Georgian Translation

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #1
Hello,

I'm trying to translate XBMC in Georgian language but I have problem, when I translate something, words are not shown in XBMC and there are only unknown symbols. What can I do to solve this problem?

Kind regards,
Beqa
find quote
blittan Offline
Team-XBMC Handyman
Posts: 1,738
Joined: Jun 2004
Reputation: 11
Location: Sweden
Post: #2
you probably need to change the font to something that handles your characters.

Also you need to have the strings.xml in utf-8

See the wiki for more information..

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Inf...ge_Support


This is a tool that might help you:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBMC_Translator

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
If you don't have the time to read them, please don't take the time to post in this forum!
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2011-05-28 12:40 by blittan.)
find quote
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #3
Thanks for reply.

strings.xml is in utf-8. One Georgian character is visible in XBMC but main menu items are shown in ambiguous characters. Take a look at this screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/ImAYx.jpg
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #4
those are upper case letters (evil jezz_x!), maybe that's relevant?
find quote
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #5
Can anyone help me?
find quote
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #6
I want XBMC in my native language, please help.

[Image: widget]
[Image: widget]
find quote
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #7
Bump

[Image: widget]
[Image: widget]
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #8
without more info nobody can answer your. for starters, try my suggestion - is it the upper case letters that errors or is it all chars which errors? does your font have georgian chars?
find quote
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #9
Hi spiff, thanks for reply. I've changed strings.xml encoding to UTF-8 (I did same in langinfo.xml) and now it shows some words. But XBMC has strange problems with Georgian language. I don't know why but it shows word Settings in main menu (http://i.imgur.com/2tYft.png) and can't show it in settings window (http://i.imgur.com/1lDU6.jpg)


Are you asking about XMBC font?
I don't know which font XBMC is using.

[Image: widget]
[Image: widget]
find quote
Roman_V_M Online
Fan
Posts: 508
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 13
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Post: #10
2 arabuli

I guess the currently used fonts do not fully support Georgian characters. The same problem exists for Cyrillic characters. Default Confluence skin is OK but some other like Aeon-Nox or Transparency do not display non-English characters in some items, like currently played song info in Aeon-Nox or RSS-feed in Transparency.

AMD A4-3300 + AsRock A75M-ITX
XBMC-DSplayer 12.3 (custom build) on Windows 7
find quote
arabuli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Tbilisi
Post: #11
Thanks for answer. Is it possible to fix that? Can XBMC do something about it? Or there is no fix for that?

[Image: widget]
[Image: widget]
find quote