Any thoughts on Zotac Zbox for Noob Windows XBMC?
Hi All,

I am a mac man, but keen for a wife friendly small silent HTPC for XBMC so we can watch Divx from Couchpotato & Sickbeard as automated as poss. Will be to 1080p HDTV via HDMI. Sound to amp via S/PDIF. Remote control via Harmony 550. Would also like to use AirVideo server so can watch on my ipad on wifi. That is it.

Is this a good option for this (I saw it from eskro - thanks), I have no experience of setting up PCs, but can read instructions and glean info from the web and even have a soldering iron!

Zotac ZBOX Mini PC Barebone Nvidia ION, Celeron CULV SU2300

I don't have much time, hence going down the built nettop route. I originally thought of the Revo, but this seems better.

Will also get RAM Corsair 4GB DDR3 1066MHz/PC3-8500 Laptop Memory SODIMM CL7

And a 32GB Onyx SSD 2.5" SATA-II

I have a USB optical drive to install windows, keyboard and mouse to set up.

My Q's;

Can you use this set up easily with an external HDD to store the media as have 1TB?

Can I use my PS3 remote extender for the Harmony? Can I use my ipad instead of a keyboard to input into anything other than XBMC i.e. SB/CP etc?

Any thoughts on this for my needs? Am I missing something? Anything else better that I will appreciate for ~£380?

Thanks
the ZBOX HD-ND22 is a great little box!

if you plan on installing windows on it,
i suggest a 30GB SSD at least --> http://ow.ly/1sQi5P
it has greater read and write speeds then the one you selected...

2GB or ram is enough too,,,
Thanks eskro, hoping you would reply. Are there any issues to having a ext HDD and internal SSD?

Any other suggestions for similar money. I assume this would be better than linux Revo for ~£80 less?

cheers