Make XBMC run smoother
X3lectric Wrote:Now, I'll serve as the devils advocate.

Despite the Acer and asrock Sharing a great deal and common hardware wise and being manufactured by same company (Pegratron), the Bioses are different in fact quite different...

If it is wise to use a tool from a completely different company made to work with their bioses and hardware tweaks, is this even wise for a marginal gain that will be hardly noticeable?

Not to mention Atom overclock can be done natively in the system bios without risky or potential damaging HACKS.

Like a wise man once said.

But if I had money to burn sure...

I have the acer 3600 230. It normally runs at 1.6ghz. I have it OC'd to 1.8ghz using the Asrock tool. I have been doing this for 2 years without a problem. There have been many discussions regarding this over the last couple of years and nobody has ever had a problem. It does give this unit a nice little boost. OC at your own risk.

As far as this ACER unit is concerned there is not a way to OC in the BIOS or I would have done it Smile If you can, I sure would like to know how. Smile
as for drivers use this

Code:
sudo apt-get install python-software-properties pkg-config -y
sudo add-apt-repository [b]ppa:team-iquik/nvidia-vpau
apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade nvidia-current nvidia-settings libvdpau1 libvdpau-dev[/b]

or

[b]sudo apt-get install nvidia-current nvidia-settings libvdpau1 libvdpau-dev[/b]
That should suffice Wink

give it a bit I sent the newest nvidia drivers form XBMCLive 275.19 and nvidia-settings 275.19 the 64 bit build servers are a bit congested and this is being built on staging ppa.

mrfatboy Wrote:I have the acer 3600 230. It normally runs at 1.6ghz. I have it OC'd to 1.8ghz using the Asrock tool. I have been doing this for 2 years without a problem. There have been many discussions regarding this over the last couple of years and nobody has ever had a problem. It does give this unit a nice little boost. OC at your own risk.