Asrock ION no (multichannel) SPDIF sound in XBMC (Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty)
Exclamation 
Hardware: Asrock ION 330 (DVD)
BIOS: 1.60
Display drivers: 185.18.36
Alsa drivers: 1.0.21

First things first, I want multichannel audio (AC3/DTS) over SPDIF in XBMC (via HDMI isn’t necessary). Before I started with my days of struggle through xbmc and linux threads (yes I’m a linux noob), I had sound over SPDIF in XBMC but as so many unfortunately only 2-channel (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1212523). Now after my hellish search I lost my SPDIF sound, but only in video files which are played by XBMC.

This was after my last try to disable pulseaudio by this post: http://idyllictux.wordpress.com/2009/04/...io-at-bay/
All my tries with /etc/asound.conf and ~/.asoundrc didn’t work so I removed the files but unfortunately no luck. If I’m getting sound back in video files I still think it’s only in 2-channel stereo. Before disabling PulseAudio I had the strange thing that my amp thought it received a 2-channel stream but it’s was in fact a 5.1 channel stream but only played over my L and R speaker. I can tell you, it sounds very strange ;-)

Does someone have an idea because I’m clueless at this point. Help much appreciated!
I assume you already enabled Dolby Digital and DTS playback through settings screen of XBMC?

I have no problems with my Asrock with SPDIF.
Yes, output digital with AC3 and DTS enabled and downsample to stereo unticked. When I still had sound over SPDIF in video files I had my passthrough 'default' and my device 'iec958', but what I said in the thread, still only stereo.

I haven't had any multichannel over SPDIF within XBMC from fresh install till now. It's really strange that some, with the same hardware, have all these kind of problems and others none.

Did you do something extra to get multichannel over SPDIF? Some configuration in a ~/.asoundrc OR /etc/asound.conf file to get it right or did it all work 'out-of-the-box' with a fresh install?