Windows - One Button DVD/BluRay Ripping using a Launcher from within XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 9 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #1
Welcome to AutoRipDVD!

I wanted to create an easy method to rip my purchased DVD's and Bluray's directly to my XBMC library. These scripts will do just that with a small amount of setup.

Once fully configured you simply run the launcher (either from the Advanced Launcher menu or from your favourites menu), with a disc in the drive and after a few minutes the program will beep, and auto-eject your movie.

Then simply update your library and your movie will be added. (very rarely you may need to switch to file mode and rename the rip for it to grab fanart - see more info below).

Setup:

First go to http://www.makemkv.com/download/ and get the latest version, and install it

- Optional -
If you wish to have AutoRipDVD also compress your rips, then go to http://handbrake.fr/downloads2.php and download and install the latest version of Handbrake


Next go download

AutoRipDVD and install it (this simply extracts all the scripts)

If you prefer a zipped up version click here

(If you have trouble downloading the files, please read this post)

The AutoRipDVD.bat configuration file should automatically open on install for first time setup.

Configure Script:

Now that these have been installed its time to customize the script to your system.

AutoRipDVD.bat should have opened up in notepad automatically for you to configure. If it did not, then

- Navigate to where you installed AutoRipDVD.exe to.
- Right click on AutoRipDVD.bat and click edit

You will see at the top there are a number of options you can change. ** BE CAREFUL IN THIS FILE OR YOU MAY BREAK IT **

Here is what the top of this file looks like:

Code:
@Echo offSetlocal enableextensions
::******************************************************************************​***************
::*** AutoRipDVD is brought to you by Spinalcracker
::******************************************************************************​***************
::
::******************************************************************************​***************
::***  Change the following variables to match your setup
::******************************************************************************​***************
::
::*** DriveLetter=The drive letter of your DVD or Blu-Ray drive ie. D: or G: etc
::
::------------------------------
Set DriveLetter=D:
::------------------------------
::
::*** RipDir=Where you want your DVD ripped to ie. your xbmc movie folder *BE SURE TO INCLUDE TRAILING \
::
::------------------------------
Set RipDir=E:\Movies\
::------------------------------
::
::*** IntDir=Where you installed MakeMKV to
::
::----------------------------------------
Set IntDir=C:\Program Files (x86)\MakeMKV
::----------------------------------------
::
::*** ScriptPath=Where the files for this script are located with trailing "\" ie. Where AutoRipComplete.vbs & Beep.vbs are located *BE SURE TO INCLUDE TRAILING \
::
::------------------------------------
Set ScriptPath=C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoRipDVD\
::------------------------------------
::
::*** RipMinSeconds=Minimum time in seconds that should be ripped off disk to avoid getting previews etc.  Default is 3600 seconds or 1 hour
::
::---------------------
Set RipMinSeconds=3600
::---------------------
::
::*** Using Handbrake to compress - Yes or No?
::
::------------------------------------
Set Handbrake=No
::------------------------------------
::

It is pretty self explanatory. Simply change the parts on the "Set" lines after the "=" to whatever applies to your system and save the file and close your text editor (ie notepad).

By default Handbrake compression is disabled. This is because encoding a 2 hour video can take up to 8-12 hours depending on the size of the file and power of your computer. Using this to compress your ripped video may slow down your system DRASTICALLY during the process. That said; if you wish to enable Handbrake to encode your video to 720p in a smaller file size then make sure you have Handbrake installed and then change in AutoRipDVD.bat

Code:
Set Handbrake=No

to read

Code:
Set Handbrake=Yes

If you wish to tweak the encoding settings I have already set, please find more information on what is available to you here:

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/CLIGuide

The settings to change can be found at the top of the AutoRipDVD.bat file. The following lines affect Handbrake compression:

Code:
Set Handbrake=No
Set Handbrakepath=C:\Program Files (x86)\Handbrake\
Set X264=b-adapt=2:rc-lookahead=50:me=umh:bframes=5:ref=6:direct=auto:trellis=2:subq=10:psy-rd=1.0,0.10:analyse=all
Set FORMAT=--optimize --format mkv
Set QUALITY=--ab 64 --mixdown mono --quality 23 -e x264 -x %X264%
Set SIZE=--width 1280 --height 720


Configure XBMC:

Make sure you have the Advanced Launcher addon installed.

