Replace with these files in your 720p folder:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/rg5gyqp9f7...enInfo.xml

http://www.mediafire.com/file/w3o44cv0n2...eekBar.xml
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2682
Get it here

Latest commit to SVN:

- Ubuntu Font Selectable in Appearance Settings
- New TV Shows default Background by littlemixi (Thanx)
find quote
j114 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2683
Thanks butchabay.

FYI, for those that have been using the SVN builds for a while and want to go back to the old OSD the easy way, you can use the rollback option. Version 385 was the last version before the new OSD took over the center of the screen.

I forgot I had one machine running the SVN version with auto update enabled, so I just rolled back to that version and disabled auto update then copied that version for the rest of my machines.
find quote
bthaxor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2684
This is what I meant from reFocus: http://i.imgur.com/eG2uY.png (in the top-right corner). I find it quite nifty when watching movies / TV shows and I need to keep track of my time...

As for the screen-shifting, thanks for letting me know it's not a skin issue.
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #2685
bthaxor Wrote:This is what I meant from reFocus: http://i.imgur.com/eG2uY.png (in the top-right corner). I find it quite nifty when watching movies / TV shows and I need to keep track of my time...

As for the screen-shifting, thanks for letting me know it's not a skin issue.

End time is already on the info screen, why should we have it twice?
find quote
Post Reply