Repositories error 404?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Ragund Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have an old machine (AMD Athlon XP at 2 GHz with an HIS' Radeon X800 XT PE IceQ II graphic card and 2GB of Ram so the hardware requirements should be ok) who I until recently have used as an htpc with Win XP and an XBMC installment. But since it´s a bit old and runs more smoothly with Linux i reinstalled the machine yesterday. Ubuntu 10.04 Natty Narwhale installed without a hitch and is up to dated (20110720) but then the problems began.

I have followed the installing XBMC for Linux guide with no avail the system just won´t find the repositories. It works fine to add them both in terminal and synaptic but when I update I get a 404 error can't read the repositories.

Any hints?
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-21 00:30 by Ragund.)
find quote
X3lectric Offline
Closed Account
Posts: 1,756
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: in a Dropbox
Post: #2
dharma does not compile for natty so you need something called xbmc unstable ppa, google exactly what I bolded.

essentially you need to install
Code:
sudo apt-get install python-software-properties pkg-config -y
add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/unstable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install xbmc

and then prolly need drives and wahtnot but I think this will get you started.
find quote
Ragund Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks, that worked like a charm.

Now I have a new problem instead. Starting XBMC is no problem. But as soon as I try to add a library the whole computer goes into total lockdown. I have all my media on a NTSF format hard drive and I just can't add it from XBMC. Is there some extra components which I need to add?
find quote
X3lectric Offline
Closed Account
Posts: 1,756
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: in a Dropbox
Post: #4
idk if it helps but you can check if you have ntfs-3g installed if not install it, Linux requires that to read from NTFS formatted volumes. If installing that doesnt work idk.
find quote