- Create a new launcher
- Navigate to where you installed AutoRipDVD.exe and select the file "LaunchAutoRipDVD.exe"
- Change the icon to "AutoRipIcon.jpg" that is in the same folder (or any other icon you prefer)
- Set the Launcher as a favourite

Using AutoRipDVD:

- Place a disc in the drive in your windows based HTPC
- Go to your favourites and run AutoRipDVD
- You will see a splash screen letting you know the program is beginning the rip. You may continue to use your XBMC system (except the dvd drive of course), while AutoRipDVD does it's thing.
- Once the rip is complete the program will beep once and eject the disc (If you have enabled Handbrake compression this could take a very long time)
- Update your library and your movie should now be there
- Enjoy Smile

Note for 32-Bit Windows Users:

One thing that I should point out as well, is that the script is set to run the 64bit version. If you have a 32 bit version of windows running, then change in AutoRipDVD.bat the following by removing the number 64:

Code:
cd /d "%IntDir%"
makemkvcon64.exe --minlength=%RipMinSeconds% mkv disc:0 all "%RipDir%%volid%"

So it reads like this for 32 bit

Code:
cd /d "%IntDir%"
makemkvcon.exe --minlength=%RipMinSeconds% mkv disc:0 all "%RipDir%%volid%"

Tips & Tricks:

- Multiple Language Selection - To have it rip specific languages you must edit a MakeMKV file (default.mmcp.xml) - see this post

- TV Shows? - You can install AutoRipDVD twice into different install directories, having one setup for movies and one setup for tv shows. Just be sure to set your paths correctly in AutoRipDVD.bat, as well as change the minimum rip time from 3600 down to something less than the length of your tv shows for that install. Then setup two launchers, one for TV Shows and one for Movies and you are all set to rip your media collection into your library

- Minimizing? - This is a bit of a bug caused by the splash screen's. Setting XBMC in the system settings to run in a Fullscreen window instead of True fullscreen will stop XBMC from minimizing.

Advanced Users Version - brought to you by Akevit

For a more sophisticated version please take a look at this post by Akevit. He has modified the code to take AutoRipDVD to another level. This version is recommended if you want to do more than simple rips and consider yourself a Windows and XBMC power user. His code can be found here.

Known Issues:

- AutoRipDVD's splash screens are minimizing XBMC when running in a true fullscreen environment. Switching to Fullscreen Windowed Mode in the System settings resolves this

- AutoRipDVD uses Handbrake to compress and re-encode the video it rips. This process, if interrupted (System crash, power outage etc) will require you to manually delete the video folder and files it created and start again. The script cannot resume a rip.

- AutoRipDVD uses the volume name of the disc in the process of renaming the movie files to be library (and scrapper) friendly. If the volume name is nothing like the movie then the scrappers can not match the movie. This should never really be a problem with any legit purchased movies, but if you have disc's with volume names like "NEW" or "AwesomeFlick1" then you may run into problems

- AutoRipDVD defaults to ripping any stream 1 hour long or longer. This can be changed in the settings in AutoRipDVD.bat to any min time you wish, but in some cases, some dvd's have multiple lengthy streams. You can simply delete from within XBMC any stream that is not correct and this actually happens pretty rarely, but wanted to explain why it happens.

- AutoRipDVD is a bit of a hack. lol. I welcome any python developer seeing this to create a proper plugin for us all to use. Just please credit this original hack back to me as I am not a programmer so fairly proud I blundered my way through this on my own to something functional.

Change Log:

08/06/2012
- Fixed major bug causing rips to be deleted

07/14/2012
- Added the ability to compress a rip using Handbrake (720p default in x264 MKV container)
- Reworked the config portion of AutoRipDVD.bat to allow tweaking of new compression feature
- Repacked the installer for an improved experience.
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-17 22:48 by Spinalcrack.)
find quote
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #2
If a moderator could move this thread to the Tips and Tricks thread, it's probably more suited to be there.

Thank you
find quote
Johnnovision Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Wow what a great idea! and easy guide...
I can see a lot of work and thought went into this post
find quote
patm95 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I have been looking for something like this for awhile now. Does this rip to ISO file?
find quote
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #5
patm95 Wrote:I have been looking for something like this for awhile now. Does this rip to ISO file?

No it rips to MKV. So no menus or special features. Just simply the movie.
find quote
realjobe Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,022
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Too much fuzz... Use DVDFab.

Rip BlueRay plain movie with desired audioTracks & subs into one .iso file. Few clicks away.

Xbmc can play .iso files perfeclty. DVDFab also reEncodes BlueRay .iso movies into .mkv h264 & audioCopy if needed. Later DVDFab releases will mux .sub & .idx files into the .mkv container, noneed to mux them seperately..
find quote
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #7
realjobe Wrote:Too much fuzz... Use DVDFab.

Rip BlueRay plain movie with desired audioTracks & subs into one .iso file. Few clicks away.

Xbmc can play .iso files perfeclty. DVDFab also reEncodes BlueRay .iso movies into .mkv h264 & audioCopy if needed. Later DVDFab releases will mux .sub & .idx files into the .mkv container, noneed to mux them seperately..

This is true, however, the point of these scripts and thread is to take a disc, insert it into your HTPC and click one button with your remote and have your movie placed into your library. It's meant for someone with zero computer ability to easily rip their movie to their library with no mouse, keyboard and only from within XBMC. Your suggestion does not do that.

Also DVDFab is a solution requiring you to buy or pirate their software. Mine is totally legitimately free.

