Night 2.0 - Eden Development

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mcborzu Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,381
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: dsf
Post: #16
Sorry busy pwning in call of duty, busy at work, managing 2-3 other skins really eats up the time...

One day/weekend soon I'm going to sit down finish up what I got and upload all my skins to the repo. Though the buggy Eden versions really have me contemplating going back to Dharma...

[Image: widget]

Check out The Carmichael - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Night - A Skin For XBMC

Check out Unfinished - A Skin For XBMC
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 708
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #17
mcborzu Wrote:Sorry busy pwning in call of duty, busy at work, managing 2-3 other skins really eats up the time...

One day/weekend soon I'm going to sit down finish up what I got and upload all my skins to the repo. Though the buggy Eden versions really have me contemplating going back to Dharma...

Exactly what i did went back to Dharma after playing with showmix just couldn't get my head around some of the bugs i was having with my Eden build drove me insane
find quote
isamu.dragon Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 960
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Location: T.A.R.D.I.S.
Post: #18
Under both "Movies" and "TV Shows", there is a Files Menu. Here is the complete Source, as well as the return command.

Code:
<onclick>ActivateWindow(Videos,Files,return)</onclick>


Currently, I am working on a current bug I found in eden that I cannot go to the Albums menu after selecting an artist.

Using the Confluence Skin as a basis to fully update the night skin on my own machines. I will give some help as I go.

And NO, I am NOT taking over the skin. Just giving some assistance where possible.

My Branch (Trying to do some work for Eden)
https://github.com/IsamuDragon/skin.night

XBMC Server/Client:
Database Type: MySQL
OS: WIN7 64-Bit/XBMCbuntu CPU: i7/Intel Atom (Dual Core)
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 760/Nvidia GeForce GT 520M RAM: 16GB/2GB (512MB GPU)
XBMC Version: Gotham Nightlies/XBMCbuntu Gotham Nightlies Skin: Aeon Nox
(This post was last modified: 2011-08-08 00:04 by isamu.dragon.)
find quote
hth0923 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: London
Thumbs Up   
Post: #19
hth0923 Wrote:Dear mcborzu

I have been using the skin for long time, even now i still think this is the best skin out of all others. yesterday, there is a auto update for the precious skin, since it is auto update, i haven't been noticed, but the skin has been updated and refreshed successfully (it is my fault that i didn't turn this function off). the operation seems really fantastic, but i have lost my customised font.xml file. I thought i was lucky as i have backup font.xml file stored in my computer, but i have just found out the structure of the new font.xml file has been changed, and each of the particulars' name also haven't been changed.

mcborzu, can you please release a font set that support unicode? I am begging you!!! or maybe, a list like below,

<name>LiberationSans_Regular_14</name> (What does it apply to)

<name>LiberationSans_Regular_16</name> (What does it apply to)

<name>LiberationSans_Regular_18</name> (What does it apply to)

Million Thanks!
hth0923FrownFrown

Hi Mcborzu

I have changed to other skins periodically since Night fontset's structure has been changed. Seriously, just feel not the same and not right. Finally I have changed the default skin back to Night again and give a try to amend the fontset manually.

I have noticed the care that you have put into the skin. You have categorised 8 of the fonts (~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/) in font.xml file, and make it really easy to amend that will eventually suit for everyone.

For my case, I need to display simplified and traditional chinese in most of the Viewtype. Instead of change the font.xml, I just download and rename the arialuni.ttf to LiberationSans-Regular.ttf, then copy and overwrite at ~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/. restart the xbmc. Hooray!!!! chinese characters back on!!!!

For anyone who has the similar situation as mine, just do the same as above, you will basically get any of the language works like charm!

Many thanks mcborzu LaughLaugh

Regards,
hth0923
find quote
hth0923 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: London
Thumbs Up   
Post: #20
hth0923 Wrote:Hi Mcborzu

I have changed to other skins periodically since Night fontset's structure has been changed. Seriously, just feel not the same and not right. Finally I have changed the default skin back to Night again and give a try to amend the fontset manually.

I have noticed the care that you have put into the skin. You have categorised 8 of the fonts (~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/) in font.xml file, and make it really easy to amend that will eventually suit for everyone.

For my case, I need to display simplified and traditional chinese in most of the Viewtype. Instead of change the font.xml, I just download and rename the arialuni.ttf to LiberationSans-Regular.ttf, then copy and overwrite at ~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/. restart the xbmc. Hooray!!!! chinese characters back on!!!!

For anyone who has the similar situation as mine, just do the same as above, you will basically get any of the language works like charm!

