First XBMC - Available Hardware
Hi everyone,

Obviously this is my first time posting here and I am new to this whole area of tech. Looking to setup our first HTPC and want to use XBMC to do so. Not sure what most efficient way of using my current hardware is, or what additional hardware I will need to create a workable and good solution.

Here's what I have right now.

1) Toshiba laptop, 160GB HD, Dual core processor. It's a pretty vanilla system and we use it with the kids, for checking email, etc. Basically just low end stuff that isn't going to need a lot of juice. Up until this month it has been our only computer and we used it for everything (watch streaming video like HGTV, or NHL games etc) Don't think this will really be entering the equation but thought I would list it in case.

2) Desktop with 2GB RAM (could upgrade to 4GB), E4600 2.4Ghz Processor, GeForce 9800GT Video card, and a 250GB Hard Drive, onboard sound. I use this for a bit of gaming, and a bunch of work related stuff it's my work/fun/home office computer and is connected to a monitor in my office.

3) A 500GB external Western Digital USB drive.

4) An XBox 360.

I would like to be able to purchase a 35-40" TV, decent surround sound (nothing fancy, just decent), and my HTPC setup for 1500-2000.

My question is what is the best way to fully utilize the hardware I have into a workable solution, and possibly buy something more.

Do I use the desktop, with the external drive as a sort of file server and then buy a separate machine to actually run the media off of?

Do I even need the Xbox any more (we use it for Netflix right now).

Should I perhaps only use the 500GB external drive just for some moderate file backup and instead buy a NAS drive general storage?

What we want to use it for is: