New studio flags for Alaska

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi, I was wondering about the possibility of adding new studio flags to Alaska.

I understand it's not possible to do this if the skin you're using has a textures.xrt file.

I've tried swapping out the media directory from the Alaska skin that installs through the latest version on XBMC with the directory from an older version that was hosted here (http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-xbox-skins/downloads/list)

This has a textures.xpr file, but also a flags folder with .png files for audiocodec, rating, source etc. I couldn't see studio flags anywhere so I tried creating a Studios folder with PNG flags named the same as the studio names listed in my media NFO files, but this didn't work.

Is it possible to get the extra flags into Alaska somehow?

As an aside, is there anywhere that shows you what studio flags Alaska supports out of the box?
find quote
bandelguy Offline
Fan
Posts: 527
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 6
Location: India
Post: #2
You must be using Dharma. The are studio flags are usually in the folder media/flags/studios. If you have missing logos, put them in a folder having a structure of "flags/studios". Place it in the media folder. I think that it will do the rest.

CPU:- AMD FX 4100 Motherboard: Gigabyte 78LMT-S2 RAM:-4GB Graphics: AMD HD 7750 1GB DDR5 PSU: IBALL 500W Display: DELL S2240M Storage: 1TB
find quote
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks for the reply bandelguy, I am using Dharma, do you recommend I use a different version? Is the textures.xrt a Dharma thing or a skin-specific thing?

In the media folder, I don't have a studios folder, I created one with a test png for a missing studio in there and updated the library in XBMC, but it didn't seem to recognise it.
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,879
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #4
You'll need to checkout from http://alaska-revisited-svn.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ to be able to change media files.

PS. If you've got studios to contact ccMatrix so he can add them to the collection for us all to use.

https://github.com/ccMatrix/StudioLogos
find quote
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks Hitcher, can I use the media files folder from your link in the original Alaska skin, or will I need to switch to Alaska Revisited to add studio flags?
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,879
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #6
Ah, Alaska is no longer maintained so I can't help you I'm afraid.
find quote
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Thanks, do you know if it is possible to download the uncompressed textures for original Alaska skin from anywhere?

Otherwise, I'll give Alaska revisited a whirl.
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,879
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #8
My old github version is still available actually -

https://github.com/HitcherUK/Alaska
find quote
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Cool, thanks a million for that! To get it to work, will I need to move to an older version of XBMC? I'm on the latest nightlies and extracted it to the appdata folder on windows where other skins go but that didn't work. It wouldn't let me install the zip as an add-on.
find quote
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
QuizKid Wrote:Cool, thanks a million for that! To get it to work, will I need to move to an older version of XBMC? I'm on the latest nightlies and extracted it to the appdata folder on windows where other skins go but that didn't work. It wouldn't let me install the zip as an add-on.

Sorry that was a stupid question, I've read up on installing git via windows, so will give that a crack,

Cheers for your help
find quote
QuizKid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Hi I got this to work I think. If anyone is in a similar position wanting to do this, what I did was make a new Textures.xbt file using Hitcher's uncompressed files with the updated studio logos folder. Then I replaced the default Textures file in the Alaska skin directory with the new one. That seemed to do the trick
(This post was last modified: 2011-08-15 01:30 by QuizKid.)
find quote
bandelguy Offline
Fan
Posts: 527
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 6
Location: India
Post: #12
The link to the latest SVN for the nightlies is

http://skin-alaska-revisited.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/

You will get a media/flags/studios folder, where you can put any missing stuio of your own.

CPU:- AMD FX 4100 Motherboard: Gigabyte 78LMT-S2 RAM:-4GB Graphics: AMD HD 7750 1GB DDR5 PSU: IBALL 500W Display: DELL S2240M Storage: 1TB
find quote