Many thanks mcborzu LaughLaugh

Regards,
hth0923

Updates for Now Playing Rolling Texts (Under Music & Videos)

Edit in font.xml file:

<!-- DejaVuSans-Bold.ttf -->

<font>
<name>DejaVuSans_Bold_20</name>
<filename>DejaVuSans-Bold.ttf</filename>
<size>20</size>
<linespacing>1</linespacing>
</font>


<font>
<name>DejaVuSans_Bold_32</name>
<filename>DejaVuSans-Bold.ttf</filename>
<size>32</size>
<linespacing>1</linespacing>
</font>


Change the font DejaVuSans-Bold.ttf to Arialuni.ttf then copy arialuni.ttf to your fonts folder ~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/

Regards,
hth0923
find quote
kyotocafe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: kyoto, Japan
Post: #21
hth0923 Wrote:Hi Mcborzu

I have changed to other skins periodically since Night fontset's structure has been changed. Seriously, just feel not the same and not right. Finally I have changed the default skin back to Night again and give a try to amend the fontset manually.

I have noticed the care that you have put into the skin. You have categorised 8 of the fonts (~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/) in font.xml file, and make it really easy to amend that will eventually suit for everyone.

For my case, I need to display simplified and traditional chinese in most of the Viewtype. Instead of change the font.xml, I just download and rename the arialuni.ttf to LiberationSans-Regular.ttf, then copy and overwrite at ~/.xbmc/addons/skin.night/fonts/. restart the xbmc. Hooray!!!! chinese characters back on!!!!

For anyone who has the similar situation as mine, just do the same as above, you will basically get any of the language works like charm!

Many thanks mcborzu LaughLaugh

Regards,
hth0923

nice! I was in your same situation but with Japanese, your solution worked great Smile
find quote
blok2004 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
I don't know if you're taking feature requests at the moment, but I thought I'd ask!

I would love to see another skin utilize the disc.png feature of Transparency!'s Icon View its by far one of my favorite parts of that theme and yet no one else seems to be implementing it. would it be possible to get this feature in Night?

Thanks for all your hard work! Night is amazing, deffinetly my favorite Theme!
find quote
brandonjcreek Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Does anyone know of a way to speed this skin up a little on atv2? General browsing is fairly quick, but when I access Movies or TV Shows via the Home Screen, it takes about 8-10 secs to load the next screen. Is this a bug, or mere limitations of the atv2 hardware? Any advise would be appreciated
find quote
ix400 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #24
I'm using the Nightly build from yesterday.

I can't find "Night" as an installable skin in the addons / skin section...

What am I doin' wrong?


Chris

unRAID Server, Pioneer VSX-LX52, Panasonic 65VT30, Marusys VU+ Duo, Zotac AD10
find quote
xmurrx Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Location: Long Island, New York
Post: #25
ix400 Wrote:I'm using the Nightly build from yesterday.

I can't find "Night" as an installable skin in the addons / skin section...

What am I doin' wrong?


Chris

Nothing. Night is has not been submitted to the official repo. You must install it manually
find quote
Rave Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Belgium, Brussels
Post: #26
Little question:

the bugs reports [url=http//forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=73846&page=101]here[/url], do we have to repost them in this topic?

By the way, waiting impatiently for night to be in the official repo Wink
find quote
elentz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
hi Smile I am new in forum ,i read about this skin and I instaled but i dont have movie info like on this Trailer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qP7oQova9cA ,do I have to import pictures and something like that to have movie info like that
find quote
bobsackamano Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
Excellent skin!...thank you for your hard work!
find quote
rasi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Hi there,

I am new to this forum, and first-off, want to say that I am blown away by how awesome NIGHT was on my ATV2. It is by far, the most elegant and fastest running skin I have tested.

I do want to echo the question someone else asked a little bit earlier, i.e. whenever I load TV SHOWS or MOVIES from the main menu, the it takes about 10 seconds for the menu to load up. But when switching between menus in other screens, things are very fluid and there is no delay. Can someone please tell me whether this is a bug w/ ATV2 or is there a way I can fix this?

I would really really appreciate if someone (developer) can post a response. Thanks so much again for this great piece of work.

Rasi
find quote
Kevo Online
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
I've got no text showing up at all on the XBMCSetup-20111002-43f00d2 nightly build (windows)

I have gone back a few nightly versions of xbmc, as a few other things have broken too with the night skin.

Edit: false alarm, todays nightly fixes the text problem.
(This post was last modified: 2011-10-03 12:06 by Kevo.)
find quote
Post Reply