How do i update the neon skin???

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #16
maybe? I'm not sure what flags it as 'broken'. On my win7 and atv2 it just updates normally, not indication of 'broken'.
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-05 04:26 by stoli.)
find quote
escobar Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
I read the first page of this topic & followed Stoli & XBMC's instructions on Passion Repo.

I'm using Windows XP. I got a nightly build last night & installed Passion on it. 'Neon' skin was not listed as "Broken" for me. I have it installed right now without any trouble.

P.S. - If I could piggy-back on this topic & ask a related question: Is there a way to automatically update the XBMC nightly build itself?
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-05 10:13 by escobar.)
find quote
feerlessleadr Offline
Fan
Posts: 334
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 1
Post: #18
Hmm, well I sent a PM to PPIC, so hopefully he can shed some light.

In the meantime, I deleted the passion repo, deleted the neon svn skin, restarted and turned on debugging. I then reinstalled the repo and attempted to install the skin to no avail. I then downloaded the skin from the passion website and tried to install it via 'install from zip' within xbmc to no avail.

When I checked the debug log for the second install attempt I get an error as follows:

Quote:11:17:06 T:5064 M:1783689216 DEBUG: CZipManager::GetZipList - Processing zip://C%3a%5cUsers%5cKevin%5cStuff%5cXBMC%5cskin%2eneon%2esvn%2d1309629659%2ezip/
11:17:06 T:5064 M:1783496704 DEBUG: Addon skin.neon.svn requires xbmc.gui version 3.00 which is not available
11:17:06 T:5064 M:1783492608 INFO: Loading skin file: DialogKaiToast.xml
11:17:06 T:5064 M:1783488512 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogKaiToast.xml) ------
11:17:06 T:5064 M:1783480320 DEBUG: msg: PICTURE::LoadImage: Unable to open image: C:\Users\Kevin\Stuff\XBMC\skin.neon.svn-1309629659.zip\icon.png Error: (3)
11:17:06 T:5064 M:1783480320 ERROR: Texture manager unable to load file: C:\Users\Kevin\Stuff\XBMC\skin.neon.svn-1309629659.zip\icon.png

It looks like the skin is reporting that it doesn't have the latest gui version. Is there something that I can do to fix this?

::EDIT:: Here is the full log for reference:

http://pastebin.com/qGEBLaJv
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #19
just for giggles, open up the addon.xml in the skin.confluence folder and see what gui version it is expecting... Should also be 3.0
find quote
feerlessleadr Offline
Fan
Posts: 334
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 1
Post: #20
surprisingly, it only requires 2.11
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #21
you're not running a nightly of xbmc it sounds like then....

Try this: http://mirrors.xbmc.org/nightlies/win32/...master.exe
find quote
feerlessleadr Offline
Fan
Posts: 334
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 1
Post: #22
that is really strange, i was using the windows automatic update client, which was supposed to give me nightlies. Since I upgraded to the 'official' nightlies, I am able to install this skin via zip file (didn't try the repo)

Unfortunately, I've run into a mysq db error that I can't fix, which I posted here

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=104910
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #23
I'm not using mysql, but I know that many are, so hopefully someone can help you out.
find quote
mlowery Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Hey Stoli,

Just wanted to say I love the skin, but when i run it on my ATV2 there seems to be quite a bit of lag when switching between menus. I don't know if anything can be done to fix it.

Thanks again and keep up the great work
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #25
I have an atv2 as well and until there is an official release of the ios builds, I'm not going to spend much time trying to tweak it - and I'm not sure there is even much that could be done.
find quote
Post Reply