GUI freeze when backend returns poor signal

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,689
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 55
Location: Munich
Post: #16
There are several scenarios related to this:

1)
The tcp connection to the backend is lost. In this case the player stops

2)
The backend has no signal. In this case the addon can decide to submit dummy packets to the player. It will switch to displaying still frames and continue as soon as real packets come in again.

3)
The backend decides to deliver garbage. In this case we rely on the error handing of ffmpeg.

What backend do you use? Please post a full debug log.
find quote
davy39 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Thanks for your answer.
I'm using VDR (from yavdr ppa) with lastest release of XVDR plugin&addon from Pipelka and manio dvbapi-plugin (witch may initially cause a quick lost of signal).
You will find here a debug log of a session witch end on a freeze (on stop key) after playing few minutes.
I filter cec message for readability.
Cheers
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-21 14:33 by davy39.)
find quote
opdenkamp Offline
Team-XBMC PVR Developer
Posts: 2,209
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 29
Location: Heerlen, The Netherlands
Post: #18
I think it's blocking here:
10:13:49 T:139914028234624 DEBUG: AddOnLog: VDR XVDR Client: DemuxAbort

pressing the stop key returns to the gui properly with tvheadend after the signal drops out for some reason, so it's very likely to be something in the add-on that you're using

opdenkamp / dushmaniac

xbmc-pvr [Eden-PVR builds] [now included in mainline XBMC, so no more source link here :)]
personal website: [link]

Found a problem with PVR? Report it on Trac, under "PVR - core components". Please attach the full debug log.

If you like my work, please consider donating to me and/or Team XBMC.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,689
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 55
Location: Munich
Post: #19
I don't see this kind of problem when using VNSI.
find quote
davy39 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Thanks for your answer.
I was thinking that xvdr was more up to date than vnsi, but it's true that vnsi seems to have less bugs.
I still have few XBMC freezes but really less than before !
Moreover, no need to compile on Ubuntu as the addon is integrated in pulse-eight XBMC repository and the plugin in yavdr one.
For curiousity, what are the fundamental differences between this two addons ?

Anyway, I'm near to a perfectly working system Blush
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-23 11:53 by davy39.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,689
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 55
Location: Munich
Post: #21
You need to ask this question Alex Pipelka. He has implemented some new features in xvdr.

Let us know the remaining problems so we can fix them Smile
find quote
davy39 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Like FernetMenta found in this thread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=132529 , it was due to pulse-audio. Switching to alsa and it work fine.
find quote
Post Reply