[QNAP] NFS Guide now in Wiki

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 740
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #1
Wiki Page Added for QNAP devices using NFS with XBMC

QNAP NFS Guide

Any issues let me know here and I'll update it as required.

If I have helped you in any way, please forgive me, it was entirely accidental.
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 710
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #2
hahaha...making me look bad, with my crummy 'text-only' wiki instructions for Synology! Wink

Just teasing...this is great! Thanks for putting it up there. Now all's we need is a few people using other NAS's to chip in too, and there won't be any more excuse for NFS problems from a NAS Smile

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Gotham (latest revision)
- 2011 Macbook Pro, running OSX Mavericks
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 740
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #3
canadave Wrote:hahaha...making me look bad, with my crummy 'text-only' wiki instructions for Synology! Wink

Just teasing...this is great! Thanks for putting it up there. Now all's we need is a few people using other NAS's to chip in too, and there won't be any more excuse for NFS problems from a NAS Smile

Ha. It's amazing what I'll do to avoid actually studying Wink

If I have helped you in any way, please forgive me, it was entirely accidental.
find quote
mbriody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Cranial Wrote:Ha. It's amazing what I'll do to avoid actually studying Wink

This looks great, thanks. Couple of questions:

1. Can I expect better performance than via SMB shares to the QNAP?
2. I guess this requires static IP for all devices requiring access. Is it possible to specify the whole range in the LAN e.g. 192.168.1.0 to 255 to avoid this?
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 740
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #5
mbriody Wrote:This looks great, thanks. Couple of questions:

1. Can I expect better performance than via SMB shares to the QNAP?
2. I guess this requires static IP for all devices requiring access. Is it possible to specify the whole range in the LAN e.g. 192.168.1.0 to 255 to avoid this?

1. Static IP addresses is really the best way to go. Makes it much easier for many things, SSH and NFS being examples.

2. I did try an IP Range on the old firmware but didn't have much success. When I get time I'll test again and update the wiki if required. Although I prefer to specify each IP as it prevents a guest on your network from messing with your QNAP files....

If I have helped you in any way, please forgive me, it was entirely accidental.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,046
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #6
thx ... awesome work. Big Grin

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
mbriody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
This has enabled NFS from ATV but I've lost SMB access to the QNAP (from ATV and my local network).

Any ideas?
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 740
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #8
mbriody Wrote:This has enabled NFS from ATV but I've lost SMB access to the QNAP (from ATV and my local network).

Any ideas?

Hmmm, nothing in this guide affects SMB. Have you made sure "Microsoft Networking" under Network services is still selected on in the QNAP admin?

What happens when you try to access SMB shares on the QNAP? Is it still advertised under Bonjour in "Network Service Discovery" on the QNAP?

If I have helped you in any way, please forgive me, it was entirely accidental.
find quote
mbriody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
A reboot of the NAS seems to have fixed it. Very odd!
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 740
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #10
mbriody Wrote:A reboot of the NAS seems to have fixed it. Very odd!

And the NFS share is still active for XBMC on the ATV2 after a reboot?

If I have helped you in any way, please forgive me, it was entirely accidental.
find quote
mbriody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Ah, no.

Looks like some kind of conflict here.

[EDIT]

Okay, redid it all and it is working for both NFS and SMB but the change in /etc/init.d/nfs had been removed after the reboot. Not sure how or why.

Hopefully it will all still work again after my daily power cycle.
(This post was last modified: 2011-09-06 14:06 by mbriody.)
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 710
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #12
canadave Wrote:hahaha...making me look bad, with my crummy 'text-only' wiki instructions for Synology! Wink

Just teasing...this is great! Thanks for putting it up there. Now all's we need is a few people using other NAS's to chip in too, and there won't be any more excuse for NFS problems from a NAS Smile

Cranial Wrote:Ha. It's amazing what I'll do to avoid actually studying Wink

ha HA! Now WE have pretty pictures too Rofl Thanks, barrmy!

Synology NFS Setup Guide

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Gotham (latest revision)
- 2011 Macbook Pro, running OSX Mavericks
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
barrmy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
thanks for posting and the clarification on the other thread, canadave!
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,046
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #14
canadave ... did you mention that a reboot of the NAS deletes that changes? (at least where it applys) in the wiki?

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 710
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #15
Memphiz Wrote:canadave ... did you mention that a reboot of the NAS deletes that changes? (at least where it applys) in the wiki?
Sorry, I'm not understanding...a reboot of which NAS? The Synology ones? And which changes are you referring to?

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Gotham (latest revision)
- 2011 Macbook Pro, running OSX Mavericks
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
Post Reply