ATV1 Hulu Help - Noob

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Venom51 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I've been able to get software loaded on my ATV1. I'm able to view most of the video plugins (such as Free Cable, FoodTV). But, every single Hulu channel, show, etc...doesn't load. I'm running the latest version of the plugin but I've never been able to view any Hulu content.

Sorry if this is a repost but can someone help me figure out what I've done wrong?

Thanks!
find quote
atari800 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I dont think HULU plugin works on ATV as it needs IE or Silverlight (dont quote me on this)
I never got it to work
I use "PlayOn TV" to get Hulu and netflix content on Apple TV
*not a plug in - google "PlayOn TV" for more info

Apple TV1 with Crystal HD on Ubuntu (x4)
ATV2 (x1)
Apple tv 1 running as a server Ubuntu 12.04 that handles MySQL Database, and all movies content off a powered usb hub and 2x 3Gig USB drives
ZyXEL 500Mbps Powerline Ethernet (12.4 MBps)
find quote
Venom51 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
atari800 Wrote:I dont think HULU plugin works on ATV as it needs IE or Silverlight (dont quote me on this)
I never got it to work
I use "PlayOn TV" to get Hulu and netflix content on Apple TV
*not a plug in - google "PlayOn TV" for more info

Thanks for the reply. Smile
PlayOn looks great but I need Windows. Sad Looks like I might have to try Parallels just for this.
Thanks again for the tip! Smile
find quote
atari800 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Parallels or VMBox.
But yeah - it runs on Windows.

Here's a tip - looks for the "Icefilms" plugin. You wont need Hulu or Netflix, unless you just want to accomplish getting Hulu functioning (like me).

Apple TV1 with Crystal HD on Ubuntu (x4)
ATV2 (x1)
Apple tv 1 running as a server Ubuntu 12.04 that handles MySQL Database, and all movies content off a powered usb hub and 2x 3Gig USB drives
ZyXEL 500Mbps Powerline Ethernet (12.4 MBps)
find quote
Venom51 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
atari800 Wrote:Parallels or VMBox.
But yeah - it runs on Windows.

Here's a tip - looks for the "Icefilms" plugin. You wont need Hulu or Netflix, unless you just want to accomplish getting Hulu functioning (like me).

Sweet, thanks for the info!
find quote
pre1014 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 6
Post: #6
Bluecops hulu plugin works on my ATV. Some episodes don't play, most do. I just watched "Reign of Fire" on it 2 nights ago. I'm running stms crystalbuntu build, but it also worked with the osx nightlies. It does not work with 10.1 as librtmp isn't even there....
find quote
Sam.Nazarko Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 851
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 15
Location: London
Post: #7
of course librtmp is in 10.1, it is just not bundled with a version supporting type9-hs
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 19,940
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 247
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #8
atari800 Wrote:I dont think HULU plugin works on ATV as it needs IE or Silverlight (dont quote me on this)
I never got it to work
I use "PlayOn TV" to get Hulu and netflix content on Apple TV
*not a plug in - google "PlayOn TV" for more info

Incorrect. Hulu does not need IE and doesn't use Silverlight. You are thinking of Netflix which only needs Silverlight.
find quote
hlmpwm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Does anyone know how to update ATV1 to Silverlight 4? I can d/l it to the Desktop folder, but can't mount/run to install it. Confused
find quote