Looking to Build Your Very First unRAID Server?

  Thread Rating:
  • 13 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Mufasa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #76
Looks like the motherboards for recipes #3 and #4 are no longer being stocked.
What are the chances of getting an update from a trusted (eskro / poofy) source?
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #77
Mufasa Wrote:Looks like the motherboards for recipes #3 and #4 are no longer being stocked.
What are the chances of getting an update from a trusted (eskro / poofy) source?

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=102...stcount=52
find quote
Mufasa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #78
Quote:but here's another good candidate for a 12-to-18 drives unRAID server
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6813157292
with this board, no major expenses from 0 to 12 drives,,.

That motherboard is now out of stock too.
So I guess the next best thing is to pick one of the Asrock motherboards, that has an extra PCI slot for a video card, but still maintains the Micro ATX form factor?
find quote
Mufasa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #79
How about this MB?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6813157277
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6813157261

Looks like it is fairly new, has 6 sata sockets, and a PCI Express for the add-on card.

Is there anything this board doesn't have that I SHOULD be looking for?

It says it doesn't have onboard video, but it has VGA and HDMI, so it has to have some video.. right?
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-04 18:31 by Mufasa.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #80
they both have Realtek 8111E LAN Chipsets...
not good for unRAID.
(you need to use v5.0-beta14 AiO for Realtek 8111E support)

those are FM1 motherboards, the video is on the processor itself.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-04 21:43 by eskro.)
find quote
mgb_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #81
Thanks for the great info!

I currently deployed and have very limited/poor internet services. Is there a all-in-one guide for configuration of unraid (primarily for XBMC playback with XBMC/HTPC related addons) similiar to the building guides you and Poofyhairguy have posted? I'd like to be able to print everything off and bring it with me while i'm configuring it since i won't be able to just hope on a computer and search the forums.

Also- Ive installed XBMC, is there a basic configuration guide, or recommended addons i should do? I can't seem to find a great all-in-one guide for this either! Thanks!
find quote
Monkeypox Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #82
You could try the first part of this thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1294647
find quote
squishee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #83
I just wanted to say thanks eskro!

I stumbled across this section of the forum by chance when I was looking for a RAID solution. At the time I was looking into purchasing a $400 RAID card and was going to end up with one HTPC/Server. I spent about $150 and created an unRAID server with a mixture of hardware I had laying around, a new case and new modular power supply.

It's running great, super quiet and now that my storage is taken care of by the server, I can shrink down my HTPC from a mid-size case to something smaller which will make my basement look a lot nicer.

Still on the basic license though. I'm planning on upgrading to the plus/pro version soon.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #84
FTW squishee!! Smile
find quote
jthacker48 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #85
I'm looking to convert my desktop pc to an unraid server. Luckily and ironically, my hardware is very similar to the 10HDD build that you have outlined. Here is my current hardware:

Case: Antec Three Hundred
Mobo: MSI 890GXM-G65 link
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 830 link
RAM: (4) Kingston HyperX DDR3 4GB RAM = 16GB Total link
PSU: Corsair CK430 PSU

I plan on running Sab, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, and Plex. Potentially Headphones too.

Do you see any issues with any of the components? Should I reduce the amount of RAM?
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-05 20:59 by jthacker48.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #86
1 stick of 4GB should be more then enough.
find quote
jasmill1969 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #87
I am leaning heavily to the 12HDD build and I plan to use MySQL Database, SABnzbd, CouchPotato, Sick Beard, Torrent Client. Could someone recommend a CPU and RAM upgrade to handle the additional apps?
find quote
evanl81 Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #88
I am doing all that with the cpu suggested in the build plus 2x2gb ram.

It runs great.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-14 13:15 by evanl81.)
find quote
fishypops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: canada
Post: #89
Are there any mini-itx mobo's that i could use for a 10 hdd setup?
find quote
fishypops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: canada
Post: #90
Is there any merit in going for the AMD Sempron 130 Sargas 2.6GHz, when building a 10 HDD NAS ?

Thasnk
find quote
Post Reply