$500 Budget Need Advice
I am looking to spend $500 on a htpc. I want it to play 3d movies, 4K, HD, and tv. Also, looking to use a remote and for it to be wireless. Also, I am not really looking to build something difficult since I have no experience in this arena. Finally, I only have a Mac if that makes a difference on what you suggest.

Right now I have an Apple TV2 and also a Minix Xh 8 plus. The Apple TV 2 is no longer going to be supported and the MInix seems to have horrible WIFI functionality.

Any input and links to what you suggest would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

S7
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=94268
Living Room: ASUS Chromebox / OpeneElec 5 / Kodi 14.2
Bedroom: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Home Office: Amazon FireTV Stick / Kodi 14.2
Windows Server: Intel Core i3-2100T / 8GB Ram / 48TB / MySQL / StableBit DrivePool on Server 2012 R2 Standard
(2015-02-25, 03:32)soft7 Wrote: I

Right now I have an Apple TV2 and also a Minix Xh 8 plus. The Apple TV 2 is no longer going to be supported and the MInix seems to have horrible WIFI functionality.
I'm surprised that you have WiFi problems with the Minix.Mine is a fair distance from the router and I've had no problems.
Whatever you do, get a NAS + Kodi client. You might have it already, not clear though.

HTPCs are a thing of the past, unless you have specific requirements.
AFTV (non-rooted + Kodi)
WD My Book Live NAS
(2015-02-25, 06:25)dixons Wrote:
(2015-02-25, 03:32)soft7 Wrote: Right now I have an Apple TV2 and also a Minix Xh 8 plus. The Apple TV 2 is no longer going to be supported and the MInix seems to have horrible WIFI functionality.
I'm surprised that you have WiFi problems with the Minix.Mine is a fair distance from the router and I've had no problems.