DSPlayer (DirectShow Player for XBMC) Eden build available

  Thread Rating:
  • 13 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
LordMerlin Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
Hello
For me, what is particularly interesting because it is DSPlayer opportunity to make a portable version with built-in decoders, plus the ability to create rules for what content to play any decoder.
Because the example DSCodec there all chosen from priority in the system, but often that one decoder interrupts the other is still some problems.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
OK, please excuse my ignorance and no disrespect to anyone, but what is the whole hype and buzz aboutConfused

How is this release different to Dharma and will it work on a Windows OS

Regards
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 802
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #33
With this build, XBMC will work with any custom directshow filters (ffdshow, coreavc, ac3filter, haali media splitter etc...). Works only on windows.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
sergiocos Wrote:With this build, XBMC will work with any custom directshow filters (ffdshow, coreavc, ac3filter, haali media splitter etc...). Works only on windows.

Thanks, and sorry I should have known - posted in a Windows section of the forums.

Does this mean that BR's ISO's are now playable with HD audio without having to use external programs?
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 802
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #35
probably not, but BR rips, yes.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
sergiocos Wrote:probably not, but BR rips, yes.

BR rips like mkv etc.

My main thing is HD audio. That would be great if possible using ffdshow
find quote
sergiocos Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 802
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #37
HD audio is possible (look for Guide: Setting up DSplayer using Shark Codec Pack, inc HD Audio bitstreaming), BR.ISO not possible because of the java menus
find quote
liquidskin76 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,365
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 17
Location: Arkham, Gotham City
Post: #38
Cheers for the merge 0wing. There's skin fixes in there that are needed!

HTPC: Streacom F1C | Asus H87I-Plus ITX | Intel Core i5-4670T | Kingston HyperX SSD | Kingston DDR3 RAM
Home AV: Sony KDL-40HX723 | Sky+HD | Sony BDP-S480 BD Player | Sony STR-DH820 AV Receiver | Sony 5.1 Speaker System | Sony PS3 Slim | Logitech Harmony Touch
find quote
0wing Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 37
Location: Sweden
Post: #39
sergiocos Wrote:HD audio is possible (look for Guide: Setting up DSplayer using Shark Codec Pack, inc HD Audio bitstreaming), BR.ISO not possible because of the java menus

Unencrypted bluray iso should work if I remember correctly, no menus though.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
0wing Wrote:Unencrypted bluray iso should work if I remember correctly, no menus though.

By unencrypted meaning a BR ripped to your PC/NAS with ANyDVD HD removing the copyright.

All my BR's (originals) are like this and they don't seem to play.

I followed the tutotial using Shark codec pack but it will only play MKV's.

While on the topic of MKV's, the one I tested include the HD audio track as well as stereo, but it will only play the stereo track. If I select the 3/2 chanel track, it reverts back to stereo.

My amp is a Yamaha 2067 and it plays HD audio just fine.
find quote
0wing Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 37
Location: Sweden
Post: #41
getafix Wrote:By unencrypted meaning a BR ripped to your PC/NAS with ANyDVD HD removing the copyright.

All my BR's (originals) are like this and they don't seem to play.

I followed the tutotial using Shark codec pack but it will only play MKV's.

While on the topic of MKV's, the one I tested include the HD audio track as well as stereo, but it will only play the stereo track. If I select the 3/2 chanel track, it reverts back to stereo.

My amp is a Yamaha 2067 and it plays HD audio just fine.

Upon further investigation, it seem like DSPlayer can't play bluray iso.
XBMC can play them, without HD audio though.

Mkv with HD audio should work, which guide are you using?
You should never install codec packs. The only thing you need is FFDShow.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
0wing Wrote:Upon further investigation, it seem like DSPlayer can't play bluray iso.
XBMC can play them, without HD audio though.

Mkv with HD audio should work, which guide are you using?
You should never install codec packs. The only thing you need is FFDShow.

OK, I accept the ISO issue. I used the guide that is linked to on the first page of this thread.

I would appreciate it if you point me to a guide that just uses ffdshow.

Thanks
Gareth
find quote
0wing Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 37
Location: Sweden
Post: #43
Install ffdshow then go into ffdshow audio decoder configuration and select output.

Check all supported formats for Pass-trough and 24-bit if your receiver supports it.
That should do it if you haven't changed the mediasconfig.xml for DSPlayer to use something else than ffdshow for audio in mkvs.
find quote
Venares Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #44
Any way to get the Youtube and iPlayer plugins to work under DSPlayer ?
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
0wing Wrote:Install ffdshow then go into ffdshow audio decoder configuration and select output.

Check all supported formats for Pass-trough and 24-bit if your receiver supports it.
That should do it if you haven't changed the mediasconfig.xml for DSPlayer to use something else than ffdshow for audio in mkvs.

Cool, didn't think it was that easy. Will give it a bash

Thanks
find quote
Post Reply