Ubuntu 11.04, XBMC no audio

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
boludiko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi all, after upgrade the alsa drivers and configure my system with this:

/etc/modprobe.d/sound.conf

options snd-hda-intel model=6stack-dig

/etc/asound.conf


pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
ipc_key_add_uid false
ipc_perm 0660
slave {
pcm "hw:0,3"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 4096
rate 48000
channels 2
}
bindings {
0 0
1 1
}
}

ctl.dmixer {
type hw
card 0
}

And change the file HDA-Intel.conf like this guide http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...controller

I have sound on all my system (Youtube sounds too in firefox) but on XBMC doesn't.

My options on XBMC for sound configure are:

HDMI, Analogic Output, Coaxial or Optical.

How can i do?

Thanks to all...
find quote
peter10000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I think it´s the same problem like in the previous versions of ubuntu with pulseaudio.
You must stop pulseaudio before starting XBMC.
Command: pulseaudio -k

You can put it in a start-script - it works perfect for me. At the end of script I startup pulseaudio - so when I end XBMC my sound works again for Ubuntu.
find quote
boludiko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks for the answer, can you please show your script? Thanks!
find quote
boludiko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Hi, i try to stop pulseaudio (pulseaudio -k) before launch xbmc but i doesn't work... i don't know what i have to do...
find quote
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #5
What does your 'aplay -l' show?

Just directly enter your sound sink as a 'other' in XBMC and be done with it.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find quote
boludiko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
This is the list, i try to add this on this way but doesn't work...

aplay -l
**** Lista de PLAYBACK dispositivos hardware ****
tarjeta 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
Subdispositivos: 1/1
Subdispositivo #0: subdevice #0
tarjeta 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
Subdispositivos: 1/1
Subdispositivo #0: subdevice #0
tarjeta 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdispositivos: 1/1
Subdispositivo #0: subdevice #0


aplay -L
null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=NVidia
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
Default Audio Device
front:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
Front speakers
surround40:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Analog
7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, ALC888 Digital
IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
find quote
Hudson_Hawk04 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,168
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 3
Post: #7
does your system have sound? If not check to make sure you have the correct hardware selected ( you can select different configurations and test easily) also check to see if the sound is muted by the system.

I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day.
Frank Sinatra
If I managed to help you in any way, please add to my reputation
.
find quote
boludiko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Yes i have sound in all my system, i can play mp3 with banshee, videos with vlc, mplayer, totem, videos on youtube with firefox, and the ubuntu system sound too...

The only problem is with xbmc....
find quote
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #9
From the command line. What does
Code:
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -c 2

do?

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find quote