[Linux] My first Linux XBMC (Ubuntu 11.04)
After some great experience with XBMC on Windows 7, I decided to start a new project:

I want to build a small Linux Based XBMC System with Ubuntu. The Hardware will be something like an Atom/Ion that would be a little slow with Windows 7.

My problem is that I am not very experienced with Linux systems. I tried Suse and Red Hat a few years ago.

I decided to give ubuntu a try because I read that it is something like a favorite Linux distribution for XBMC developers.

Before I will buy the Hardware for my new HTPC System, I want to check if I am able to configure the "Software Side" of the System. To do this I use my main PC. I disconnected the Windows 7 hard drives because I don´t want to harm this installation an wanted to install the Ubuntu on a 16GB USB2.0 Stick.

I downloaded Ubuntu 11.04 which should be the latest release.
The installation on the stick took about half an hour. this USB thing seems to be a little slow.

At first after the installation i got a crash. I think the reason was the nvidia accelerated drivers that were not yet included from the beginning.

The second time the system started with low graphic support and tells me that an accelerated driver can be installed from the internet now. I installed this driver and made automated updates for ubuntu. The installation works without errors.

After that I restarted the system and it works with nvidia acceleration.

In the Step-by-Step Guide I read that nvidia video acceleration (VDPAU) has to be installed

So I used

Code:
sudo apt-get install libvdpau1 nvidia-185-libvdpau

before installing XBMC

After that i used

Code:
sudo -s

and then i tried to add the repos and start the installation with:

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install xbmc
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

Step 1 (Adding the repository) works

Step 2 (apt-get update) shows me some file not found errors 404