[AppleTV2] Buffering w/Time Capsule - Help a Newbie Please
Question 
Hi all,

I'm new to all this XBMC and I've googled the issue and read a lot of threads here with the same buffering issue. I'm quite technical but some of the stuff I read I don't quite understand.

My ATV2 is on 4.2.2, and is of course Jailbroken running the latest XBMC through SMB set up on my Time Capsule (1TB 1st gen). I didn't used to have any issues playing streamed movies but for the past couple of months, it struggles to cope and buffers. For some reason, after 9pm it gets worse. My network is secure and no-one else uses the internet.

The solutions I've read here state to higher the buffer rate. I've created a advancedsettings.xml in my userdata folder as recommended here but still no luck. It was the same as before.

Before, I could play files up to about 3GB no problem. Now I'm having issues playing smaller 700MB files. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong or how to fix it.

Please could someone explain how I go about resolving this? If you link me to other threads, please make them newbie friendly or just explain in the best possible way.

I know this is a duplicate of other issues, but as I said, I don't quite understand some of the technical settings etc, or how I go about applying the settings to the ATV2.

Thanks so much,
-Lisa
Sounds like you are having wifi interference. I think TC/APE have some kind of "robust" option that might improve your connection via the AirPort Utility. You could also try the 5ghz network option if your TC supports it (depends how old it is).

You can also try running an internet speed test on a computer connected to the TC via wifi. Run it after 9pm when you notice problems and compare it to results during the day. That might give us a hint on if this really is a wifi problem or not.
Thanks for the reply. Smile