That being said. My scripts are free to use, so if DVDFab offers command line instructions you could modify the MakeMKV command to a DVDFab command and achieve the same result. Post that in this thread realjobe, for people with DVDFab.
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-13 14:24 by Spinalcrack.)
find quote
publicENEMY Offline
Fan
Posts: 308
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Thank you SpinalCrack. This is exactly what i need. Except that it is in Windows. Is it possible to do this in linux/openelec? Im interested in ripping the bluray to iso since this is easier to the wife.
find quote
Valdysses Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Beijing, China
Post: #9
Fantastic script! My HTPC sits in a media cabinet and looks like a receiver -- any solution that requires a connected mouse and keyboard defeats the purpose of having an appliance-style build.

Great work!
find quote
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #10
Valdysses Wrote:Fantastic script! My HTPC sits in a media cabinet and looks like a receiver -- any solution that requires a connected mouse and keyboard defeats the purpose of having an appliance-style build.

Great work!

Thank you for the compliments. Enjoy the script Smile
find quote
cank Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
I am just learning xbmc and found your add-on. I can't seem to get it to work. when I click to run AutoRipDVD it opens both my DVD and my Blu-Ray drive even if there is media in them.
Do I need to launch AutoRipDVD in StandAlone(normal PC executable) or File Launcher (e.g. game emulator) and do I need to change any of the settings other than in the .bat file?
Let me know if a debug file is needed or if I am just dumb and missing something simple.
thanks
find quote
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #12
cank Wrote:I am just learning xbmc and found your add-on. I can't seem to get it to work. when I click to run AutoRipDVD it opens both my DVD and my Blu-Ray drive even if there is media in them.
Do I need to launch AutoRipDVD in StandAlone(normal PC executable) or File Launcher (e.g. game emulator) and do I need to change any of the settings other than in the .bat file?
Let me know if a debug file is needed or if I am just dumb and missing something simple.
thanks

You need to set up Advanced Launcher to launch as a pc executable the file "LaunchAutoRipDVD.vbs"

It should only eject the drive if there is no media (or media that is not in DVD or Blu-Ray format) in the drive. It will also only default to the first dvd/blu-ray drive letter that has a disc in it and that drive letter needs to be between d and z. So if you have a drive f: and a drive h:, and media in both it will use f: If you have your drives set to a, b or c for some reason try changing the line in the .bat file where it says

Code:
For /f %%# In ('Mountvol^|Findstr [d-z]:\\') Do (
        Fsutil fsinfo drivetype %%#|Find "CD-ROM">Nul&&(Set "CDROM=%%~d#"))
If Not Defined CDROM call :NoDrive

to

Code:
For /f %%# In ('Mountvol^|Findstr [a-z]:\\') Do (
        Fsutil fsinfo drivetype %%#|Find "CD-ROM">Nul&&(Set "CDROM=%%~d#"))
If Not Defined CDROM call :NoDrive

If that doesn't work, try deleting the above completely from the .bat file (make a copy backup first), and find the next section that reads:


Code:
for /f "tokens=6" %%t in ('vol %CDROM%') do @set volid=%%t
echo: %volid%

and change where it says 'vol %CDROM%' to read your drive letter instead. ie. if you know your DVD drive letter is say k: then change it to 'vol K:'

If you have two drives and want to use this script for both, I would install two copies in two different directories and manually change the .bat files to point to each drive and then in Advance Launcher just call on AutoRipDVD and the other AutoRipBluRay or something.

Otherwise the script will just either only use the hardcoded drive letter you changed %CDROM% to, or using the scan method it will find the first drive with a disc in it and use that.

Hopefully this is clear, but if you have any other questions please just ask.
find quote
cank Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Spinalcrack Wrote:You need to set up Advanced Launcher to launch as a pc executable the file "LaunchAutoRipDVD.vbs"

The only thing that shows up in the directory for AutoripDVD is the .bat file.
I tried setting up the AutoRipDVD folder as a source and then the root drive, however, both only show the .bat file in that folder (and it is in there when browsing with windows).

I have all the settings checked in Appearance-Settings that show hidden files and parent folder...
find quote
Spinalcrack Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #14
cank Wrote:The only thing that shows up in the directory for AutoripDVD is the .bat file.
I tried setting up the AutoRipDVD folder as a source and then the root drive, however, both only show the .bat file in that folder (and it is in there when browsing with windows).

I have all the settings checked in Appearance-Settings that show hidden files and parent folder...


I just tried setting the advanced launcher to point at the .bat file directly and it still works totally fine.

Make sure you choose DOS as the emulator.

Double check you have the settings spelled and set correctly with the proper quotes and slashes, and makemkv is installed and working.

Then try setting it to the .bat again. Put in a known working legit dvd or blu-ray and try running it again.

That's all I can really suggest as I have it running on three separate machines and it is working correctly and anyone that has downloaded it hasn't had an issue.

Setting it to the .bat should work totally fine.
find quote
TheOutlawEzE Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Was wondering if there are any fixes for Eden and new version of makemkv. Seems to think for a second and then kick out the disc, makemkv work on its own but script doesn't. thanks in advance for any advice!
find quote
Post Reply